Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
wombat
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu May 14, 2015 10:12 pm

"Slow" download RB3011

Tue May 09, 2017 11:08 am

Hello,

I have a 100 Mbit line from my ISP when I checking speed via MK and the integrated bandwidth test so all OK but when I download something from net via Chrome I never get more than 10.5 MB/s which is about 80 Mbit+, I don't understand where 20 Mbit is lost to me. Whole my LAN is built on 1 Gbit, when I copy inside the network, for example within NAS, etc., so everything goes around 900+ Mbit, so there will be no problem in PC. Do not know what a problem can be? Firewall rules have default.

Thanks.
 
User avatar
Steveocee
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1127
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: "Slow" download RB3011

Tue May 09, 2017 3:22 pm

when I download something from net via Chrome I never get more than 10.5 MB/s which is about 80 Mbit+
If speed tests are coming back fine then it's probably not your router and is probably the website you are downloading from can't upload fast enough for you.
Steve "Steveocee" Carter
PC Gamer, Airsofter, MikroTik Nerd
My Website - My MikroTik Tutorials
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7763
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: "Slow" download RB3011

Tue May 09, 2017 3:33 pm

Or there is another overhead not shown to you. See the interface statistics during the test and then during the download. What do you see?
 
OlofL
newbie
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2015 2:37 pm

Re: "Slow" download RB3011

Tue May 09, 2017 4:20 pm

So much info is missed out here. How is your "/ip firewall export" looking like?
What is using CPU when you access Internet?
Check out /tool profile
 
User avatar
BartoszP
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1876
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Poland

Re: "Slow" download RB3011

Tue May 09, 2017 4:44 pm

Try to download something big with torrent or any "mass downloader" to avoid saturating source server.
I have just downloaded AutoCAD installer with their donwloader via RB3011 with speed up to 50MB/s ... Mbytes not Mbits.
Real admins use real keyboards.
To quote or not to quote, there is the topic: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=168474
 
karwos
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 7:28 pm
Location: Poland

Re: "Slow" download RB3011

Wed May 10, 2017 12:53 am

If there is speed mismatch like 1gbit to 100mbit links, and flow control is enabled, L2 device may send pause frames and that may decrease network throughput.

Avoid using flow ctrl, tcp handles that stuff best.
 
stoser
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 12:04 am

Re: "Slow" download RB3011

Wed May 10, 2017 2:03 am

What is the latency to the server? If high (due to number of hops or physical distance) it could be the TCP window size causing the bandwidth to effectively drop. Try downloading numerous files simultaneously from different servers, add up the bandwidths, and see if you now get the 100Mb/s. Remember that the TCP window size effectuvely limits bandwidth per connection. Therefore by spawning numerous connections, the limitation will be applied to each connection, diminishing its effects. I have this problem quite frequently when I try to download large files from a single connection accross continents... Kind regards

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], riyoritsu, Znevna and 174 guests