Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
azurtem
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 217
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 5:35 pm
Location: Nice, France
Contact:

Newly installed RB2011 loses its config

Tue Jul 04, 2017 8:09 pm

Hi

A client recently asked me why RB2011 sometimes lose their config after the initial setup
They apparently lock up and there's nothing left to do but reboot electrically and start over

Any ideas?

thanks
yann
 
Van9018
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 519
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 6:26 pm
Location: Canada - Abbotsford

Re: Newly installed RB2011 loses its config

Wed Jul 05, 2017 2:51 am

It's not supposed to. Maybe it's defective? Tried another RB2011?
 
User avatar
azurtem
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 217
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 5:35 pm
Location: Nice, France
Contact:

Re: Newly installed RB2011 loses its config

Wed Jul 05, 2017 5:33 am

Thanks for your response

I agree, but apparently they have experienced this issue with several RB2011

regards
yann
 
User avatar
Steveocee
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1127
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Newly installed RB2011 loses its config

Wed Jul 05, 2017 6:43 pm

It's not normal and it's not something that should happen over multiple RB's. I guess normal applies, ensure latest ROS and FW. They may be applying config with safe mode on, losing connection and the board reverting changes.
Steve "Steveocee" Carter
PC Gamer, Airsofter, MikroTik Nerd
My Website - My MikroTik Tutorials
 
User avatar
azurtem
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 217
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 5:35 pm
Location: Nice, France
Contact:

Re: Newly installed RB2011 loses its config

Thu Jul 06, 2017 2:10 pm

Thanks Steve, I'll check this out
 
noib
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 285
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 6:04 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Newly installed RB2011 loses its config

Thu Jul 06, 2017 2:45 pm

I had the case with a customer, same symptoms. After some searches it appeared that the customer had made a configuration template, and then duplicated the config using "backup" and "restore" ! Which is not good for different devices, I told him to use export/import with .rsc files instead and his problems disappeared.
 
User avatar
azurtem
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 217
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 5:35 pm
Location: Nice, France
Contact:

Re: Newly installed RB2011 loses its config

Thu Jul 06, 2017 2:46 pm

Thanks Noib, will check this out too

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Jotne, jvanhambelgium, matthewkirby, SlavaBass and 122 guests