Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Freman
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 8:49 am

Changing Interface MAC Address

Mon Nov 01, 2004 12:48 am

Ok, I'm just about through all the testing and R&D I need from this before I go to the boss and tell him to buy 30 licences (the 24 hour trial period is good for testing - this made mikrotk a preferable option - Thank you!)

Is it possible to change the interface mac address?

It's the only thing that would stop us from installing a mikrotik ap.

Basicly, we have existing (dumb) APs in the field with customers and we can't just swap them out with a mikrotik ap without the mac address being the same or we'll have to go to every customer connected to the existing ap and re-survey.

So, yes... Can we change the mac? How?
 
mip
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 8:19 pm
Location: Ráckeve
Contact:

Mon Nov 01, 2004 12:34 pm

bad news: no. Don't know if the 2.9 vill able you to do that, but 2.7&2.8 does not. Maybe an e-mail to your customer will help, than you write down, what should the do. After that you use rthe old ap just as ap and connect ot a wired interface of each new mt obx and bridge them to new wireless ap mode interface. You can monitor if every user step u pto your new ap, and thoose who still connected to the old equipment you can notify again.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j7q0Y_JZMrg - the country you must visit
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24605
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Mon Nov 01, 2004 1:24 pm

in 2.9 mac address changing works for most wireless interfaces
No answer to your question? How to write posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: llag, Moomoo71, sindy and 89 guests