Page 1 of 1

Multicast with IGMP PROXY in both directions..

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 4:53 pm
by jackburton
Hi all,
i have succesfully configured an igmp proxy on a routerboard RB493G with mikrotik os 6.37 as follow:

- two multicast servers on local subnet (192.168.0.2 and 192.168.0.3) sending out multicast streams respectively at groups 239.0.0.20 and 239.0.0.15
- one client on Wan side that requests multicast streams with "join" igmp packets.
This configuration works well, i can see packets flowing from servers to client after a "join" and stop after a "leave" packet.

Image

Now i need to implement a multicast server also on the wan side, so that the same users on local subnet can join and receive packets.. as the following image:

Image

Afaik i can't specifiy more than one upstream interface on a igmp-proxy ..
is there any way to achieve my need ?
Any kind of workaround or something ?
Thank you
Regards

Re: Multicast with IGMP PROXY in both directions..

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:20 pm
by w0lt
Have you considered just using PIM-Sparse Mode instead?

Re: Multicast with IGMP PROXY in both directions..

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:55 pm
by mrz
As far as I know, You cannot do this with IGMP proxy.
You need PIM.

Re: Multicast with IGMP PROXY in both directions..

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 7:28 pm
by w0lt
I've been doing PIM-Sparse on Mikrotik for quite some time now. After a little learning curve, I have it working quite reliably. It should be easy enough to deploy for you.
Now, if Mikrotik would only integrate IGMP-Snooping... :D :D

Re: Multicast with IGMP PROXY in both directions..

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 9:44 am
by jackburton
Thanks all for your replies,
the pim-sm is the option i was afraid of... btw, i'm reading the wiki and i'll test it today with my configuration.
...mmm.. I guess i have to set ETH1 (wan) as RP (rendez-vous point) ..
Brb..
Thanks ,
Bye..

Re: Multicast with IGMP PROXY in both directions..

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 5:05 pm
by jackburton
Ok, using PIM it seems to work correctly..
i'll post my configuration maybe it could be usefull for other users ..

With RB493G i have 2 switch chips, and by default it comes with all ports bridged..
I erased the default settings and i simply used two master port for each switch chip to communicate with cpu.

ETH2 - master port for ETH3, ETH4, ETH5
ETH6 - master port for ETH7, ETH8, ETH9

In Routing/pim i just added the interfaces, ETH1 and ETH2

Image

I can transmit multicast from ETH2 (and its every slave interface) and join the stream from ETH1 (WAN).
I can also run a multicast server on WAN side (ETH1) and join streams from machines attached on ETH2 interfaces (and its every slave interface).

I noticed that it works without RP, is it because is taking a default 0.0.0.0 address as RP ??
Is my way right ?
Thank You.