Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
wildbill442
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1050
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 7:29 am
Location: Sacramento, CA

DHCP -> offering lease without success

Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:47 pm

I'm getting multiple messages in my log file where it's failing to assign a lease to almost any new host requesting one.

New hosts just sit int he DHCP lease table with status offered and then eventually drop out. When enabling logging for DHCP it shows the discovery packet, the offer, but never gets an ack from the client...

Any ideas?

RouterOS v2.9.35
 
tambula_dambula
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 9:46 pm
Contact:

Sun Dec 17, 2006 6:21 am

Yes
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3819
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: DHCP -> offering lease without success

Sun Dec 17, 2006 8:44 pm

I'm getting multiple messages in my log file where it's failing to assign a lease to almost any new host requesting one.

New hosts just sit int he DHCP lease table with status offered and then eventually drop out. When enabling logging for DHCP it shows the discovery packet, the offer, but never gets an ack from the client...

Any ideas?

RouterOS v2.9.35
vlans? I saw this with vlans and it was because the MTU had to be 1504 ... not sure why though.
 
jo2jo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 972
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:25 am

Mon Dec 18, 2006 12:03 am

I've been seeing this on:

1) a cisco switch (a 2600 and a 1900) that is set to get its IP address via DHCP...it will show offered and then count down 30 sec and do it again.

2) this problem wifi laptop that kept connecting and disconnecting like 20 seconds later an extensive data loss (even though it had a -63 RSSI)


I've only been with MT during 2.9 and this dhcp thing has been consistant across versions..i'm not saying its a problem with MT, but it is unusual as my other cisco switches have no issue getting an IP via dhcp from my other routers.
:beep :beep :beep
 
User avatar
macsrwe
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 964
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 5:43 am
Location: Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: DHCP -> offering lease without success

Sat Jan 09, 2010 11:35 am

I'm getting multiple messages in my log file where it's failing to assign a lease to almost any new host requesting one.

New hosts just sit int he DHCP lease table with status offered and then eventually drop out. When enabling logging for DHCP it shows the discovery packet, the offer, but never gets an ack from the client...

Any ideas?
Check /ip dhcp-server network to make sure it contains an entry for your current IP range.
 
2fast4youbr
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2013 10:39 pm

Re: DHCP -> offering lease without success

Mon May 06, 2013 6:18 am

Hi All... any lucky on this ?

I have a RB450G and a Linksys SRW224G4 switch.

cheers
 
aymoon22
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 1:26 am

Re: DHCP -> offering lease without success

Fri May 17, 2013 11:59 am

hi all i have rb750gl with v5.25 and pc with v5.24 and both show same problem (dhcp offering lease without success) i find it show up on a pc or laptop with windows 7 and ipv6 enable some pcs work after disable ipv6 sum fix with static ip but any other solution without consumer interference will be more better
 
nothing
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 11:17 am

Re: DHCP -> offering lease without success

Thu Aug 13, 2015 3:24 pm

Setting bootp support to static seems to fix it.
 
codeck
just joined
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 4:16 pm

Re: DHCP -> offering lease without success

Tue Aug 18, 2015 4:00 pm

may be can help.
don't make interfaces as master and slave, just add bridge for some interfaces
 
trace323
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 5:52 pm

Re: DHCP -> offering lease without success

Wed Aug 19, 2015 3:49 am

This could be many reasons why it's doing that.

Vlan.
guest might be disconnect/reconnecting
guest is not able to obtain an IP address to due Vista.

Vista and Mikoritk are known to have issues. I have this issues alot my self.

Do you have a hotspot running?
 
loveman
Member
Member
Posts: 348
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 9:32 pm

Re: DHCP -> offering lease without success

Thu Aug 11, 2016 9:20 am

I have same problem with Ap cisco and mikrotik showing in dhcp server offered

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 51 guests