Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

http://www.mikrotik.com/docs/ros/2.9/guide/accounting

Fri Dec 29, 2006 11:19 am

Hello

I want to replace my method of tracking useage as am thinking of using this.
http://www.mikrotik.com/docs/ros/2.9/guide/accounting

However..
"threshold (integer; default: 256) - maximum number of IP pairs in the accounting table (maximal value is 8192)"

8193 is no way enough for pairs to remember
I increased this (even tho is says it the max) and it still works

What "really" is the max?

Is this method accurate?

Thanks :)
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6619
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Fri Dec 29, 2006 12:04 pm

Probably, you have to look for more advanced trafffic-monitoring tool traffic-flow,
http://www.mikrotik.com/testdocs/ros/2. ... c-flow.php
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Fri Dec 29, 2006 12:09 pm

More learning :-)

Thanks :-)
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Fri Dec 29, 2006 12:16 pm

Hello

Does anyone know where to get a traffic-flow server?

Preferably on that stores in Mysql?

I will google now and report back if I find one.
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6619
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Fri Dec 29, 2006 12:19 pm

You have to run program, that collects and maintain traffic-flow accounting information (even on your PC).
My OS provide 'ntop' application from the sources, that is not so complicated in the installation and configration.
You can search in google for similar programs.
 
Freman
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 8:49 am

Thu Jan 11, 2007 6:24 am

Traffic-flow is no good for me, it doesn't give me the names of the interfaces/usernames of the people connected.

However, I have managed to make threshold 99999 and it does seem to count 99998 in tests (I've never seen it use the other one).

I collect my ip accounting data every 5 minutes, store it in a mysql table per router for 30 minutes then aggogate similar connections (IE: sum(same src -> dest)) into a daily table.

If I could have something like Traffic-Flow that gave me usernames/interface names like ip accounting does - I'd be very, very happy.

http://i.work.at.wbs.net.au/thebeast.png <- shows the kind of work flow built.

I've written a fully threaded perl daemon that runs through and collects the data 24/7
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Thu Jan 11, 2007 7:14 am

Thats awesome, I'll do that, teh netflow is way to much data to store.

Can we have the manual updated?

Can you post your script or is it private?

Looks pretty good

What hareware is your router? I've noticed an rb500 will go to 100% for about 10 seconds or longer if I leave it for a few min's

Not sure it affects flow tho.

I have a linus box as a core router, I want to replace it with ros, its just my linux box does the accounting (ipac-ng)

Thanks
 
Freman
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 8:49 am

Thu Jan 11, 2007 8:20 am

We use pc-engines wrap boards for our AC's, there's between 10 and 200 clients per AC.

Unfortunatly sharing of the script is out... They won't even let me share photos of our data center, and really all it is is a bunch of black boxes in racks

I can point you here
http://search.cpan.org/author/GAAS/libw ... lib/LWP.pm
and here
http://search.cpan.org/~elizabeth/Threa ... ad/Pool.pm

That'll provide multi-threaded fetcher...

The rest of it is mere date calculations, the picture I posted should help with that (c:
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Thu Jan 11, 2007 10:27 am

No Problems, thanks heaps for the idea's!
 
User avatar
bjohns
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 4:11 am
Location: Sippy Downs, Australia
Contact:

Thu Jan 11, 2007 1:55 pm

We just devised a php script that grabs the list of gateways from the radius NAS/client table in mysql and gets the output from the cgi and records the values into another table. Main reason was to gather 'free' traffic and credit it back to the user accounts.

I'll see about posting it here once we're finished the project.
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Thu Jan 11, 2007 11:31 pm

Thanks

That would be great :-)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], gutekpl, Hammy, MSN [Bot], ThreeCO and 114 guests