Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Borage
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 10:19 pm

Realtek 8201

Wed Oct 27, 2004 3:02 am

I can't get Realtek 8201 LAN interfaces to work with MikroTik. In the routers PCI resources, it shows up as an NVIDIA nForce Ethernet Controller. I think the kernel module is nvnet and should be included in the 2.4 kernel, but I might be wrong about that.
 
cmit
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1552
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:49 pm
Location: Germany

Wed Oct 27, 2004 2:09 pm

The MikroTik device compatibility list (http://www.mikrotik.com/docs/ros/2.8/gu ... st.content) doesn't list the chip/card as supported - so I suppose there's no way to get it to work right now...

Just that there IS a linux driver (even in the standard distros/kernel) doesn't necessarily mean that it is supported in RouterOS. And you can't load "normal" linux device drivers in RouterOS...
Last edited by cmit on Wed Oct 27, 2004 3:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Best regards,
Christian Meis
 
Borage
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 10:19 pm

Wed Oct 27, 2004 2:56 pm

There is an option in the MikroTik driver settings were you can add and "copy-from" and I guess that you can upload a driver with ftp and then run this command.

Have anyone did that and where do you get the driver from?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24608
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Wed Oct 27, 2004 2:59 pm

no, this is not possible in RouterOS.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Borage
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 10:19 pm

Wed Oct 27, 2004 3:03 pm

Okey, I got this option when I press the TAB key, so I thought it was possible.
 
User avatar
Eugene
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 993
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 5:06 pm
Location: Cranfield, UK

Wed Oct 27, 2004 3:05 pm

These options are used for different purposes. See http://www.mikrotik.com/docs/ros/2.8/gu ... e.frameset
 
Borage
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 10:19 pm

Wed Oct 27, 2004 3:10 pm

I usually use it to import the license key.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24608
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Wed Oct 27, 2004 3:12 pm

copy-from is a generic command in all menus. in `driver` it doesn't have any real purpose.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Borage
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 10:19 pm

Wed Oct 27, 2004 3:14 pm

You are really fast, I saw my mistake and you responded before I had a chance to correct it. :D
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24608
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Wed Oct 27, 2004 3:14 pm

how do you import the license key with copy-from ? license can be imported with
[normis@demo.mt.lv] > system license import file-name=
if from a file or simply by pasting it into telnet session.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Borage
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 10:19 pm

Wed Oct 27, 2004 3:15 pm

Exactly, I upload the key by ftp and then run this command.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: eworm, joshfinlay and 56 guests