Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
o_hawchar86
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 8:59 am

multi-link , 3 interface , is it possible !

Mon Dec 18, 2006 9:30 pm

i have 2 internet connections and i have for it 2 routers is it possible to join the both connections in one .
each connection is 256/32 so by joining the 2 i can obtain 512/64 . in a cheaper way .
is it possible for mikrotik to set 3 network interface , and sum the two connection so a user can have the full 512/64
so
first interface : for the first link
second interface : for the second link
3rd link : for local network

i read an article about bonding as i understand the article was for wireless inteface and it's not the case here ! .
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6619
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Tue Dec 19, 2006 8:56 am

Bonding is not designed especially for wireless, you can use it in another media too.
Probably, the following configuration sceanario will be the most suitable for you,
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Load_Balancing_Persistent
 
o_hawchar86
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 8:59 am

Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:52 pm

/ ip firewall nat 
add chain=srcnat connection-mark=odd action=src-nat to-addresses=10.111.0.2 \
    to-ports=0-65535 
add chain=srcnat connection-mark=even action=src-nat to-addresses=10.112.0.2 \
    to-ports=0-65535

as i understood from this example that i can use the same router foro routing many link , i divise my customers into two groups "odd" and "even" the first group go through the first gateway and the second through the second...
but this is not what i want !
if i had the first link 256/32 , and the second link 256/32 the member into "odd" can maximum access 256/32 i want that the member can access 512/64
the question is : can the "odd" be equal of "even" and does this solve the problem thanks for ur patience
 
User avatar
savagedavid
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 310
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 12:58 pm
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Contact:

Wed Dec 20, 2006 7:49 am

The simple answer is: no. You cannot "join" two lines together to get a single higher speed line.
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Wed Dec 20, 2006 8:28 am

The simple answer is: no. You cannot "join" two lines together to get a single higher speed line.
Unless you have control of both ends :-)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bpwl, yonasz and 128 guests