Community discussions

 
raffav
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 4:40 am

Feature Request: SAFE MODE time based

Tue Dec 12, 2017 7:42 pm

I think that safe mode need to be more like time based than session based
since some times you need to change remotely a config and that maybe will obvious close the session but not necessary it a mistake
so it better to setup a timer
 
AlanTrollip
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 10:42 am

Re: Feature Request: SAFE MODE time based

Thu Dec 14, 2017 7:47 am

Ubiquiti equipment allows you to ‘test’ a change.....
If you mess up, just Wait the 120 seconds!!
Phew!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
thobias
just joined
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:45 pm

Re: Feature Request: SAFE MODE time based

Mon Dec 25, 2017 2:23 pm

Yes,
Make it so that you can queue a bunch of changes and test deploy them for 120s or so.
+1
 
raffav
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 4:40 am

Re: Feature Request: SAFE MODE time based

Fri Dec 29, 2017 4:06 am

I hope mikrotik team need to think about this functionality

Enviado de meu XT1580 usando Tapatalk

 
User avatar
Joni
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 2:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Request: SAFE MODE time based

Fri Dec 29, 2017 2:18 pm

Obvious requirement for a multitude of remote changes +1
 
iratirul
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2017 7:20 pm

Re: Feature Request: SAFE MODE time based

Mon Dec 17, 2018 8:15 pm

been requested since 2017?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24268
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Feature Request: SAFE MODE time based

Tue Dec 18, 2018 12:42 pm

I don't understand this request. Safe mode already allows multiple changes. It will not do anything, unless your config causes disconnect. So commit your 10 changes and wait for 120 seconds before exiting safe mode. It's the same as you ask now, except that the time is shown on screen?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3183
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: Feature Request: SAFE MODE time based

Tue Dec 18, 2018 1:51 pm

A slight difference between what's achievable now and what people ask for is that certain changes will cause disconnect which is expected. Example: change of bridge MAC address while administrator is using MAC-telnet or MAC-winbox to connect. Current implementation will revert the changes made in safe mode while administrator would want to keep the change if he is able to connect using new MAC address within 120 seconds.

I understand that there are workarounds to keep safe mode working and still making changes, but there are different cases each requiring different workaround and it's not simple to plan to use appropriate workaround in advance.
BR,
Metod
 
raffav
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 4:40 am

Re: Feature Request: SAFE MODE time based

Tue Dec 18, 2018 1:53 pm

That is the point..
If you are remotely and make some changes, like move interface into a bridge or something similar, sometime you get disconnected and the safe mode is triggered..
Why just put a timer setting like

Set 5 min make some changes if you made a mistake and get locked in 5 safe mode is trigger and everything is back as before the changes.
I don't understand this request. Safe mode already allows multiple changes. It will not do anything, unless your config causes disconnect. So commit your 10 changes and wait for 120 seconds before exiting safe mode. It's the same as you ask now, except that the time is shown on screen?
Sent from my XT1580 using Tapatalk

 
raffav
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 4:40 am

Re: Feature Request: SAFE MODE time based

Tue Dec 18, 2018 2:00 pm

Another good example
Why safe mode need to re think
Also
Safe mode sometimes troll you:
You are directly connected making simple changes.
When you go terminal to exit safe mode it tell y that was overwrite by another one and exit sometimes it revert sometime it keeps the changes..
A slight difference between what's achievable now and what people ask for is that certain changes will cause disconnect which is expected. Example: change of bridge MAC address while administrator is using MAC-telnet or MAC-winbox to connect. Current implementation will revert the changes made in safe mode while administrator would want to keep the change if he is able to connect using new MAC address within 120 seconds.

I understand that there are workarounds to keep safe mode working and still making changes, but there are different cases each requiring different workaround and it's not simple to plan to use appropriate workaround in advance.
Sent from my XT1580 using Tapatalk

 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24268
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Feature Request: SAFE MODE time based

Tue Dec 18, 2018 2:30 pm

If you lose connection, how do you expect safe mode to remain activated?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
raffav
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 4:40 am

Re: Feature Request: SAFE MODE time based

Tue Dec 18, 2018 3:43 pm

If you lose connection, how do you expect safe mode to remain activated?
Normis,

A simple flap on a interface (wan) cause safe mode to trigger...
So not always a brief loss of connection means that safe mode need to be triggered

Sent from my XT1580 using Tapatalk

 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3183
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: Feature Request: SAFE MODE time based

Tue Dec 18, 2018 3:52 pm

If you lose connection, how do you expect safe mode to remain activated?
.
Maybe if after the user, which started safe mode, gets disconnected ... and subsequently connects again before timer expires, the session would actually resume with safe mode activated and all? Possibly the timer would reset to initial value again not to trigger safe mode due to too little time remaining for administrator to manually exit safe mode?
BR,
Metod
 
raffav
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 4:40 am

Re: Feature Request: SAFE MODE time based

Tue Dec 18, 2018 7:37 pm

If you lose connection, how do you expect safe mode to remain activated?
.
Maybe if after the user, which started safe mode, gets disconnected ... and subsequently connects again before timer expires, the session would actually resume with safe mode activated and all? Possibly the timer would reset to initial value again not to trigger safe mode due to too little time remaining for administrator to manually exit safe mode?
good point
also since when safe mode have a timer ?
 
rzirzi
Member
Member
Posts: 378
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 2:33 pm

Re: Feature Request: SAFE MODE time based

Wed Dec 19, 2018 2:31 am

If you lose connection, how do you expect safe mode to remain activated?
Normis,
A simple flap on a interface (wan) cause safe mode to trigger...
So not always a brief loss of connection means that safe mode need to be triggered
YES, YES, YES "raffav" have a 100% right !
UBNT have a good solution with their 120 seconds delay.. why MT can't have it ?
MikroTik team - please introduce the same at RouterOS. Tahnks.
 
joegoldman
Member
Member
Posts: 498
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 2:05 am

Re: Feature Request: SAFE MODE time based

Wed Dec 19, 2018 3:49 am

If you lose connection, how do you expect safe mode to remain activated?
Although I agree with you and plan my changes with a 'dual-stack' mentality to bring things into line - I do get the point the others are trying to make. Sometimes the changes you need to make affect your connectivity to the device, you want to make those changes but if the changes dont work you are locked out - perfect for safe mode. Problem being that you make those changes with safe mode on, your session disconnects as expected, then the config reverts to old so you either cant apply new config - or have to apply new config and hope that it works without a safeguard.

Being able to set a safe mode / commit timer means you can turn on- make the change - lose your connection - re-connect and confirm all-ok to stop the revert.

It could certainly be handy in some situations for remote devices.
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3183
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: Feature Request: SAFE MODE time based

Wed Dec 19, 2018 9:02 am

also since when safe mode have a timer ?
It doesn't have it now. We're trying to convince Normis that it's a good idea to introduce one. :wink:
BR,
Metod

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 89 guests