Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
eldiablo
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:59 am

MIKROTIK AND TV

Thu Dec 28, 2006 11:40 pm

I have problem witch Mikrotik in outside box in about 3 m from MT is TV antena and when i put power on to MT one channel (36) is snowing on TV. Other channels are OK. When i get power off from MT everythig is OK.


The mikoritk is grounded. The same is when i dissconet anneta from MT and get out Wireeles Cards.
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Fri Dec 29, 2006 5:11 am

I seen this too

Someone told me it was the cat5.

For a test can you not use POE but use header to see if it still snows?

If it fix it maybe STP will help?
 
User avatar
bjohns
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 4:11 am
Location: Sippy Downs, Australia
Contact:

Fri Dec 29, 2006 7:20 am

If it is the Cat5, stick a ferrite choke around it, close where it meets the unit outside.
 
KimC
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 3:16 pm
Location: Denmark

Fri Dec 29, 2006 9:39 am

It is a well known problem, and it seems to be connected to certain batches of RB. We have seen it on both 532 and its variants, but never on RB220/230. We do not have experience with the 100-series.

We have tried to work around it with shielded cables, perfect grounding, different PSU's with and without ferrite, different radios (type and make) and I don't know what...

The only fix we know of, is to find a different RB, purchased at a different time - and then put the noisy one up on a spot where noise doesn't matter.
 
wildbill442
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1050
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 7:29 am
Location: Sacramento, CA

Sat Dec 30, 2006 4:12 am

I have a similar problem with an AM radio and a mikrotik 112 board w/ SR9 card.

Another seperate instance with a Tranzeo 2.4GHz CPE (TR-CPQ-19f) and snowy picture on VHF channel 3.

Another seperate instance with a Tranzeo 2.4GHz CPE (TR-CPQ-19f) and setting off an emergency pager at random.

I'll give the ferrite choke a shot and see if it fixes any of the above problems.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], cktharu, Egert143, Google [Bot], K0IBM, LinusN, neck, rbuserdl, stensen and 150 guests