Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
ace4real
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 5:59 am
Location: Louisiana

Automatically reload backup configuration on reset or fail

Wed Dec 20, 2006 10:05 am

Is it possible to reload the backup configuration file automatically in the event of a power failure that results in a configuration reset?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24420
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Wed Dec 20, 2006 10:08 am

there is no power failure that resets the configuration. plus, if you configuration is reset - it will also reset the instruction to reload the file ...

you should think from another point of view - solve your reset problem
 
ace4real
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 5:59 am
Location: Louisiana

Wed Dec 20, 2006 10:30 am

Understood. Any idea as to what may be causing this to happen? Each time the wlan1 interface is disabled and all wireless settings are lost. In most cases, the IP address on the ether1 interface is intact, but not always. This has happened to us five times now. Each time has been on a different AP or bridge.

Assuming the problem continues, is there a setting or add-on that can load a saved configuration from memory on failure?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24420
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Wed Dec 20, 2006 10:59 am

what is your RouterOS version?
what hardware is it running on?
have you upgraded the BIOS of the hardware?
have you checked another wlan card?

also install a surge protector, UPS and install grounding. this should protect you from all power problems
 
ace4real
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 5:59 am
Location: Louisiana

Wed Dec 20, 2006 11:10 am

The version on the latest board in question is 2.9.23
The previous problem APs/bridges have 2.9.19, 2.9.29, and 2.9.23, respectively.

The SBC is a routerboard 532A and the BIOS has not been updated.

We are using a UPS as well as a line conditioner and remote power controller.

Also, we haven't tried a different kind of card. We have only used Ubiquiti SR5 cards thus far.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24420
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Wed Dec 20, 2006 11:12 am

Upgrade to 2.9.38 (there is no reason not to), and then upgrade the firmware to 2.6 (command "/system routerboard upgrade). if the problem persists, make a supout.rif right after this reset, and send to support
 
User avatar
savagedavid
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 310
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 12:58 pm
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Contact:

Wed Dec 20, 2006 12:41 pm

I had a similar problem to this on a WRAP 1E1 where the wireless settings would revert back to default. It turned out to be a corrupt Compact Flash.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: digitexwireless and 140 guests