Community discussions

 
User avatar
harry66
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 5:29 pm
Location: Germany

v6.38 RB3011 does not boot after update

Tue Jan 03, 2017 6:56 pm

After upgrading from 6.37.3 to 6.38 via Web GUI I find my RB3011 in constant boot cyles. It boots until kernel start and immediately resets.
What's going wrong?
What can I do?

BR
Uwe
hEX, RB3011, 2*RB951G-HnD, RB951-2n, Metal G-52SHPacn, RBmAP2n, x86, virtual
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5817
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: v6.38 RB3011 does not boot after update

Tue Jan 03, 2017 9:10 pm

To know what is wrong, connect serial cable.
To recover it without further debugging, use netinstall.
Hopefully you have a recent backup or export.
 
User avatar
harry66
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 5:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: v6.38 RB3011 does not boot after update

Tue Jan 03, 2017 10:05 pm

I meanwhile activated a backup device to get back online.
Lacking a windows computer I have set up a virtual instance of Windows 7 but the RB3011 does not connect the netinstall boot server. Maybe the parallels environment prevents the communication. Direct link ethernet cable or switch between does not change the situation.
I digged a serial cable and will hook that up now. Let's see what the RB3011 says.

/Uwe
hEX, RB3011, 2*RB951G-HnD, RB951-2n, Metal G-52SHPacn, RBmAP2n, x86, virtual
 
User avatar
harry66
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 5:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: v6.38 RB3011 does not boot after update

Tue Jan 03, 2017 10:18 pm

This is what it says on the serial console:
RouterBOARD 3011UiAS

CPU frequency: 1400 MHz
Memory size: 1024 MiB
NAND size: 128 MiB

Press any key within 2 seconds to enter setup..

loading kernel... OK
setting up elf image... OK
jumping to kernel code
ERROR: no system package found!
Kernel panic - not syncing: Attempted to kill init!
{bf88ff0c} panic+0x84/0x1c0
{bf88ff44} do_exit+0x80/0x688
{bf88ff84} do_group_exit+0x4c/0xc0
{bf88ff9c} __wake_up_parent+0x0/0x18
CPU0: stopping
{803b9f3c} handle_IPI+0xf4/0x1e0
{803b9f5c} gic_handle_irq+0x94/0xa4
{803b9f74} __irq_svc+0x40/0x60
Exception stack(0x803b9f78 to 0x803b9fc0)
9f60: 80c13890 00000000
9f80: 803b9fc0 00000000 803b8000 803e87c8 803bda08 803bd9fc 4000406a 512f04d0
9fa0: 00000000 00000000 00000000 803b9fc0 8000e820 8000e824 60000013 ffffffff
{803b9fbc} default_idle+0x24/0x28
{803b9fc4} cpu_idle+0x50/0x8c
{803b9fd4} start_kernel+0x290/0x2e4
Rebooting in 1 seconds..
What can I do without netinstall? Is there a secret trick to get it running in a virtual environment (Parallels on Mac)?
Is there a similar procedure to netinstall for a linux or OSX computer?

/Uwe
hEX, RB3011, 2*RB951G-HnD, RB951-2n, Metal G-52SHPacn, RBmAP2n, x86, virtual
 
antonsb
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 195
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 3:12 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: v6.38 RB3011 does not boot after update

Wed Jan 04, 2017 12:49 am

Netinstall works emulated with sudo rights.
You can also setup TFTP server on other routerboard:
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:IP/TFTP
or on Linux system (I personally prefer ARCH Linux way of documentation):
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/TFTP
 
kristaps
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 1:37 pm

Re: v6.38 RB3011 does not boot after update

Wed Jan 04, 2017 9:17 am

@harry66 can you please post your configuration that you used on RB3011, that we can try to replicate your issue.
 
User avatar
PaulsMT
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 283
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 3:21 pm

Re: v6.38 RB3011 does not boot after update

Wed Jan 04, 2017 9:26 am

Netinstall should work if your VM is bridged with your network.

Netinstall on Linux can be used with wine.

At first try to netinstall this device with option "Keep old configuration", this will leave your old configuration.

Also please try to start the board with the Backup BIOS by holding the Reset button, for 1 sec when powering the board, and then release the button.

1 Power off;
2 Press and hold reset button;
3 Power on;
4 Wait ~1 sec;
5 Release reset button;
5 Wait for board to boot up
6 If board boots, Log into your board, Run command:
/system routerboard upgrade;
/system reboot.
 
User avatar
strods
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 1407
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 7:22 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: v6.38 RB3011 does not boot after update

Wed Jan 04, 2017 9:41 am

Which RouterOS version was installed on device before upgrade? Which packages were installed (bundle, separate packages? Which ones?). How did you perform an upgrade process? Did you use "Check-for-update" function? Can you sen your configuration to support@mikrotik.com so we could test it locally, since all of our own RB3011 are working properly. Most likely this is caused by something specific in configuration or precise upgrade steps must be followed to reach such state.
 
