Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
vishakhdeep
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2016 5:43 pm
Location: sasaram

i want to spread copper wire in my area, not fiber with switch at every 100 mtrs., will it work ??? or might v any probl

Fri Dec 16, 2016 9:23 pm

i want to spread copper wire in my area, not fiber with switch at every 100 mtrs., will it work ??? or might v any problem?? total distance will be arount 4-5 km
 
dasvos
newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 7:10 pm

Re: i want to spread copper wire in my area, not fiber with switch at every 100 mtrs., will it work ??? or might v any p

Fri Dec 16, 2016 9:39 pm

Why not go fibre? Copper is really not worth rolling out, most customers will prefer Fibre anyway. Even for back bone links Fibre will work better.
 
User avatar
docmarius
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1223
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 12:04 pm
Location: Timisoara, Romania
Contact:

Re: i want to spread copper wire in my area, not fiber with switch at every 100 mtrs., will it work ??? or might v any p

Sat Dec 17, 2016 4:45 pm

Such things do work. But you will probably need to get new switches after each storm. Or at least change to another working ethernet port, because the used one will be knocked out by lightning, no matter how many precautions you will take.
In the long run, fiber is cheaper.
Torturing CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+, RB450G, RB750GL, RB951G-2HnD, RB960PGS, RB260GSP, OmniTIK 5HnD and NetMetal 922UAGS-5HPacD + R11e-5HnD in my home network.
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1772
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: i want to spread copper wire in my area, not fiber with switch at every 100 mtrs., will it work ??? or might v any p

Sat Dec 17, 2016 5:03 pm

ethernet in outdoors gives you many problems because of electrical problems

go fiber, maybe https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ethernet_ ... al_network is what you need, check it out

of course if your project is limited to ethernet, use very cheap ehternet switches to make cheaper to repleace it every time they burn
 
cutedrummerboy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 6:32 pm

Re: i want to spread copper wire in my area, not fiber with switch at every 100 mtrs., will it work ??? or might v any p

Sun Dec 18, 2016 4:32 am

copper based last mile is too bad idea. you need power for every switch, copper is costly, too much prone to hack and electrical interference. though some isp in my country (india) run such network but its a very bad idea nowadays. fiber is cheap man. go for gpon or atleast gepon.
Device: RB2011UIAS-RM, RB750GL, CISCO SG300-28, UNIFI UAP-LR

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], martinclaro and 120 guests