Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Arcee
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 267
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 2:33 pm

DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Mon Jan 29, 2018 1:38 pm

So I went from never seeing this error to seeing it a few times a day.

06:21:18 dhcp,warning DeviceName offering lease 10.1.3.4 for xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:x without success

Model: RouterBOARD 3011UiAS
ROS Version: 6.40
Firmware Version: 3.35

Running a WISP. Seeing this with multiple devices not just the one listed above. Even CPEs are doing this.

Problems seems to have just started a month or two ago.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6506
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Mon Jan 29, 2018 2:17 pm

This is a "wellknown" problem.
You have masked the actual MAC address, show us the first 3 bytes!
When you look that up in one of the published assigned MAC address ranges, you will likely see it is an Apple device.
There appears to be incompatibility between Apple devices and RouterOS DHCP servers.
Of course it is unclear if it is a bug in Apple OS or RouterOS.
 
Arcee
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 267
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 2:33 pm

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Mon Jan 29, 2018 3:24 pm

This is a "wellknown" problem.
You have masked the actual MAC address, show us the first 3 bytes!
When you look that up in one of the published assigned MAC address ranges, you will likely see it is an Apple device.
There appears to be incompatibility between Apple devices and RouterOS DHCP servers.
Of course it is unclear if it is a bug in Apple OS or RouterOS.
Masked MAC address belongs to a mikrotik CPE (SXT 5 lite).

I have heard many interpretations of this issue... No one seems to know the real answer...

Mikrotik devs: please help!

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk


 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6506
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Mon Jan 29, 2018 4:00 pm

There are 2 known reasons why this can happen:
1. the connection is lost during the DHCP request exchange
2. there is some misunderstanding between the requestor and the DHCP server, this usually involves an Apple device.

So in your case it is the first: your client loses the connection frequently and it happens during the DHCP
 
Arcee
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 267
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 2:33 pm

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Mon Jan 29, 2018 8:13 pm

I guess I will monitor more closely and get some WireShark captures.

What I find most odd about this is the fact that I never saw this at all until a month or two ago. Now, I see it multiple times a day and it's all with communication between my Mikrotik AP and Mikrotik CPE.
 
danav38
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 7:14 am

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Wed Oct 17, 2018 2:26 pm

i just found this log today....
my configuration was an groove a52h , set as client receiver(wifi) and router ( device 1 ) , activated the dhcp for ether1 interface and go to swith with some ap for local wifi hotspot( device 2 ),, as my concern,, seem the trouble log came out cause by change paswword on my local wifi ap hotspot ( devices 2), so the user (with handphone or notebook ) cant conected to wifi ap hotspot and being rejected by router,,
 
Bivvy
newbie
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2017 1:36 am

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:56 am

I guess I will monitor more closely and get some WireShark captures.

What I find most odd about this is the fact that I never saw this at all until a month or two ago. Now, I see it multiple times a day and it's all with communication between my Mikrotik AP and Mikrotik CPE.
Hi Arcee
Did you ever sort this out?
I have a Mikrotik HAP AC Lite which has I want to use as a wireless repeater (eventually as part of a mesh network with WDS)
It's connected to my router (MT HAP AC) with a good wireless signal (-65dB) but won't pick up an IP address.
Error message on router is "dhcp warning, defconf offering lease 192.168.1.2 for 6C:3B:6B:41:E9:15 without success"
On the AC Lite I've created a bridge and assigned the management interface with the MAC address of the WLAN2 interface.
Thanks
 
Redmor
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 251
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Sat Dec 01, 2018 4:10 pm

This happens to my costumers when they connect other routers with default configuration and a second DHCP server is active for LAN.
Make sure that there aren't other routers connected via WAN interface and with DHCP server disabled.
For example, TP-Link repeaters have DHCP server "auto", when your DHCP server goes down, TP-Link enable its own server, clients get IP from it and with 3 days timeout.
Solution: destroy repeater or change TTL to 1 so they won't use them
ImageImage
 
User avatar
FErArg
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 8:56 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Thu Dec 27, 2018 5:35 pm

Hi we got 3 different network managed by Mikrotik Routers:
  • Network 1: Mikrotik Router RB2011 1L
  • Network 2: Mikrotik Router CCR-1016
  • Network 3: Mikrotik Router RB750Gr-3
In all of them we got problems with DHCP server and Leased IP, we assign an IP to a device (MAC address), most Linux PC obtain the correct IP, but most Unifi AP, Windows 10, Apple Mac, iPhone, iPads, Android Phones and Tablets do not obtain the designed leased IP, and DHCP server assigns a new one.

