Page 1 of 1

Changing Interface MAC Address

Posted: Mon Nov 01, 2004 12:48 am
by Freman
Ok, I'm just about through all the testing and R&D I need from this before I go to the boss and tell him to buy 30 licences (the 24 hour trial period is good for testing - this made mikrotk a preferable option - Thank you!)

Is it possible to change the interface mac address?

It's the only thing that would stop us from installing a mikrotik ap.

Basicly, we have existing (dumb) APs in the field with customers and we can't just swap them out with a mikrotik ap without the mac address being the same or we'll have to go to every customer connected to the existing ap and re-survey.

So, yes... Can we change the mac? How?

Posted: Mon Nov 01, 2004 12:34 pm
by mip
bad news: no. Don't know if the 2.9 vill able you to do that, but 2.7&2.8 does not. Maybe an e-mail to your customer will help, than you write down, what should the do. After that you use rthe old ap just as ap and connect ot a wired interface of each new mt obx and bridge them to new wireless ap mode interface. You can monitor if every user step u pto your new ap, and thoose who still connected to the old equipment you can notify again.

Posted: Mon Nov 01, 2004 1:24 pm
by normis
in 2.9 mac address changing works for most wireless interfaces