Community discussions

MikroTik App

eriksen
just joined
Topic Author

Why Mikrotik ???

Sun Jun 25, 2017 7:55 pm

Hello
I hope someone can help me answering the following questions?
What is Mikrotik target group? Business or consumers.
What is making Mikrotik unique, why pick Mikrotik instead of Cicso?
Do Mikrotik have any limitations?

If any, what can MicroTik do too improve?

pukkita
Trainer
Trainer

Re: Why Mikrotik ???

Mon Jun 26, 2017 2:27 pm

Hello
I hope someone can help me answering the following questions?
Both.
In the event that a given Cisco and Mikrotik routerboard are suitable for the same task:

- Price
- No limitations. On routerboards, hardware is the limit, no artificial licensing limitations.
- Power draw
- Impressive price/performance/reliability/stability/features ratio, yet to be matched by any vendor.

And as a networking engineer, I absolutely love WinBox for management, whereas managing Ciscos just by CLI is a PITA. with Winbox you can choose depending on the task, if using CLI, or GUI.

It's obvious when you get the grasp of routerboard management that everything has been thought out in order to make it more efficient. There are things like Mac-Winbox, or RoMON, which make possible to connect to an completely (un/mis)configured routerboard remotely, which are priceless.

I'd summarize it as "made by network admins, for network admins".
If you mean on licensing features limitations, those are set by the device license level, which usually goes on par with the hardware capabilities. If you mean on supported features, yes there are also certain features supported by Cisco and others not supported by ROS, thought some can be achieved by using a different approach.
Mikrotik is what's considered a disruptive technology, i.e. it empowers bussinesses and users to deploy and have features only available on devices costing 10x more.

That being said, technology and market is a moving target, so there are tons of areas where Mikrotik could improve.