All devices are configured to obtain IP dinamically.

We test different RouterOS version, some user says that version 6.37.4 do not have this bug, we tested that version in all devices, and got the same results that I describe in previous paragraph.

We are seriously thinking to replace Mikrotik Routers.
-=< FErArg >=-
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6506
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Fri Dec 28, 2018 4:00 pm

When you want to assign a fixed IP to a device, do not create the entry manually, but first let the device request an IP dynamically,
then open that entry and click "make static" and when you wish you can edit the IP address to the correct value.
This makes sure the MAC and the Client ID are correct in your entry.
When it is done this way, it will work correctly.
 
MaxPavlov
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2019 7:15 pm

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Sun Jan 20, 2019 3:11 pm

Good day

I have just experienced this issue with iPad 2017 as a client in the following topology:

hEX S (CAPsMAN + DHCP + L3 VLAN swithcing) <-> hEX PoE (L2 VLAN swithcing + PoE) <-> wAP ac (CAP local forwarding + several VLANs)

Everything was fine at first time, I played with wireless fine tuning, iPad connected with no problems at 5ghz 5180 20mhz Ceee (rate 866Mbit 2S SGI, managed to get 290-320 Mbit real throughput with CAPsMAN local frowarding)

"Offering lease without success" messages appeared after changing from v.6.43.8 (stable) to v6.42.11 (long term).

"Gray beard" guys advise to use long term, so I tried. Changed firmware on all 3 devices simultaneously, configuration was exactly the same

Moving back to v.6.43.8 (stable) on all 3 devices - problem dissapeared. Issue is repeatable. More interesting is that for iPad to work it is sufficient to keep wAP ac at v.6.43.8 (stable) and hEX S at v6.42.11 (long term)

Did not dig deep into the problem, have to give back equipment to customer. Wild guess: maybe is has something to do with L2 default settings difference, or in bridge VLAN filtering logic difference in stable and long term release
 
WeWiNet
Member
Member
Posts: 313
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 4:11 pm

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Wed Jan 30, 2019 2:05 pm

Have same problem, my wife came home with iPads from school to upgrade them today.
1 connects , 5 others not! (iOS 11 all). And according to here it should work :-)

Then to check if "apple issue", i also tried with my android phone to connect to this Wifi network, but it does neither
get an IP address.

I tried to log debug, DHCP, IP, all filters that drop traffic, but nothing (packets, drops) shows up anywhere... even when torching.

Only thing is, in torch I see some IPV6 stuff from time to time but I am not knowledgeable about IPV6.
(IPV6 is not enabled on the router).
WeWiNet

**
MTCNA
hapac2, map, hap-lite, ltap-mini, RB4011 (good!), Audience (better) :-) !!!
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6506
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Wed Jan 30, 2019 2:19 pm

Such postings are not very useful, except maybe to relieve you from some stress or frustration.
We all know that there are sometimes issues, but without detailed debugging there is nothing that can be done.
 
User avatar
BartoszP
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1807
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Poland

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Mon Feb 11, 2019 4:31 pm

For me the problem is with static addresses and seems to be connected with this option which sends offer even if there is no demand for it.
Converting dynamic address to static makes this option somehow "checked" even DHCP server has it "unchecked" so if you forgot to uncheck then static reservation broadcasts it.

Testing on RB2011 with 6.42.11
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Real admins use real keyboards.
 
User avatar
pcunite
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 5:13 am
Location: USA

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Mon Feb 11, 2019 5:22 pm

This option somehow "checked" even DHCP server has it "unchecked" so if you forgot to uncheck then static reservation broadcasts it.

I'm having this issue with one device in my network. Are you suggesting to check or uncheck it?
 
User avatar
BartoszP
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1807
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Poland

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Mon Feb 11, 2019 5:34 pm

Uncheck ...
"Always send replies as broadcasts even if destination IP is known. Will add additional load on L2 network."
DHCP broadcast an offer even if device is just deassigned.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Real admins use real keyboards.
 
User avatar
BartoszP
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1807
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Poland

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Fri Feb 15, 2019 12:59 pm

Does not help ... no change .. still receiving warnings
Real admins use real keyboards.
 
