Community discussions

 
bsomhz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 7:23 am

How to combine 3 WAN speed

Sun Jul 23, 2017 6:28 am

I have got ISP1 with 2Mbps ISP2 with 4Mbps and ISP3 with 10Mbps. Is it possible for a user to get the speed of 16Mbps in total?
 
ifast
newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2014 11:27 am
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

Re: How to combine 3 WAN speed

Sun Jul 23, 2017 8:56 am

Yes it is possible through several ways. You can study articles on the web. You can use port bonding as well as load balancing option and can use aggregated bandwidth from all of your WANs.

Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk
 
User avatar
hgonzale
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 1:12 pm
Location: Fuengirola, Spain
Contact:

Re: How to combine 3 WAN speed

Sun Jul 23, 2017 6:58 pm

Partially my friend.
One single download CAN'T be at 16 Mbps, because routes and protocols are involved.
Of course, if you have 3 downloads or MORE, you can reach 16. But a single connection is not possible.

OF course, if you can install equipment in the ISP side and in your side, you can get 16 Mbps for a single connection

https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:M ... iple_links
 
Van9018
Member
Member
Posts: 466
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 6:26 pm
Location: Canada - Abbotsford

Re: How to combine 3 WAN speed

Mon Jul 24, 2017 12:15 am

Load Balancing: https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:PCC
But you can't split a connection like a single download across wans when using load balancing.

If three WANs are from same ISP, call the ISP and ask if they support bonding.

If you wish to have 16 mbps from one site to another site, and you have Mikrotik's at both ends, then you can have a single connection like a single download achieve 16 mbps by using 3 tunnels and some routing.
 
bsomhz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 7:23 am

Re: How to combine 3 WAN speed

Tue Jul 25, 2017 1:21 pm

I have done loadbalancing, but my speed is not combined. i.e: ISP1 2Mbps(Static)(VLAN) ISP2 4Mbps(Static) and ISP3 10Mpbs(PPPoE). But I am not able to get aggregate speed of 16Mbps or near to it.
 
bsomhz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 7:23 am

Re: How to combine 3 WAN speed

Tue Jul 25, 2017 1:26 pm

Yes it is possible through several ways. You can study articles on the web. You can use port bonding as well as load balancing option and can use aggregated bandwidth from all of your WANs.

Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk



How to use aggregated bandwidth. From all 3 WAN link?
 
User avatar
cdiedrich
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 2:03 pm
Location: Basel, Switzerland // Bremen, Germany
Contact:

Re: How to combine 3 WAN speed

Tue Jul 25, 2017 1:33 pm

Short, sad, true: no way.
As the others said before, a single flow can''t be greater than the WAN link it is assigned to.

You might have a chance if all three links are from the same ISP and you're using PPPoE.
Then you can ask the ISP to enable MLPPP for you. This would really aggregate the bandwidth.

-Chris
Christopher Diedrich
MTCNA, MTCUME, MTCWE
Basel, Switzerland
Bremen, Germany

There are 10 types of people: Those who understand binary and those who don't.
There are two types of people: Those who can extrapolate from incomplete data
 
bsomhz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 7:23 am

Re: How to combine 3 WAN speed

Thu Jul 27, 2017 5:44 am

Can I use 1st ISP for the download/upload and 2nd ISP as my default getway which is static. I mean use my PPPoE Connection for download/upload and Static connection as my getway, which will not block my static IP for the too many hits in my website.
 
ukiocsmo
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 11:13 pm

Re: How to combine 3 WAN speed

Thu Oct 11, 2018 11:39 pm

I successfully tested it with ADSL and (up to) 4Doungle 4g in hub, a couple of years ago and quickly reached the sum total.
I then tested on the 600+600+100+100 Mbps (fiber) that the total of 4 input speeds was 1400 Mbps and the output speed was 250 Mbps!!!!
After a week, exactly four lines were used at their speed:
600(43%) 600(43%) 100(7%) 100(7%)
I think the security and/or management collections within the mikrotik make the output of the mikrotik no higher than 250Mbps!

{whit googleTranslate}

wan1=ADSL1 192.168.1.2/24
wan2=ADSL2 192.168.2.2/24
wan3=ADSL3 192.168.3.2/24
wan4=DON1 192.168.4.2/24
wan5=DON2 192.168.5.2/24
wan8=donglehub 192.168.8.2/24
wan-out 192.168.9.1/24




ip firewall mangle
add chain=input in-interface=WAN1 action=mark-connection new-connection-mark=WAN1_conn
add chain=input in-interface=WAN2 action=mark-connection new-connection-mark=WAN2_conn
add chain=input in-interface=WAN3 action=mark-connection new-connection-mark=WAN3_conn
add chain=input in-interface=WAN4 action=mark-connection new-connection-mark=WAN4_conn
add chain=input in-interface=WAN5 action=mark-connection new-connection-mark=WAN5_conn
add chain=input in-interface=WAN8 action=mark-connection new-connection-mark=WAN8_conn

