Community discussions

 
kristoha
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 6:31 pm

Why my Mikrotik Router has same MAC ADDRESS

Mon Nov 28, 2016 6:47 pm

Image

these are 3 diferent router, the First Router was x86, second and third are CCR 1016, recently i just notice from ether1 to ether 10 all mac address was Same on the 3 router.

how wonder why this can happen? anybody has a clue? and how to make them not same again?

Thanks
 
blackbox100
newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 2:20 am

Re: Why my Mikrotik Router has same MAC ADDRESS

Tue Nov 29, 2016 12:29 am

is it possible that you have used system backup tool to copy config from one to another, because, when you do that it also clones the Mac adresses, under the ethernet interface, just hit the "reset Mac-adress" button and that should clear it
 
User avatar
bajodel
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 545
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 8:30 am
Location: Italy

Re: Why my Mikrotik Router has same MAC ADDRESS

Tue Nov 29, 2016 12:32 am

probably because you restored the same backup file on the three device.
look at interface property and click on reset mac, or via console "/interface ethernet reset-mac-address"
 
huntah
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 267
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 3:24 pm

Re: Why my Mikrotik Router has same MAC ADDRESS

Tue Nov 29, 2016 12:36 am

My guess would be imported config script.
You have a Reset MAC address button in interface windows. Click it and it should revert back to original (unimported) MAC.
You can check aginst label on Routerboard hardware. It should be the same.

Also check Bridges (admin mac). And change it accordingly. Same MAC on different devices will break your network!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 122 guests