User avatar
pcunite
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 5:13 am
Location: USA

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Fri Feb 15, 2019 3:02 pm

Does not help ... no change .. still receiving warnings

Same for me, issue still remains.
 
User avatar
BartoszP
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1807
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Poland

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Fri Feb 15, 2019 3:44 pm

Suspecting that DHCP server mostly warns

A. when device try to renew address when lease is still valid and full DHCP REQUEST-ACK-CONFIRM process is not done
or
B. ROS sees that device is "vanishing" ... I see it in logs when CAPSMAN moves device from one AP or interface to another.
Real admins use real keyboards.
 
fyfyl
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2019 4:46 pm

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Wed Mar 06, 2019 5:00 pm

The problem persists. Only 2 computers among 15 are causing the log entry: ... DHCP offering lease without success. Both wire connected. Not Apple. There are other PCs on the net, wireless and wired, no problem with them. Operating system is Windows 7 x64 at almost all of them.

What interesting, the computers receive their IPs but they are not registered with DHCP server. Therefore if the IP is on some list or FW rule etc. - it's not taken into account. Pity that Mikrotik pays no attention to the obvious bug. Looks like version 6.37.5 is the last bug free.

Device: MikroTik RB951G-2HnD
OS version: 6.43.12
 
nescafe2002
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 654
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 12:46 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Wed Mar 06, 2019 7:31 pm

Have you tried disabling STP on bridge? And did you report this issue to support?
 
fyfyl
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2019 4:46 pm

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Thu Mar 07, 2019 12:02 pm

Have you tried disabling STP on bridge? And did you report this issue to support?
STP is OFF

No, I didn't report it. Googling it I found that there is a surge of complaints since summer 2018, but no answer. I believe it is already reported; besides the issue emerges by itself with the recent upgrades.
 
solar77
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 514
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 11:42 am
Location: Scotland

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Fri Mar 22, 2019 10:50 am

having this issue as well. first thought it was caused by my Unifi APs but now it seems to be pointing towards Mikrotik. It is now affecting non Apple devices (so far 2 x windows 10 laptops, one of which is ASUS).
I am running CCR1009, ROS 6.43

any one has a fix yet?
MTCNA MTCTCE UEWA
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6506
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Fri Mar 22, 2019 11:54 am

Having this "issue" is normal in a wireless network, probably it stands out on MikroTik only because it is logged by default.
What is important is: are your systems, when they have a stable wireless connection, getting their IP address allocated.
 
solar77
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 514
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 11:42 am
Location: Scotland

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Fri Mar 22, 2019 11:56 am

@ pe1chl
thanks for reply. I am looking into it a bit more:

more often than not, before an "offering lease without success" error, Mikrotik repeately deassign and assigne DHCP over and over
this happens to a range of devices. I did consider an wireless connection issue but my question is: this network has never had similar issue before and a bad connection would just drop traffic why the router would decide to deassigne the DHCP it just renewed?