User avatar
harry66
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 5:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: v6.38 RB3011 does not boot after update

Wed Jan 04, 2017 11:03 pm

Hi,

thanks for all your support!
First of all: Netinstall worked perfect in linux wine emulation.
Before using netinstall I changed the boot sequence to etherboot and reverted back to the default NAND sequence afterwards. With netinstall I used the 6.38 ARM release and was even able to preserve the previous config. The whole process including download of all tools and firmware took about ten minutes.
I would suggest you mention the use of netinstall in wine emulation in the WIKI, that would have saved me some research :idea:

As you can see from my previous posts I initially upgraded from 6.37.3 to 6.38 via Web interface. That worked perfect for all my other Routerboards and x86 installations in the past. This is the first time I ran into such problem.

I will send my config including my package list during the day tomorrow via email as you requested this for your analysis.

Best Regards
Uwe
hEX, RB3011, 2*RB951G-HnD, RB951-2n, Metal G-52SHPacn, RBmAP2n, x86, virtual
 
mands72
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 12:13 pm

Re: v6.38 RB3011 does not boot after update

Thu Jan 05, 2017 12:19 pm

Just wanted to add that I'm having a similar issue. Just updated my RB3011 from 6.37.3 to 6.38 using the "Check-for-update" function through Winbox, but after the reboot my RB ends in an endless loop. For now I hooked up my backup RB, but maybe knowing there are others with an at least similar issue will help here. As a next step I will also try to look into the console and to make a new installation using Netinstall.

Update 1:
RouterBOOT booter 3.27

RouterBOARD 3011UiAS

CPU frequency: 1400 MHz
  Memory size: 1024 MiB
    NAND size: 128 MiB

Press any key within 2 seconds to enter setup..

loading kernel... OK
setting up elf image... OK
jumping to kernel code
ERROR: no system package found!
Kernel panic - not syncing: Attempted to kill init!
{bf88ff0c} panic+0x84/0x1c0
{bf88ff44} do_exit+0x80/0x688
{bf88ff84} do_group_exit+0x4c/0xc0
{bf88ff9c} __wake_up_parent+0x0/0x18
CPU0: stopping
{803b9f3c} handle_IPI+0xf4/0x1e0
{803b9f5c} gic_handle_irq+0x94/0xa4
{803b9f74} __irq_svc+0x40/0x60
Exception stack(0x803b9f78 to 0x803b9fc0)
9f60:                                                       80c13890 00000000
9f80: 803b9fc0 00000000 803b8000 803e87c8 803bda08 803bd9fc 4000406a 512f04d0
9fa0: 00000000 00000000 00000000 803b9fc0 8000e820 8000e824 60000013 ffffffff
{803b9fbc} default_idle+0x24/0x28
{803b9fc4} cpu_idle+0x50/0x8c
{803b9fd4} start_kernel+0x290/0x2e4
Rebooting in 1 seconds..
Update 2:
Netinstall didn't work first, on the console I couldn't even see any attempts for a network boot. But after getting into the Bootmenu and selecting "1 - boot Ethernet once, then NAND", the RB connected correctly to Netinstall. After reinstalling RouterOS 6.38 through Netinstall (by keeping my old configuration) everything started to work again
 
User avatar
harry66
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 5:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: v6.38 RB3011 does not boot after update

Fri Jan 06, 2017 8:54 am

Meanwhile I have sent the supout.rif to the support email address.
Still I am facing more issues with my RB3011 after the upgrade:

1) PPPoE link has frequent reconnects more than 100 during the day (on 6.37.3 this was absolutely stable)
To exclude something wrong on my DSL line I swapped the RB3011 (6.38) to my x86 (6.37.3). The x86 is running stable.

