Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
santajosh
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:20 pm

Hotspot RB532 problem

Mon Nov 06, 2006 2:35 pm

Hi!

I have a Hotspot Config like this:
RB532
ether2 - PPPOE client (internet)
wlan1 - Hotspot interface

Everything is working fine but when I unplug the Internet cable from ether2 the hotspot login page dissapear, and the clients IE said no connections? Why? I can't create a hotspot like this:
----------------------------------------------------------------------
eth1 - LAN connection to WEB, File server (192.168.0.1/24)
WEB server: 192.168.0.10/24
eth2 - HOTSPOT, DHCP interface, local users (192.168.1.1/24 - for unauthenticated users, 192.168.0.2 for autheticated users)

authenticated user get address (from DHCP static pool - 192.168.0.X) and use the file and web server normally. It's ok It's working.

I like when somebody connect to the LAN "illegal" or not autheticated user get an IP from hotspot (other than the auth users) and I want to redirect all his browsing to a page (Please call ...).
I created a hotspot. On the hotspot profile menu change the HTML directory to disabled. Put to the RB532 a disabled directory with a copy of hotspot directory and changed it.

A user connect to the hotspot, get IP address 192.168.0.250 GW 192.168.0.1 (can't ping the default gateway) but when he open a IE there is no login page...


Or any idea, how to do this?

Thanks Josh!
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6624
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Mon Nov 06, 2006 2:53 pm

Hmm, probably I misunderstand something, which is the public and local interaces ?

You can create HotSpot in the following way:
- setup HotSpot to the local interace, all clients will be connected trough HotSpot:
- enable MAC-authentication, add MAC-addresses as usernames to 'ip hotspot user'. Clients with known MAC-addresses will be redirected to the Internet without showing authorization page, clients with unknown MACs will be directed to the login page.
- modify login page and place required information to it.
 
santajosh
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:20 pm

Mon Nov 06, 2006 3:00 pm

Hmm, probably I misunderstand something, which is the public and local interaces ?

You can create HotSpot in the following way:
- setup HotSpot to the local interace, all clients will be connected trough HotSpot:
- enable MAC-authentication, add MAC-addresses as usernames to 'ip hotspot user'. Clients with known MAC-addresses will be redirected to the Internet without showing authorization page, clients with unknown MACs will be directed to the login page.
- modify login page and place required information to it.
thanks for the qucik reply.

I like the follow:
- ether1 + switch users connected (there is two DHCP server) One for the authenticated users with static addresses, and one for unauth users who get different IP addresses (IP pool). I like the unauth users to redirect a page like something: You are not authenticated, please call webmaster. there is no Internet connection only LAN, and local resources.
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6624
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Mon Nov 06, 2006 3:20 pm

Enable HotSpot on the local interface (ether1), DHCP server is enabled with HotSpot,
http://www.mikrotik.com/testdocs/ros/2.9/ip/hotspot.php

Use MAC-authentication method for static clients (add mac-addresses as username to users list,
Unauthorized will be redirected to the login page (where you can place information 'please call etc.)', because there is no information about their MAC-addresses.
 
santajosh
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:20 pm

Mon Nov 06, 2006 3:31 pm

Enable HotSpot on the local interface (ether1), DHCP server is enabled with HotSpot,
http://www.mikrotik.com/testdocs/ros/2.9/ip/hotspot.php

Use MAC-authentication method for static clients (add mac-addresses as username to users list,
Unauthorized will be redirected to the login page (where you can place information 'please call etc.)', because there is no information about their MAC-addresses.
thanks! thats will be the correct solution.
And other, It's impossible to create two DHCP servers in one interface...
 
User avatar
sky
newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: EST

Mon Nov 06, 2006 3:47 pm

And other, It's impossible to create two DHCP servers in one interface...
isn't a good idea to use one dhcp server and two pools?
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Mon Nov 06, 2006 3:58 pm

Enable HotSpot on the local interface (ether1), DHCP server is enabled with HotSpot,
http://www.mikrotik.com/testdocs/ros/2.9/ip/hotspot.php

Use MAC-authentication method for static clients (add mac-addresses as username to users list,
Unauthorized will be redirected to the login page (where you can place information 'please call etc.)', because there is no information about their MAC-addresses.
thanks! thats will be the correct solution.
And other, It's impossible to create two DHCP servers in one interface...
----
Hello Friends

ofcourse, as far as i know DHCP-server and DHCP-Hotspot, i think is difference
but, it is much better when you are running as DHCP-Hotspot for authe....or unaunthe....users, than customize your 'login.html' for more information

login page is appear when user need your internet gateway

regards
Hasbullah.com
----
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Mon Nov 06, 2006 4:03 pm

And other, It's impossible to create two DHCP servers in one interface...
isn't a good idea to use one dhcp server and two pools?
---
hey..
i has tree pools, any idea...!!!

regards
Hasbullah.com
---
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Mon Nov 06, 2006 4:05 pm

whatever poolcount you want on one DHCP server - just route your network right. and everything will work as it should.
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Mon Nov 06, 2006 4:15 pm

whatever poolcount you want on one DHCP server - just route your network right. and everything will work as it should.
---
yup...
with Mikrotik's, i think is more friendly....

Hasbullah.com
---
 
santajosh
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:20 pm

Wed Nov 08, 2006 1:03 pm

Thanks for the replies.

One more question:

How to add pop-up advertisements windows for users who connects to HOTSPOT? Where this ads load from?
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Wed Nov 08, 2006 1:15 pm

Thanks for the replies.

One more question:

How to add pop-up advertisements windows for users who connects to HOTSPOT? Where this ads load from?
---
try to advertise=yes user profile, i think...
/ip hot user profi set 0 advertise=yes
Hasbullah.com
---
 
santajosh
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:20 pm

Wed Nov 08, 2006 1:35 pm

Thanks for the replies.

One more question:

How to add pop-up advertisements windows for users who connects to HOTSPOT? Where this ads load from?
---
try to advertise=yes user profile, i think...
/ip hot user profi set 0 advertise=yes
Hasbullah.com
---
thanks. I found that, but how to add URL? The URL list: http://www.mikrotik.com pop ups like: http://192.168.0.1/www.mikrotik.com

So I can add a local web folder in the MT to show the adv or redirect html...?
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Wed Nov 08, 2006 1:45 pm

Thanks for the replies.

One more question:

How to add pop-up advertisements windows for users who connects to HOTSPOT? Where this ads load from?
---
try to advertise=yes user profile, i think...
/ip hot user profi set 0 advertise=yes
Hasbullah.com
---
thanks. I found that, but how to add URL? The URL list: http://www.mikrotik.com pop ups like: http://192.168.0.1/www.mikrotik.com

So I can add a local web folder in the MT to show the adv or redirect html...?
-----
last time i used it, but until now it's removed
try again, so sorry i am not remember:
/ip hot user profi set 0 advertise=yes advertise-url=http://www.um2link.net/ disabled=no
regards
Hasbullah.com
-----

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 96 guests