03:51:09 dhcp,info dhcp1 deassigned 172.16.8.62 from A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
03:51:09 dhcp,info dhcp1 assigned 172.16.8.62 to A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
03:51:12 dhcp,info dhcp1 deassigned 172.16.8.62 from A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
03:51:12 dhcp,info dhcp1 assigned 172.16.8.62 to A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
03:51:14 dhcp,info dhcp1 deassigned 172.16.8.62 from A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
03:51:14 dhcp,info dhcp1 assigned 172.16.8.62 to A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
03:51:16 dhcp,info dhcp1 deassigned 172.16.8.62 from A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
03:51:16 dhcp,info dhcp1 assigned 172.16.8.62 to A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
03:51:18 dhcp,info dhcp1 deassigned 172.16.8.62 from A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
03:51:18 dhcp,info dhcp1 assigned 172.16.8.62 to A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
03:51:19 dhcp,info dhcp1 deassigned 172.16.8.62 from A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
03:51:20 dhcp,info dhcp1 assigned 172.16.8.62 to A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
03:52:06 dhcp,info dhcp1 deassigned 172.16.8.62 from A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
03:52:06 dhcp,info dhcp1 assigned 172.16.8.62 to A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
03:52:09 dhcp,info dhcp1 deassigned 172.16.8.62 from A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
03:52:09 dhcp,info dhcp1 assigned 172.16.8.62 to A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
03:52:11 dhcp,info dhcp1 deassigned 172.16.8.62 from A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
03:52:11 dhcp,info dhcp1 assigned 172.16.8.62 to A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
03:55:53 dhcp,info dhcp1 deassigned 172.16.8.8 from 58:2F:40:D0:7C:FF 
03:55:53 dhcp,info dhcp1 assigned 172.16.8.8 to 58:2F:40:D0:7C:FF 
04:34:13 dhcp,info dhcp1 deassigned 172.16.8.62 from A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
04:34:13 dhcp,info dhcp1 assigned 172.16.8.62 to A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
04:34:15 dhcp,info dhcp1 deassigned 172.16.8.62 from A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
04:34:16 dhcp,info dhcp1 assigned 172.16.8.62 to A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
04:34:17 dhcp,info dhcp1 deassigned 172.16.8.62 from A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
04:34:18 dhcp,info dhcp1 assigned 172.16.8.62 to A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
04:34:19 dhcp,info dhcp1 deassigned 172.16.8.62 from A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
04:34:19 dhcp,info dhcp1 assigned 172.16.8.62 to A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
04:34:21 dhcp,info dhcp1 deassigned 172.16.8.62 from A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
04:34:21 dhcp,info dhcp1 assigned 172.16.8.62 to A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
04:34:23 dhcp,info dhcp1 deassigned 172.16.8.62 from A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
04:34:23 dhcp,info dhcp1 assigned 172.16.8.62 to A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
04:34:25 dhcp,info dhcp1 deassigned 172.16.8.62 from A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX 
04:34:56 dhcp,warning dhcp1 offering lease 172.16.8.62 for A4:38:CC:XX:XX:XX without success
edit: I have already set admin-mac to the bridge where the DHCP is on
the bridge has RSTP on but I have just turned it off. will report back if this helps
MTCNA MTCTCE UEWA
 
solar77
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 514
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 11:42 am
Location: Scotland

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Fri Mar 22, 2019 1:55 pm

I have followed up another device on this network having similar issue. It is also a Nintendo device. Here is my thought:
I have hotspot running so it can connect to wiFi (both devices has -60dBm signal level and low channel utilisation ) but they cannot authenticate on the hotspot portal.
/ip hotspot profile
set [ find default=yes ] login-by=cookie,http-chap,https name=" "
add hotspot-address=172.16.0.1 login-by=cookie,http-chap,https,http-pap name=hsprof1
/ip hotspot
add disabled=no idle-timeout=10m interface=bridge_local name=hotspot1 profile=hsprof1

My guess is that even these device is connected to WiFi, got DHCP, but it never get authenticated by the hotspot server.
then after 10m Mikrotik will deassign it's DHCP lease. However, this does not explain the xxx timers of deassign / assign process immediately afterwards. Why do the router repeate this so many timese in the space of few minutes?

I have now changed idle-timeout to 1 hour and kept login-timeout disabled .

PS: disable RSTP has not made any improvement.
MTCNA MTCTCE UEWA
 
encorer
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2019 10:15 pm

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Sat Mar 23, 2019 10:51 pm

same here, and this problem occurs spontaneously on different mikrotik's, v:6.44.1
Mar/18/2019 18:04:56 dhcp,warning dhcp1 offering lease 192.168.50.5 for 60:6D:C7:E5:C9:8B without success
Mar/18/2019 18:05:17 dhcp,warning dhcp1 offering lease 192.168.50.5 for 60:6D:C7:E5:C9:8B without success
Mar/18/2019 18:05:46 dhcp,warning dhcp1 offering lease 192.168.50.12 for 74:C6:3B:51:4C:33 without success
 
m94646602
newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 5:38 pm

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Sun Apr 21, 2019 8:44 pm

version 6.44.2
After I change the local forwarding to CAPsMAN forwarding, The problem are solved.
But the CAPsMAN forwarding throughput is very poor. :(
 
anuser
Member
Member
Posts: 435
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 7:27 pm

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Sun May 19, 2019 10:06 am

I'm not happy with this situation. I have CAPSMAN based forwarding running on a CCR with RouterOS 6.44.3, all cAP access points are running Version 6.44.3 aswell. For weeks I see a lot of users complaining about not getting IPv4 addresses. Today I took one user with two clients (iPhone, MacBook Pro 2). Both clients tried to connect to a wAP ac with RouterOS 6.44.3. Rebooting both clients didn´t help at all. I finally downgraded the wAP ac to RouterOS 6.43.16. (The CAPSMAN controller stayed on version 6.44.3) Both clients immediately connected to the wAP ac.The DHCP server itself is running on the CCR.

