Sent from my XT1580 using TapatalkI don't understand this request. Safe mode already allows multiple changes. It will not do anything, unless your config causes disconnect. So commit your 10 changes and wait for 120 seconds before exiting safe mode. It's the same as you ask now, except that the time is shown on screen?
Sent from my XT1580 using TapatalkA slight difference between what's achievable now and what people ask for is that certain changes will cause disconnect which is expected. Example: change of bridge MAC address while administrator is using MAC-telnet or MAC-winbox to connect. Current implementation will revert the changes made in safe mode while administrator would want to keep the change if he is able to connect using new MAC address within 120 seconds.
I understand that there are workarounds to keep safe mode working and still making changes, but there are different cases each requiring different workaround and it's not simple to plan to use appropriate workaround in advance.
Normis,If you lose connection, how do you expect safe mode to remain activated?
.If you lose connection, how do you expect safe mode to remain activated?
good point.If you lose connection, how do you expect safe mode to remain activated?
Maybe if after the user, which started safe mode, gets disconnected ... and subsequently connects again before timer expires, the session would actually resume with safe mode activated and all? Possibly the timer would reset to initial value again not to trigger safe mode due to too little time remaining for administrator to manually exit safe mode?
YES, YES, YES "raffav" have a 100% right !Normis,If you lose connection, how do you expect safe mode to remain activated?
A simple flap on a interface (wan) cause safe mode to trigger...
So not always a brief loss of connection means that safe mode need to be triggered
Although I agree with you and plan my changes with a 'dual-stack' mentality to bring things into line - I do get the point the others are trying to make. Sometimes the changes you need to make affect your connectivity to the device, you want to make those changes but if the changes dont work you are locked out - perfect for safe mode. Problem being that you make those changes with safe mode on, your session disconnects as expected, then the config reverts to old so you either cant apply new config - or have to apply new config and hope that it works without a safeguard.If you lose connection, how do you expect safe mode to remain activated?