Community discussions

 
User avatar
ZeroByte
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 4051
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 6:08 pm

[SOLVED] RB1100AHx2 - questions about the block diagram

Mon Jul 24, 2017 7:40 pm

I've been looking at the block diagram on the 1100AHX2 platform and was hoping someone has a clarification for me.

My question is regarding the capacity available for ports 11 - 13.

I know that the total routing throughput available to each AR8327 switch chip is 1Gbps
I know that 11 and 12 can act as an ethernet pass-through in case of failure.
Ethernet 13 is shown as a stand-alone link to the PCIe controller.

Questions: Are interfaces Eth11 - Eth13 each capable of carrying their own 1Gbps of traffic? The reason I want to make 100% certain is because the links to Switch1, Switch2, and Eth11 all depict 1000Mbit lanes, while the links to Eth12 and Eth13 do not denote any particular bandwidth.

What I would like to do is bridge ports 11 and 12 with "use-ip-firewall=yes" for transparent L3 QoS queueing capability, and I want to make sure that the system's bus has the capacity to carry a full gigabit of traffic between these ports. (If I were to CPU-bridge eth1 and eth2 for example, I would be limited to ~500Mbps due to the system architecture)

Thanks for any insights you may have.
Screen Shot 2017-07-25 at 09.39.10.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
When given a spoon,
you should not cling to your fork.
The soup will get cold.
 
andriys
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1177
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:59 pm
Location: Kharkiv, Ukraine

Re: RB1100AHx2 - questions about the block diagram

Mon Jul 24, 2017 8:02 pm

A quote from the Manual:IP/IPsec wiki page:
RB1100AHx2 Config Optimizations

Some configuration advices on how to get maximum ipsec throughput on multicore RB1100AHx2:
  • Avoid using ether12 and ether13. Since these ports are pci-x they will be slowest ones.
  • Fastest forwarding is from switch chip ports (ether1-ether10) to ether11 (directly connected to CPU) and vice versa.
  • ...
This does not directly answer your question, but makes me think that you may not be able to get a full 1G of bandwidth between ports 12 and 13.
 
IntrusDave
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 4:36 am
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Re: RB1100AHx2 - questions about the block diagram

Mon Jul 24, 2017 10:56 pm

I found this on the CPU. It does show the 3x 1Gbps links in the processor, as well os the PCIe links. It looks to me that ports 12 and 13 would likely each have a dedicated PCIe x1 link. Assuming that the processor only supports PCIe v1.0 or v1.1, then the links would only support about 250Mbps (125Mbps each direction). If it's 2.0, then you get 500Mbps.

A Gigabit ethernet interface should have a x4 PCIe 2.0 link for full 1GBPs each direction. Even if the CPU is PCIe 2.0, It only has x2 available. Still not enough to support two interfaces at full speed.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
David Joyce
Network & Security Engineer
Intrus Technologies, LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
 
User avatar
ZeroByte
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 4051
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 6:08 pm

Re: RB1100AHx2 - questions about the block diagram

Tue Jul 25, 2017 1:08 am

Agreed. Since posting, I realized that I wasn't looking at the latest-n-greatest 1100 series, which is the AHx4.

@IntrusDave - that's what I was thinking - that 12 and 13 weren't able to drive a gig.

I'm thinking of using either the 1100AHx4 or else the CCR1009-7G-1C-PC which can handle a gig no problem and not worry about block diagrams. :)
When given a spoon,
you should not cling to your fork.
The soup will get cold.
 
IntrusDave
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 4:36 am
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Re: RB1100AHx2 - questions about the block diagram

Tue Jul 25, 2017 1:36 am

Even the latest RB1100AHx4 may not be just right.. Each switch group (1~5, 6~10, 11~13) each only have a 2.5G link. To get full wire-speed, you would need 2GBps per port.
The CCR1009, the first 5 ports are in a switch group. The CCR1016, each port has a dedicated wire-speed connection to the CPU.

But that is going to drive you cost WAY up.
David Joyce
Network & Security Engineer
Intrus Technologies, LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
 
andriys
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1177
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:59 pm
Location: Kharkiv, Ukraine

Re: RB1100AHx2 - questions about the block diagram

Tue Jul 25, 2017 1:46 am

The CCR1009, the first 5 ports are in a switch group.
That's only applicable to the now discontinued CCR1009 models. All current CCR1009 models (CCR1009-7G-1C-PC, CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+ and CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+PC) don't have any switch chip on board, all ports are directly connected to CPU.
 
IntrusDave
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 4:36 am
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Re: RB1100AHx2 - questions about the block diagram

Tue Jul 25, 2017 2:31 am

I missed that. Thank you.

That brings the entry cost down to $425usd for all-wire-speed ports.
David Joyce
Network & Security Engineer
Intrus Technologies, LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
 
phendry
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:42 pm

Re: RB1100AHx2 - questions about the block diagram

Sat Feb 10, 2018 9:19 am

It looks to me that ports 12 and 13 would likely each have a dedicated PCIe x1 link. Assuming that the processor only supports PCIe v1.0 or v1.1, then the links would only support about 250Mbps (125Mbps each direction).
Hey Dave, shouldn't that be 250MBps i.e. 2Gbps? If it is 250Mbps then that certainly explains some strangeness we have been seeing on a few links since upgrading the radios to GigE. When I run bandwidth tests sending from an RB1100AHx2 on ether11 we see almost 1Gbps but perform the same test via ether12 or ether13 and we see ~120Mbps. Tried on several different RB1100AHx2's with basic config and varying RouterOS versions but always the same results.
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1736
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: RB1100AHx2 - questions about the block diagram

Sat Feb 10, 2018 11:52 pm

Agreed. Since posting, I realized that I wasn't looking at the latest-n-greatest 1100 series, which is the AHx4.

@IntrusDave - that's what I was thinking - that 12 and 13 weren't able to drive a gig.

I'm thinking of using either the 1100AHx4 or else the CCR1009-7G-1C-PC which can handle a gig no problem and not worry about block diagrams. :)
if you have the budget dont miss time and go for ccr1036 you will not regret it

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 93 guests