Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
Xymox
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 391
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Phoenix, Arizona US
Contact:

2.5GBASE-T and 5GBASE-T

Mon Mar 20, 2017 6:27 am

I need IEEE 802.3bz 2.5GBase-T right now. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2.5GBASE-T_and_5GBASE-T

I am deploying Aruba IAP-335 WAP's and I need to have it. http://www.arubanetworks.com/assets/ds/ ... Series.pdf

The brand new Arris SB8200 cable modem has hardware that supports 2.5/5GBase-T and is DOCSIS 3.1 5Gbps capable. Cable companies in north America are planning on deploying gigabit plus speeds this year. In small test markets its already switched on.

We have exceeded gigabit speeds and mikrotik is currently the limiting factor. I cant use link aggregation in most places as i only have 1 cat6 in place.

I need SFP+ modules so I can easily add this to many Mikrotik products while we wait for Mikrotik to add this interface to CCR and other products.

So main priority,, Mikrotik 2.5Gbps SFP+ module. I need this _right now_
 
User avatar
pukkita
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 3037
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:09 am
Location: Spain

Re: 2.5GBASE-T and 5GBASE-T

Mon Mar 20, 2017 1:23 pm

You'd better write support directly, this is mostly a user-backed forum; although mikrotik staff check most posts, is not the best tailored channel for hardware suggestions.
Simplicity is the Ultimate Sophistication - Da Vinci
Getting the most out of this forum
 
User avatar
Jotne
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1757
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2016 11:17 am
Location: jo.overland at gmail.com

Re: 2.5GBASE-T and 5GBASE-T

Mon Mar 20, 2017 1:53 pm

I need this _right now_
And I need a million dollar.

You can off course request new feature, but you can not force anyone to deliver it. :)
 
How to use Splunk to monitor your MikroTik Router(s)

MikroTik->Splunk
 
 
Binwalk
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 4:15 pm

Re: 2.5GBASE-T and 5GBASE-T

Mon Mar 20, 2017 5:01 pm

The Arris SB8200 has two 1GbE ports, can't get around link aggregation there.
If you really need 2.5/5GbE now and have a free SFP+ you could find a switch with a SFP+ uplink that supports those standards.
Not my first choice but Netgear makes a PoE/2.5GbE switch with two 10GbE SFP+ uplinks for Wave 2 AP deployment.

On NBASE-T SFP+ modules I think Aquantia is shipping a few models but at this point it would be a gamble if they would work.
 
marklylelk
just joined
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 4:45 am

Re: 2.5GBASE-T and 5GBASE-T

Tue Mar 21, 2017 5:40 am

Some vendors now release 10GBASE-T SFP+ modules, https://www.amazon.com/10Gtek-Compatibl ... B01KFBFL16 maybe you can have a look at it !
 
paulct
Member
Member
Posts: 324
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 5:38 pm

Re: 2.5GBASE-T and 5GBASE-T

Wed Mar 22, 2017 2:26 pm

For me I do not really see the point in 2.5 and 5. Either 1Gbps or 10Gbps etc. Otherwise interoperability between vendors and models becomes hard.
 
User avatar
Xymox
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 391
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Phoenix, Arizona US
Contact:

Re: 2.5GBASE-T and 5GBASE-T

Thu Mar 23, 2017 7:08 am

I agree. But its too late. There is a std now and we have to deal with it. Products are shipping with it :(

For example https://www.netgear.com/business/produc ... m4200.aspx
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5613
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: 2.5GBASE-T and 5GBASE-T

Thu Mar 23, 2017 2:25 pm

1Gbit is everywhere, but it's not hard to hit the limit (even simple home network can do it). 10Gbit solves that, but it also costs ten times more. Something in between doesn't sound as bad idea at all, assuming that lower speed will also mean lower cost. But that will take some time.
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply. Not intended as incentive for masochists.
 
Kindis
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 6:54 pm

Re: 2.5GBASE-T and 5GBASE-T

Fri Mar 24, 2017 9:44 am

For me I do not really see the point in 2.5 and 5. Either 1Gbps or 10Gbps etc. Otherwise interoperability between vendors and models becomes hard.
From what I understand these standards have been created more or less for wireless. Listen to Cisco a while back and the biggest problem today is users are more and more wireless. That creates a issue for Acces Points that only use 1 Gbit at the moment. For a Enterprise to change all cable’s to something that supports 10 Gbit + access points with 10 Gbit is going to be expensive. 2,5 and 5 Gbit should be able to run and the cable’s you have and allows for more bandwidth to access points.
This is, according to Cisco, the driving force behind these standards and I would agree with them The biggest issue we have right now is wireless users + Skype with audio and video calls. QoS and 2,5 or 5 Gbit will solve this for us. QoS and 1 Gbit won’t cut it as the QoS will impact the main users to much.
 
vortex
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1097
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: 2.5GBASE-T and 5GBASE-T

Fri Mar 06, 2020 12:00 am

So you can buy a 10GbE switch for $150, but for 2.5GbE you have to spend at least $500.
 
mbovenka
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2019 10:14 am

Re: 2.5GBASE-T and 5GBASE-T

Fri Mar 06, 2020 12:11 am

So you can buy a 10GbE switch for $150, but for 2.5GbE you have to spend at least $500.

No. The S+RJ10 supports 2.5G & 5G. Doing it in my CRS309 right now.
 
vortex
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1097
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: 2.5GBASE-T and 5GBASE-T

Fri Mar 06, 2020 12:18 am

No. The S+RJ10 supports 2.5G & 5G. Doing it in my CRS309 right now.
Thanks. My point was that 10GbE can be better value than 2.5GbE.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], wichets and 127 guests