add chain=output connection-mark=WAN1_conn action=mark-routing new-routing-mark=to_WAN1
add chain=output connection-mark=WAN2_conn action=mark-routing new-routing-mark=to_WAN2
add chain=output connection-mark=WAN3_conn action=mark-routing new-routing-mark=to_WAN3
add chain=output connection-mark=WAN4_conn action=mark-routing new-routing-mark=to_WAN4
add chain=output connection-mark=WAN5_conn action=mark-routing new-routing-mark=to_WAN5
add chain=output connection-mark=WAN8_conn action=mark-routing new-routing-mark=to_WAN8

add chain=prerouting dst-address=192.168.1.0/24 action=accept in-interface=WAN-OUT
add chain=prerouting dst-address=192.168.2.0/24 action=accept in-interface=WAN-OUT
add chain=prerouting dst-address=192.168.3.0/24 action=accept in-interface=WAN-OUT
add chain=prerouting dst-address=192.168.4.0/24 action=accept in-interface=WAN-OUT
add chain=prerouting dst-address=192.168.5.0/24 action=accept in-interface=WAN-OUT
add chain=prerouting dst-address=192.168.8.0/24 action=accept in-interface=WAN-OUT

add chain=prerouting dst-address-type=!local in-interface=WAN-OUT per-connection-classifier=both-addresses­-and-ports:6/0 action=mark-connection new-connection-mark=WAN1_conn passthrough=yes
add chain=prerouting dst-address-type=!local in-interface=WAN-OUT per-connection-classifier=both-addresses­-and-ports:6/1 action=mark-connection new-connection-mark=WAN2_conn passthrough=yes
add chain=prerouting dst-address-type=!local in-interface=WAN-OUT per-connection-classifier=both-addresses­-and-ports:6/2 action=mark-connection new-connection-mark=WAN3_conn passthrough=yes
add chain=prerouting dst-address-type=!local in-interface=WAN-OUT per-connection-classifier=both-addresses­-and-ports:6/3 action=mark-connection new-connection-mark=WAN4_conn passthrough=yes
add chain=prerouting dst-address-type=!local in-interface=WAN-OUT per-connection-classifier=both-addresses­-and-ports:6/4 action=mark-connection new-connection-mark=WAN5_conn passthrough=yes
add chain=prerouting dst-address-type=!local in-interface=WAN-OUT per-connection-classifier=both-addresses­-and-ports:6/5 action=mark-connection new-connection-mark=WAN8_conn passthrough=yes

add chain=prerouting connection-mark=WAN1_conn in-interface=WAN-OUT action=mark-routing new-routing-mark=to_WAN1
add chain=prerouting connection-mark=WAN2_conn in-interface=WAN-OUT action=mark-routing new-routing-mark=to_WAN2
add chain=prerouting connection-mark=WAN3_conn in-interface=WAN-OUT action=mark-routing new-routing-mark=to_WAN3
add chain=prerouting connection-mark=WAN4_conn in-interface=WAN-OUT action=mark-routing new-routing-mark=to_WAN4
add chain=prerouting connection-mark=WAN5_conn in-interface=WAN-OUT action=mark-routing new-routing-mark=to_WAN5
add chain=prerouting connection-mark=WAN8_conn in-interface=WAN-OUT action=mark-routing new-routing-mark=to_WAN8


ip route
add dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 gateway=192.168.1.1 routing-mark=to_WAN1 check-gateway=ping
add dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 gateway=192.168.2.1 routing-mark=to_WAN2 check-gateway=ping
add dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 gateway=192.168.3.1 routing-mark=to_WAN3 check-gateway=ping
add dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 gateway=192.168.4.1 routing-mark=to_WAN4 check-gateway=ping
add dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 gateway=192.168.5.1 routing-mark=to_WAN5 check-gateway=ping
add dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 gateway=192.168.8.1 routing-mark=to_WAN8 check-gateway=ping

add dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 gateway=192.168.1.1 distance=1 check-gateway=ping
add dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 gateway=192.168.2.1 distance=2 check-gateway=ping
add dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 gateway=192.168.3.1 distance=3 check-gateway=ping
add dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 gateway=192.168.4.1 distance=4 check-gateway=ping
add dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 gateway=192.168.5.1 distance=5 check-gateway=ping
add dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 gateway=192.168.8.1 distance=6 check-gateway=ping

ip firewall nat
add chain=srcnat out-interface=WAN1 action=masquerade
add chain=srcnat out-interface=WAN2 action=masquerade
add chain=srcnat out-interface=WAN3 action=masquerade
add chain=srcnat out-interface=WAN4 action=masquerade
add chain=srcnat out-interface=WAN5 action=masquerade
add chain=srcnat out-interface=WAN8 action=masquerade


DHCP server
setup
192.168.9.0/24
wan-out
dns:
8.8.8.8
8.8.4.4
 
User avatar
iperezandres
newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 1:17 pm
Location: Madrid
Contact:

Re: How to combine 3 WAN speed

Mon Nov 12, 2018 11:28 pm

I suffer a similar situation.

