Page 1 of 1

[ask] mikrotik support modem....?

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 12:31 pm
by larmaid
does mikrotik support modem internal.....????

Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 9:18 am
by normis
external

Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:13 pm
by rinoel
I have a question about modems, i have cable internet connection, so:
ISP ---- Modem ----- Me, can i use this type of connection to give any client i want the connection I mean creating an AP, and which radios (cards), and antennas do you recommend me, I am planning to transfrom my Intel P4 to a router and then to an AP so i can give the access my friends about 1 or 2 km away from me. thnx im advance, i know its a stupid question however I need your help.

Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:52 pm
by janisk
for that distances if there is no real noise around would be enough with R52 or any other card and if you are good at homeworks - you can even search the internet and find - how to create antenna yourself. for that distacne it would be enough

Posted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 6:15 pm
by larmaid
does any external modem works in mikrotik....????
can mikrotik be a call back server..????

Posted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 12:06 am
by larmaid
help pliss

Posted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 10:25 am
by pedja
Yes, just connect external modem to free serial port (pay atention that by default MT uses the first serial for terminal access). Then add PPP in server in Interfaces and set PPP to allow dial-in access.

Juse set modem users on separate IP range, set simple routing ant that is it, Qute easy setup, in my opinion.

Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 7:59 pm
by larmaid
@pedja
1.that mean mikrotik can be a CALL BACK SERVER right....????
2.can u specified in dummies way pliss..????

thx
for advanced

Posted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 7:42 am
by mneumark
larmaid,

Visit http://www.mikrotik.com/testdocs/ros/2. ... ce/ppp.php

This has examples and explains how to accomplish this.

Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 12:07 pm
by larmaid
thx i'll try first

Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 11:57 am
by larmaid
@mneumark okay, now the real question is how setup the call back...???

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 5:54 am
by larmaid
hwllo...... :(

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 6:32 am
by jwcn
Go read, learn and then come back. Every question you have asked is answered in the documentation. Don't expect people to always spoon feed you.

Do the leg work or pay someone else to configure it for you.

Posted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 6:19 am
by larmaid
:shock: ..... :cry:

Posted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 6:39 am
by jo2jo
he's right..

but know this before you give up or begin your reading:

Mikrotik

CAN dial out via the modem AND can accept dial INs as well.....from there you can do just about anything with those users or connections

Posted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:33 pm
by larmaid
thx jo2jo i'll try