2) I see variations in ping times and dropping connectivity on RB3011 (6.38)
Measurement is on 1s interval with a single switch in between my host and the RB:
64 bytes from 192.168.3.1: icmp_seq=1682 ttl=64 time=1264.713 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.3.1: icmp_seq=1683 ttl=64 time=264.322 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.3.1: icmp_seq=1684 ttl=64 time=1522.127 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.3.1: icmp_seq=1685 ttl=64 time=517.463 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.3.1: icmp_seq=1686 ttl=64 time=323.639 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.3.1: icmp_seq=1687 ttl=64 time=0.308 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.3.1: icmp_seq=1688 ttl=64 time=1195.693 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.3.1: icmp_seq=1689 ttl=64 time=194.914 ms
Request timeout for icmp_seq 1691
Request timeout for icmp_seq 1692
Request timeout for icmp_seq 1693
Request timeout for icmp_seq 1694
Request timeout for icmp_seq 1695
Request timeout for icmp_seq 1696
Request timeout for icmp_seq 1697
Request timeout for icmp_seq 1698
Request timeout for icmp_seq 1699
Request timeout for icmp_seq 1700
64 bytes from 192.168.3.1: icmp_seq=1701 ttl=64 time=93.217 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.3.1: icmp_seq=1702 ttl=64 time=0.300 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.3.1: icmp_seq=1703 ttl=64 time=425.916 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.3.1: icmp_seq=1704 ttl=64 time=0.356 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.3.1: icmp_seq=1705 ttl=64 time=17.527 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.3.1: icmp_seq=1706 ttl=64 time=0.340 ms
Request timeout for icmp_seq 1707
64 bytes from 192.168.3.1: icmp_seq=1707 ttl=64 time=1015.488 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.3.1: icmp_seq=1708 ttl=64 time=14.639 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.3.1: icmp_seq=1709 ttl=64 time=814.006 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.3.1: icmp_seq=1710 ttl=64 time=0.291 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.3.1: icmp_seq=1711 ttl=64 time=400.669 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.3.1: icmp_seq=1712 ttl=64 time=0.305 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.3.1: icmp_seq=1713 ttl=64 time=159.162 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.3.1: icmp_seq=1714 ttl=64 time=0.282 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.3.1: icmp_seq=1715 ttl=64 time=0.219 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.3.1: icmp_seq=1716 ttl=64 time=0.321 ms
Request timeout for icmp_seq 1718
64 bytes from 192.168.3.1: icmp_seq=1717 ttl=64 time=2951.478 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.3.1: icmp_seq=1718 ttl=64 time=1950.723 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.3.1: icmp_seq=1719 ttl=64 time=940.698 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.3.1: icmp_seq=1720 ttl=64 time=0.315 ms
Request timeout for icmp_seq 1723
Request timeout for icmp_seq 1724
Request timeout for icmp_seq 1725
Request timeout for icmp_seq 1726
Request timeout for icmp_seq 1727
Request timeout for icmp_seq 1728
Request timeout for icmp_seq 1729
Request timeout for icmp_seq 1730
64 bytes from 192.168.3.1: icmp_seq=1731 ttl=64 time=0.281 ms
To further troubleshoot the ping issues I swapped the interface bond I use for the local LAN to a single GigE link. Same behavior.

Ouch ouch ouch. What's wrong with 6.38 on RB3011... On RB951 it looks usable so far. :(

BR
Uwe
hEX, RB3011, 2*RB951G-HnD, RB951-2n, Metal G-52SHPacn, RBmAP2n, x86, virtual
 
User avatar
harry66
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 5:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: v6.38 RB3011 does not boot after update

Fri Jan 06, 2017 10:10 pm

Hi,

I have retested the upgrade procedure from 6.37.3 -> 6.38 for my device without any issues.

However the link instability introduced with 6.38 for
ether6 LAN
ether8 PPPoE
is still there. Winbox frequently loses the LAN connection to the RB3011 and PPPoE is lost every couple of minutes.
This is definitely not the case for 6.37.3 as I could verify with the exact same setup just before doing the upgrade test again.

Still I wonder what's going on. :?

BR
Uwe
hEX, RB3011, 2*RB951G-HnD, RB951-2n, Metal G-52SHPacn, RBmAP2n, x86, virtual
 
liviu2004
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 10:22 pm
Location: Rotterdam

Re: v6.38 RB3011 does not boot after update

Sat Jan 07, 2017 8:43 am

6.38 is unworkable for me, pppoe and dhcp no go.
 
User avatar
harry66
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 5:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: v6.38 RB3011 does not boot after update

Sat Jan 07, 2017 9:50 am

Hi liviu,

I guess the problem is on the link layer, not on the application layer. In my post you can see that even ping (ICMP echo request) has problems.

Do you use the first switch port group (ether1..5)? I am only using the second switch group and was wondering if that might have any influence.

BR
Uwe
hEX, RB3011, 2*RB951G-HnD, RB951-2n, Metal G-52SHPacn, RBmAP2n, x86, virtual
 
liviu2004
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 10:22 pm
Location: Rotterdam

Re: v6.38 RB3011 does not boot after update

Sat Jan 07, 2017 11:12 am

I am actually not running RB3011. I have RB450 and RB493G, both affected. So it does not matter on which switch port group.
 
User avatar
harry66
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 5:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: v6.38 RB3011 does not boot after update

Sat Jan 07, 2017 11:31 am

So it doesn't look like a platform issue.
I hope Mtik is working on a fix already.
hEX, RB3011, 2*RB951G-HnD, RB951-2n, Metal G-52SHPacn, RBmAP2n, x86, virtual
 
User avatar
harry66
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 5:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: v6.38 RB3011 does not boot after update

Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:58 pm

Quick update:

The problem is related to a general change in the STP on bridges implementation on different platforms.
Either switching STP to none on 6.38 or upgrading to 6.39rc solves this problem.

BR
Uwe
hEX, RB3011, 2*RB951G-HnD, RB951-2n, Metal G-52SHPacn, RBmAP2n, x86, virtual
 
montdidier
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 9:03 am
Contact:

Re: v6.38 RB3011 does not boot after update

Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:14 am

Netinstall works emulated with sudo rights.
You can also setup TFTP server on other routerboard:
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:IP/TFTP
or on Linux system (I personally prefer ARCH Linux way of documentation):
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/TFTP
I would like to know more about this method? What do you have to do?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 125 guests