Community discussions

 
User avatar
matiaszon
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 9:26 am

Some MikroTiks change their MAC

Sun Mar 19, 2017 4:28 pm

I had this problem on most of the MikroTik devices... I have 4 MikroTiks in my LAN. One od them is router and has assigned static IP and configured DHCP offering static IPs for other devices. From time to time, other MikroTiks change their MAC addresses of their bridge ports. As the result, they get different IP from DHCP. Usually the difference is like they used to have had XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:16 and after some time I can see it's XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:17... Anybody knows what is the reason?
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: Some MikroTiks change their MAC

Sun Mar 19, 2017 4:57 pm

Bridge ports assign based on who is in the bridge and some other factors... They can vary based on the initialization order. Just set the Mac of the bridge manually to one of the interfaces.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 73 guests