I once read that RouterOS have to be the same on the CAPSMAN controller and the cAP devices. My assumption is that with the current situation (6.44.3+6.43.16) CAPSMAN controller (6.44.3) is not able to change the wAP's (6.43.16) configuration such that for now the DHCP problems are gone. I do Not have any proof for this. Currently I'm downgrading all access points to 6.43.16. I will see If I have less DHCP errors.
 
beyeriii
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 2:09 am

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Fri May 24, 2019 4:48 am

This issue occurs with following configuration:
Router: RB951G-2HnD running RouterOS 6.44.3 configured as Home AP
Bridge: Linksys WET610N
when WET610N Ethernet is directly connected to a device (e.g. Desktop) having a MAC.

The issue goes away when the WET610N Ethernet is unplugged or when connected to an unmanaged switch.

Suspect the WET610N is trying to clone the desktop's MAC address
 
m94646602
newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 5:38 pm

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Fri May 24, 2019 9:36 am

I hope MT can face this problem squarely.

After I use (Bridge->reply-only & DHCP Server->Add ARP for Leases), the situation has been improved, But the problem still appears randomly(has been reduced a lot).

My Network : (version 6.43.16 or 6.44.3)

internet------ether1---hEX(CAPsMAN+DHCP Server)---bridge(ether4+5)---(DHCP Snooping Enable+Not Trusted+CAPsMAN Forward)---wap ac
 
anuser
Member
Member
Posts: 435
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 7:27 pm

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Wed Jul 03, 2019 10:16 pm

Any news? Has the situation improved for you?
 
jeandconte
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 6:52 pm

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Sun Sep 29, 2019 10:15 pm

I think I got the same issue. Any solution?
 
User avatar
krafg
Member
Member
Posts: 360
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 7:36 pm

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Mon Sep 30, 2019 3:13 am

Using switches from D-Link and LevelOne causes me this issue. I changed all for Cisco Small Business and works perfect the DHCP.

Regards.
If you want to know my network, you can find it here.

Image
 
MartinFB
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 3:56 am

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Wed Oct 02, 2019 4:25 am

I had this issue and found the following:
- I found a few devices with both a wired and wireless connection active.
- There was also a Layer7 entry which was filtering (forward-drop) Facebook from this office network.
One of the PCs I tested this Facebook block had both connections active.
The router (CRS328) was brought to it's knees! It actually seemed to power-cycle itself, like a faux reboot.

I disabled the firewall rule, and fixed those PCs.
I do have, and prefer to leave enabled, RSTP on the bridge.
Issues persisted until I did a reboot from WinBox.

So far, so good.
All devices, including an iPhone and some DLink webcams, are happy now.

My logs during the issue showed lots of memory issues.
I suspect there is an issue in RouterOS that needs to address DHCP memory purging.
It seems like garbage is collecting in the memory, and jamming up router operation, and unpredictable things,
like faux reboots and failed DHCP, are happening.

I am pretty sure the Facebook filter rule, that I stuck up high on the filter list, is CPU-intensive.
I may re-enable it and see if it overwhelms the router again.
I'll post results at a later time...

Hope this helps!
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6506
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Wed Oct 02, 2019 1:48 pm

The Facebook filter rule probably doesn't even work correctly! (and it blocks unrelated sites for others)

But hey, people keep trying it...
 
nschrock
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 5:56 pm

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Thu Dec 05, 2019 5:44 pm

I had this same exact issue,
It was resolved quickly by going to Interfaces---->Hotspot Interface----> change ARP to reply-only.
Fixed the issue. All clients are now getting DHCP leases.
 
mattsaved
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2019 8:37 pm

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Wed Dec 11, 2019 9:34 pm

The issue is not client mac/manufacture related. I am running 6.45.5. I was experiencing this error with one netgear router client. 50 other clients some with the same model router were working normally. Forcing the client to retry just gave the same "DHCP Offering Lease Without Success" error log entry. The issue disappeared when I changed the dhcp source ip which should not have made any difference. I believe what really fixed this was making a change that restarted the dhcp process on the microtik. I think there is some kind of memory/data corruption bug.
 
