Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
acruhl
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 7:22 pm

How to properly request an IPv6 prefix larger than /64?

Fri Mar 24, 2017 6:01 pm

The wiki documentation doesn't document all of the options that the current (as of 6.38.5) ipv6 dhcp client has, so I need to ask here. (Specifically, prefix-hint)

My router shows the prefix I've been given, it's /64. I'm trying various things to see if I can get a prefix larger (smaller mask) than /64. I've tried /60 and /48, but I'm not sure I'm doing it right. I'm sniffing all attempts and I only ever get back a /64.

There's some indication that my ISP might hand out a /60. They (ISP) won't talk to me about it, and I'm not sure I know how to properly "ask" for it with the IPv6 dhcp client.

Here is the current setup that is working with a /64:
/ipv6 dhcp-client
add add-default-route=yes interface=ether1-gateway pool-name=test-ipv6 \
    request=address,prefix
[acruhl@router] /ipv6 pool> print detail
Flags: D - dynamic 
 0 D name="test-ipv6" prefix=2601:x:x:a9e::/64 prefix-length=64 
     expires-after=3d23h18m33s
Do I need to use prefix-hint, or maybe some other setup? Can someone help?

Thanks.
 
proximus
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 1:46 pm

Re: How to properly request an IPv6 prefix larger than /64?

Fri Mar 24, 2017 6:06 pm

Yes, typically a 'hint', if supported by your ISP
pool-name="comcast-ipv6" pool-prefix-length=64 prefix-hint=::/60 
 
User avatar
acruhl
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 7:22 pm

Re: How to properly request an IPv6 prefix larger than /64?

Fri Mar 24, 2017 6:33 pm

That was it, thanks very much. I now have a /60 on my router.

Now I need to figure out how to hand out other subnets programmatically when the ISP changes the prefix every few days :(
 
User avatar
null31
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 183
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 6:07 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: How to properly request an IPv6 prefix larger than /64?

Fri Mar 24, 2017 9:47 pm

You can assign static ipv6, where what change is only the prefix.
/ipv6 address
	add address=::a:c:b/64 interface=lan1 from-pool=test-ipv6 advertise=yes eui-64=no
	add address=::1:2:3/64 interface=lan2 from-pool=test-ipv6 advertise=yes eui-64=no
Example:
Prefix: 2001:123:1:0::/60
Using the code above:
Subnet 1: 2001:123:1:0::a:c:b/64
Subnet 2: 2001:123:1:1::1:2:3/64

If prefix is changed, the first 4 groups change, the rest stay the same.
 
User avatar
acruhl
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 7:22 pm

Re: How to properly request an IPv6 prefix larger than /64?

Sat Mar 25, 2017 12:48 am

Thanks!

Next topic is IPv6 route filtering. I haven't been able to figure it out. This is for another topic.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AndHe, djvabe, pajapatak and 124 guests