Community discussions

 
carvlagar
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 12:36 am

IPV6 and RouterOs CHR, error

Sun May 14, 2017 1:02 am

Hi, i´m was trying to make a laboratory in GNS3 about IPV6 tunnels, when i get activated IPV6 packet, the chr router in GNS3 become inestable, Ej. try to exec ip address print causes the CLI hangout, the same behavior in winbox, the router reboot.
 
User avatar
pietroscherer
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 170
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 3:05 pm
Location: RS, Brazil
Contact:

Re: IPV6 and RouterOs CHR, error

Sun May 14, 2017 1:21 am

What OS are you using? I had the same experience with Windows7. On Linux it's ok for me.
Pietro Scherer
http://www.tchesolutions.com.br [ISPs Consulting and Training]
http://www.routermage.com [Backup and Automation System]
:D
 
idlemind
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1102
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2017 11:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: IPV6 and RouterOs CHR, error

Tue May 16, 2017 7:58 am

I wouldn't say it's exclusive to IPv6. I've run a lot of CHR in GNS3 primarily in 2.0 now and everyonce in a while I have to power cycle one, some or all of a MikroTik lab over and over again until they stay responsive. I don't know why but they do it on both Windows w/GNS3 VM and Fedora Linux.
 
User avatar
IPANetEngineer
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1053
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:46 am
Location: Jackson, MS, USA
Contact:

Re: IPV6 and RouterOs CHR, error

Tue May 16, 2017 4:42 pm

I just ran into this issue when trying to use IPv6 on Windows 10 with GNS3. As soon as I enabled the IPv6 package, the CLI would hang.

Here is what I did to resolve it:

Increase the memory for the VM from 128MB to 256MB
Select "legacy networking mode" in GNS3 and use the Legacy paravirtualized NIC (virtio)

Hope this helps someone :-)
Global - MikroTik Support & Consulting - English | Francais | Español | Portuguese +1 855-645-7684
https://iparchitechs.com/services/mikro ... l-support/ mikrotiksupport@iparchitechs.com
 
idlemind
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1102
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2017 11:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: IPV6 and RouterOs CHR, error

Wed May 17, 2017 6:00 am

Thanks I'll try the paravirtualized NIC. I had tried different RAM sizes as well in the past.
 
carvlagar
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 12:36 am

Re: IPV6 and RouterOs CHR, error

Thu May 18, 2017 4:20 am

I just ran into this issue when trying to use IPv6 on Windows 10 with GNS3. As soon as I enabled the IPv6 package, the CLI would hang.

Here is what I did to resolve it:

Increase the memory for the VM from 128MB to 256MB
Select "legacy networking mode" in GNS3 and use the Legacy paravirtualized NIC (virtio)

Hope this helps someone :-)
Thanks a lot.
I tried your suggestions and work fine for me, great solution and very simple.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 118 guests