User avatar
inteq
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 8:15 pm
Location: Romania

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Tue Jan 14, 2020 12:53 am

I have this problem with lots of Mikrotik APs like RouterBOARD wAP G-5HacT2HnD and DHCP on routers like RB1100AHx4 and RB4011
AP without bridge gets an IP instantly on ether1.
As soon as a bridge is created, no soup. The DHCP server is stuck on Offered
To fix it I need to set STP Protocol Mode to None on the AP bridge. Instant IP.
Fun fact: some APs work, some don't (same model even). Same cable, same switch in between, same basic settings, all devices in between and ends Mikrotik.
Can't get more basic than NO default config, two wlan interfaces for WiFi, no firewall, one standard bridge and one DHCP client on bridge.
There is something wrong going on for quite some time and of course, Mikrotik just blames anybody but themselves.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6506
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Tue Jan 14, 2020 4:22 pm

STP on access ports can often create issues due to timing: a port with STP has a waittime before it starts passing traffic, and the device on the other end may in the meantime decide that the network is non-operative and start using an APIPA address (169.254.x.x).
When you do not need it, it is often better to avoid STP. Of course STP can have the advantage that it serves as a loop avoidance protocol on access ports, but when you do not require that you can choose to have STP only on links between switches.
 
qiet72
newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 10:23 am

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Mon Apr 27, 2020 11:23 am

Hi,

Having the same problem here. I have sent a support request to MikroTik about it. In my situation, Cambium and Android clients were affected but Ubuntu Linux machines were not. A reboot solved the problem temporarily for now. Looking forward to there reply.
 
xbliss
newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 2:42 pm

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Sun May 10, 2020 2:52 pm

For me the problem is with static addresses and seems to be connected with this option which sends offer even if there is no demand for it.
Converting dynamic address to static makes this option somehow "checked" even DHCP server has it "unchecked" so if you forgot to uncheck then static reservation broadcasts it.

Testing on RB2011 with 6.42.11
I wonder why I am facing it for such a simple change:

So I turned the IP assigned to my iPhone 7 to Static DHCP on Router.
Disabled WiFi & Enabled. It wont connect.
Even removed the WiFi by using Forget Network on iPhone. Still no go.

----------- Finally gave up and Disabled Static IP "Remove" and within seconds the Phone was back on using the previously assigned IP.

Whats with this attachment to previous IP?
 
balexiev
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 21, 2020 12:22 am

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success (MT-MT case solved)

Thu May 21, 2020 12:39 am

Hello, an old topic, but it seems there is always some reason for this problem to occur again somewhere. So, I got it too. The problem appeared in a MikroTik only network with a recently installed CSS106-1G-4P-1S switch, upgraded to the latest available (at the moment of installation) version 2.11 of the SwOS.

So, in my case what happened was that the switch was working in DHCP with fallback mode and the warning messages were all over the log. When switched to DHCP only the entry stayed with "offered", the active IP was listed as corresponding to the offered IP, but the switch could not get the IP. No access therefore. No reboot or anything else helped. So, the culprit appeared to be a missing Src. Address value in the DHCP Server configuration entry in DHCP Server | DHCP. This led to the DHCP server IP being announced as the lowest IP assigned to the interface (bridge) where the DHCP server in question was running. After I enetred the IP of the DHCP network on this interface, the bind happend lightning fast. The DHCP server is running on a sturdy RB1100AH.

So, for some reason the CSS106 did not "like" that kind of misalignment. All other devices, including MT routers, PCs, mobile devices etc. were doing fine for years. So, I should assume this is some kind of strict checking "bug" in the SwOS. This is the place to say that as a MikroTik admin working with RouterOS for many years now, I am pretty disapointed with the SwOS and all the basic limitations it has like very very old school renowned swithes like 3Com, HP etc. But this is only if someone at MikroTik cares. ;)
 
kapi2454
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 2:54 pm

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Thu May 28, 2020 4:56 pm

I still have this problem, A simple PPPoE conection (Default Script) and a 3 or 4 device :(
 
balexiev
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 21, 2020 12:22 am

Re: DHCP Offering Lease Without Success

Thu May 28, 2020 6:59 pm

I still have this problem, A simple PPPoE conection (Default Script) and a 3 or 4 device :(
Hi, kapi, please elaborate. Is it your own PPPoE or you are a client of some ISP? Is the DHCP server in your control, since the topic implies it?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], jaimearmandofc and 40 guests