Community discussions

 
User avatar
floeff
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2017 6:39 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

DHCPv6 client persistency

Tue Aug 15, 2017 1:28 pm

It seems that (at least on 6.40.1) when I run the DHCPv6 client to acquire a prefix, this fails with "error" in case the interface has issues when coming up, like late sync or issues with autosensing.
DHCPv4 client retries until it gets an IP address, DHCPv6 client simply is stuck with "error".

Is this intended behaviour?

A manual "renew" immediately assigns a prefix then, so my workaround would be to write a script; however, having some persistency would be good to reliably get an address even after interface issues.
 
User avatar
strods
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 1406
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 7:22 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: DHCPv6 client persistency

Tue Aug 15, 2017 1:50 pm

Does the same issue persist on 6.41rc?
 
IntrusDave
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1284
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 4:36 am
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Re: DHCPv6 client persistency

Wed Aug 16, 2017 3:25 am

I can confirm that this happens on 6.41rc11
David Joyce
Network & Security Engineer
Intrus Technologies, LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
 
User avatar
floeff
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2017 6:39 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: DHCPv6 client persistency

Wed Aug 16, 2017 1:18 pm

I can confirm that this happens on 6.41rc11
Thanks! I have to RMA my device due to a hardware issue, so not sure if I get a hand on testing before I send it to the distributor - so I'm glad you confirmed. :-)
 
User avatar
floeff
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2017 6:39 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: DHCPv6 client persistency

Mon Aug 21, 2017 7:02 pm

Moving my configuration over to a fallback router that has no ethernet issues seems to show similar issues - so not sure if DHCPv6 in 6.40.1 isn't broken generally on first run.
 
User avatar
floeff
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2017 6:39 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: DHCPv6 client persistency

Wed Oct 25, 2017 6:20 pm

The main issue seems to have been addressed in recent versions
However, today we had a power outage, and the modem and router both rebooted at the same time
That particular cable modem needs 5-10 minutes after boot to hand out a IPv4 and IPv6; IPv4 gets a RFC1918 address until the "real" lese is sent from the CMTS; IPv6 seems to hand out nothing

For IPv4, RouterOS (6.40.4) got the new lease properly
For IPv6, however, it stopped with "error" and never tried again

My proposal is to have the same behaviour for IPv4 and IPv6 - try again in case of errors.
As an interesting side effect, I feel that viewtopic.php?f=2&t=125195&p=616573 comes to play here as well. Due to IPv6 being stuck on "error", the device was not visible within WinBox. As soon as IPv6 was assigned, it could be discovered.
 
User avatar
floeff
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2017 6:39 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: DHCPv6 client persistency

Sun Nov 12, 2017 4:09 pm

The main issue seems to have been addressed in recent versions
Maybe not - 6.40.5 seems to show the same issue; didn't test 6.41rc though

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 38 guests