Community discussions

 
User avatar
kolorasta
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Argentina

Best way to Transparently Bridge two Networks

Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:05 pm

I have two RB112 and two R52...

Which is the best way to transparently bridge two networks with that hard?

I've been searching and i found several examples in manual, forum and wiki. which would you recomend?
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Thu Dec 14, 2006 11:21 pm

I do l2lp with compression feature and then Eoip over the top of that.
 
jo2jo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 958
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:25 am

Fri Dec 15, 2006 5:52 am

i have 2 RB 112's with sr2's and using wds to wirelessly bridge switches on either side....works great


netbios traffic passes fine which shows its bridged and not ONLY ip traffic like with out WDS..


u doing this wirelessly i'm assming- right?
:beep :beep :beep
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6616
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Fri Dec 15, 2006 7:54 am

As you have wireless, two options exist how to bridge transparently over wireless network,
WDS and EoIP.
EoIP might create additional overhead, you can try with WDS.
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Fri Dec 15, 2006 1:22 pm

As you have wireless, two options exist how to bridge transparently over wireless network,
WDS and EoIP.
EoIP might create additional overhead, you can try with WDS.
----
yes,
today i am just finish to make link with wds and bridge [ap2ap] one site use RB511+omni 15dbi and other side RB511+19dbi flat antena around 7,6km, signal: -77 - -79 noise-floor: -102 los ofcourse. freq: 2,4ghz
again, before i am not belive about link, Thanks Mikrotik and Team

regards
Hasbullah.com
----
 
phendry
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:42 pm

Fri Dec 15, 2006 2:00 pm

We currently use the EoIP across a routed network method however there seems to be more of an overhead with EoIP so we are contemplating the switch to WDS. Before we do I need to know if the WDS method supports jumbo frames? We vlan trunk between cisco switches (don't ask it is a long story) so I need to know this will still work ok with the added vlan tag overhead.
 
User avatar
kolorasta
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Argentina

Fri Dec 15, 2006 2:32 pm

As you have wireless, two options exist how to bridge transparently over wireless network,
WDS and EoIP.
EoIP might create additional overhead, you can try with WDS.
When you say "you can try with WDS" you are talking (writting) about the example in the wiki? don't you?
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6616
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Fri Dec 15, 2006 2:36 pm

Wiki example is just a point to start (basic configuration to establish transparent bridge), you can use additionaly use Nstreme or/and wireless encryption.
 
phendry
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:42 pm

Fri Dec 15, 2006 3:19 pm

you can use additionaly use Nstreme or/and wireless encryption.
Be careful how you setup WDS with NStreme though as you can't use NStreme and both end points as AP. You would need to set one end as WDS AP and one as WDS Station I believe.
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6616
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Fri Dec 15, 2006 3:21 pm

phendry, yes you are correct about Nstreme and WDS, it should be used on '(AP-)bridge' <---> 'station-wds'.
 
serthan
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 10:49 am

Re: Best way to Transparently Bridge two Networks

Thu Jul 19, 2007 12:40 pm

could you please send export file to this page.

Thanks.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 56 guests