Page 1 of 1

mik--lan->ap--->repeater ap----->client( issues)

Posted: Mon Jul 24, 2017 3:10 am
by libyatik
my network uses hotspot on a first ap and a second repeater ap
when client connects to main the client mac is shown
but when client conects to the (repeater ap) the client mac is not shown and all clients who use (repeater ap) get the repeater mac on hotspot hosts list {ADDED A PIC}
can this setup cause any bugs or unstable network use for clients ?

Re: mik--lan->ap--->repeater ap----->client( issues)

Posted: Mon Jul 24, 2017 6:24 pm
by roswitina
Mac address is layer 2. It is, if I understood correctly, only from router to router passed. For me, therefore, your network works. The router should only transmit its MAC address.
Please refer: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OSI_model

Rosi

Re: mik--lan->ap--->repeater ap----->client( issues)

Posted: Tue Jul 25, 2017 4:03 am
by libyatik
Mac address is layer 2. It is, if I understood correctly, only from router to router passed. For me, therefore, your network works. The router should only transmit its MAC address.
Please refer: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OSI_model

Rosi
thank you

after testing this setup only one bug found :
WHEN dhcp add arp for leases is on
and a client gets an ip lease from the repeater
the client cannot use the main ap until his dhcp lease removed
this was resolved by (dhcp add arp for leases OFF)

Re: mik--lan->ap--->repeater ap----->client( issues)

Posted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 9:40 pm
by STEPHANVS
+1 here (Wanted to create a new thread, but since I found this...)

Using Mikrotik hap lite for AP (with DHCP assigned to the bridge1 interface) and another hap lite for repeater (bridging all interfaces, nothing more). If ANY device gets its IP on the repeater's wifi, then connects to the AP (or the other way around), the DHCP server (on the AP router) will stuck on offering, and no IP address is assigned, no matter if static or dynamic. However if the address on static entry is changed, or it's disabled/enabled then the IP address will be assigned, and all traffic will work until the device is connected to the other wifi.

Will try disabling ARP on the DHCP server.