I have a script for 2 WANs, very similar to the one posted earlier here, using PCC. If each WAN can reach around 60Mbps individually, I was expecting to get an aggregated sum of 120Mbps, but when I try to aggregate them, I get a total of 60Mbps: 30Mbps in each one.

One detail: if I use queues to limit the bandwidth to 10Mbps in each WAN, the aggregated BW is 20Mbps. If I limit the queues to 20Mbps, the aggregated BW is 40Mbps. So far so good. But once I set the queues to 30Mbps or more, the aggregated BW does not go beyond 60Mbps.

I have the same issue both with 100Mbps ports and 1Gbps ports.

Is there anything that I am missing? Is there anything possibly limiting the BW to the max value of one of the WANs? Fastpath of Fastrack may have something to do with this issue?

The script I use works fine except when it comes to aggregated maximum speeds. This is the reduce version of my script: the mangle, routing and queues sections:

/ip firewall mangle
add action=mark-connection chain=prerouting connection-state=new in-interface=bridge new-connection-mark=conn1 passthrough=yes per-connection-classifier=both-addresses-and-ports:4/0  comment="LAN->WAN PCC"
add action=mark-connection chain=prerouting connection-state=new in-interface=bridge new-connection-mark=conn2 passthrough=yes per-connection-classifier=both-addresses-and-ports:4/1
add action=mark-connection chain=prerouting connection-state=new in-interface=bridge new-connection-mark=conn1 passthrough=yes per-connection-classifier=both-addresses-and-ports:4/2
add action=mark-connection chain=prerouting connection-state=new in-interface=bridge new-connection-mark=conn2 passthrough=yes per-connection-classifier=both-addresses-and-ports:4/3
add action=mark-routing chain=prerouting connection-mark=conn1 in-interface=bridge new-routing-mark=route1 passthrough=no comment="LAN->WAN route"
add action=mark-routing chain=prerouting connection-mark=conn2 in-interface=bridge new-routing-mark=route2 passthrough=no

/ip route
add dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 gateway=wan1IPgateway distance=1 check-gateway=ping routing-mark=route1 comment="balanced routes"
add dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 gateway=wan2IPgateway distance=1 check-gateway=ping routing-mark=route2
add dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 gateway=wan2IPgateway distance=2 check-gateway=ping routing-mark=route1 comment="fail-over balanced routes"
add dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 gateway=wan1IPgateway distance=2 check-gateway=ping routing-mark=route2

/ip firewall address-list
add address=[/ip address get [find comment~"LAN"] address] list=LAN
add address=[/ip address get [find comment~"LAN"] address] list=Connected
add address=[/ip address get [find comment~"wan1"] address] list=Connected
add address=[/ip address get [find comment~"wan2"] address] list=Connected
add address=255.255.255.255 list=LAN

/queue type
add kind=pcq name=up pcq-classifier=src-address pcq-dst-address6-mask=64 pcq-rate=0 pcq-src-address6-mask=64
add kind=pcq name=dn pcq-classifier=dst-address pcq-dst-address6-mask=64 pcq-rate=0 pcq-src-address6-mask=64
/queue simple
add name=queue1 max-limit=10M/10M queue=dn/up target=[/interface get [find name~"wan1"] name] 
add name=queue2 max-limit=10M/10M queue=dn/up target=[/interface get [find name~"wan2"] name]
 
User avatar
iperezandres
newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 1:17 pm
Location: Madrid
Contact:

Re: How to combine 3 WAN speed

Wed Dec 05, 2018 10:07 am

I solved my issue, but it is related to the type of WAN I use, which is an LTE connection.
The problem has to do with the different types of SIM cards used, meaning the different contracts that you can have with the Operator.
We are using for this project SIMs of M2M data contracts and regular data contracts. The problem arises when we use 2 x M2M SIMs at the same time. If we use 2 regular SIMs, or 1 x M2M and 1 x regular, everything is OK, but with 2 x M2M, somehow the speed gets limited to 25 Mbps each, even though each SIM should reach 70 Mbps.
I don't know the reason, but every combination we have tried, discards issues related to the MK, the script, the LTE device, interferences, etc. and everything points to the type of SIMs being used.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mducharme and 53 guests