Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
Ozelo
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 338
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 3:56 am

Please, need advice on SDH connection to a MT

Wed Nov 01, 2006 12:05 pm

Hello...

We have a CISCO router connected its fastethernet to a SDH and all configuration we received from the SDH owner is a "/30" network. Someone there have pointed all my networks to "xxx.yyy.zzz.30/30" and the router points it default gateway to "xxx.yyy.zzz.29/30" which is working well.

But I would like to move this router to a MT one, so I did the same. Put the IP "xxx.yyy.zzz.30/30" on a ethernet interface and have pointed the default gateway to "xxx.yyy.zzz.29/30". This just wont work! Dunno why... Am I missing some special configuration? Traffic only go out throug the default gateway, but does not return.

Didnt know what I am missing to get it working. Pls, help.
MTCRE - 1104RE006
MTCINE - 1104INE001
 
User avatar
andrewluck
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 702
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 9:05 pm
Location: Norfolk, UK

Wed Nov 01, 2006 1:08 pm

Do you need to setup NAT on the router?

Post the Cisco configuration here.

Regards

Andrew
 
User avatar
tneumann
Member
Member
Posts: 394
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 6:38 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Please, need advice on SDH connection to a MT

Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:52 pm

We have a CISCO router connected its fastethernet to a SDH
How is that supposed to work? SDH and ethernet are different interface types, you should not plug one into the other...

Or maybe you did not give us the whole picture and there is "something" between the Cisco's fastethernet port and your SDH line that you did not mention.


--Tom
 
Ozelo
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 338
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 3:56 am

Wed Nov 01, 2006 5:47 pm

Do you need to setup NAT on the router?

Post the Cisco configuration here.
No need to setup NAT on the router. I will post my CISCO config here soon as possible, cuz I need to grab it via console. Theres no telnet running.
How is that supposed to work? SDH and ethernet are different interface types, you should not plug one into the other...

Or maybe you did not give us the whole picture and there is "something" between the Cisco's fastethernet port and your SDH line that you did not mention.

The huawey optical modem have a dual FE module which is connected to a CISCO FE. This is what we have today and we would like to remove the CISCO Router:

Optic Fiber ------- Huawey ------ CISCO FE0/0][FE0/1----- MT Router


PS: We only have that CISCO there cuz we didnt got MT working directly to the Huawey FE module, but only CISCO works so far.
 
Ozelo
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 338
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 3:56 am

Wed Nov 01, 2006 8:59 pm

Here is my CISCO configuration:
Router#show running-config
Building configuration...

Current configuration : 1450 bytes
!
version 12.3
service timestamps debug uptime
service timestamps log uptime
no service password-encryption
!
hostname Router
!
boot-start-marker
boot-end-marker
!
enable secret 5 $1$dwse$gJErVAyGsldPT/GsZbd7rMXF36/
!
username xxxxxx password 0 yyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
no network-clock-participate slot 1
no network-clock-participate wic 0
no aaa new-model
ip subnet-zero
ip cef
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
interface FastEthernet0/0
ip address AAA.BBB.CCC.177 255.255.255.248
load-interval 30
duplex auto
speed auto
!
interface FastEthernet0/1
ip address XXX.YYY.ZZZ.30 255.255.255.252
speed 100
full-duplex
!
no ip http server
ip classless
ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 XXX.YYY.ZZZ.29
ip route wr1.eee.rrr.0 255.255.255.192 AAA.BBB.CCC.178
ip route wr2.eee.rrr.168 255.255.255.248 AAA.BBB.CCC.178
ip route wr3.eee.rrr.192 255.255.255.192 AAA.BBB.CCC.178
ip route wr4.eee.rrr.128 255.255.255.192 AAA.BBB.CCC.178
ip route wr5.eee.rrr.0 255.255.255.128 AAA.BBB.CCC.178
ip route wr6.eee.rrr.112 255.255.255.248 AAA.BBB.CCC.178
ip route wr7.eee.rrr.128 255.255.255.128 AAA.BBB.CCC.178
ip route wr8.eee.rrr.144 255.255.255.248 AAA.BBB.CCC.178
ip route wr9.eee.rrr.0 255.255.255.0 AAA.BBB.CCC.178
ip route wra.eee.rrr.0 255.255.255.0 AAA.BBB.CCC.178
ip route wrb.eee.rrr.0 255.255.255.0 AAA.BBB.CCC.178
ip route wrc.eee.rrr.0 255.255.255.0 AAA.BBB.CCC.178
ip route wrd.eee.rrr.0 255.255.255.0 AAA.BBB.CCC.178
!
!
!
!
snmp-server community LO OK
!
!
!
!
!
!
line con 0
line aux 0
line vty 0 4
login
!
!
end

Router#
What could have my CISCO that MT wont do the job? I didnt figured yet why... :( We want MT working. What else information you guys would like to know?
 
User avatar
tneumann
Member
Member
Posts: 394
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 6:38 pm
Location: Germany

Wed Nov 01, 2006 9:48 pm

The only noteworthy thing I can see in that configuration is the fixed speed- and duplex setting of on of the ethernet interfaces, where auto-negotiation is turned off and it is nailed to 100-fdx. Maybe the Huawei modem also has auto-negotiation disabled with a fixed setting off 100-fdx. In that case, if the ethernet port of your MikroTik router would still be set to auto-negotiation (as it normally is if you did not change it), then it will probably not work, because finding that it can not auto-neg with the Huwei modem the standard says to fallback to 10-hdx, and that will not work when the other device is 100-fdx.

So check the setting of your MT's ethernet port.

--Tom
 
User avatar
andrewluck
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 702
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 9:05 pm
Location: Norfolk, UK

Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:09 pm

You have a few static routes defined on the Cisco. Does the MT route table match?

Regards

Andrew
 
Ozelo
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 338
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 3:56 am

Mon Nov 06, 2006 6:09 pm

No success so far. Route table and auto-negotiation are checked and ok. MT simply does not talk with the fastethernet module. MAC arp entry time-out on the huawei maybe? Cuz I didnt wait too much, kinda 15 minutes and then switched back to MT. I did cleared all my arp entrys on the MT router.
MTCRE - 1104RE006
MTCINE - 1104INE001
 
gwzph
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 10:11 am

Tue Nov 07, 2006 4:07 am

PING ok?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CZFan, MSN [Bot], nwmurphy, OlegQuagoroyalry, SiB and 165 guests