Community discussions

 
ik3umt
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 3:58 pm

2011 & 3011 config

Fri Feb 10, 2017 2:34 pm

Can I load a rb2011uias backup file into a rb3011uias without loosing anything ??
(Same ros release)
 
andriys
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1187
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:59 pm
Location: Kharkiv, Ukraine

Re: 2011 & 3011 config

Fri Feb 10, 2017 3:03 pm

No. You will end up with a partial at best (and severely broken in the worst case) configuration on your new device. Backup files are not meant to be used like that. To move configuration from one device to another you will need to use export + import (possibly with slight modifications to the export file in-between, which might be required because hardware is different).
 
ik3umt
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 3:58 pm

Re: 2011 & 3011 config

Fri Feb 10, 2017 5:34 pm

I've experienced malfunctioning while restoring backup between different hardware AP

With same model I have always restored backups that way (i.e. replacing a faulty RB2011 with another RB2011), Was I wrong ??

I asked now because of great similarity of 2011 and 3011 , so I'll go for export >>>>> import, Thanks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 110 guests