Community discussions

 
micsupeti
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 8:12 pm

CCR1072-1G-8S+ PPPoE and bandwidth

Tue Feb 13, 2018 3:08 pm

Hello,
I have a MikroTik CCR1072 router. I would like to use this router as PPPoE Server, DHCP Server, and as bandwidth limiting device in my ISP network. My number of users is 2000+. Now, I use Cisco 7201 and Freeradius server (Open Source), but I would like to exchange Cisco and Freeradius combo for MikroTik CCR1072 and MikroTik User Manager Radius, because I would like to use 10Gbps network. How can I test the PPPoE server load and the bandwidth limit without having to experiment with my live network?

How can I generate a lot of pppoe session with load?

Thank you!!!
 
Azendale
newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 8:49 pm

Re: CCR1072-1G-8S+ PPPoE and bandwidth

Tue Feb 13, 2018 9:40 pm

I can confirm that Freeradius works with Mikrotik's Radius client for PPPoE. Don't know it that helps, but at least you won't have to change as much. I can't give much feedback on the CCR PPP performance, but I'm actually going to be installing a pair of CCR1009 routerboards for PPPoE in our maintenance tonight. So if everything goes well, I'll have some feedback in a day or two. Hope that helps.
 
micsupeti
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 8:12 pm

Re: CCR1072-1G-8S+ PPPoE and bandwidth

Wed Feb 14, 2018 11:51 am

Thank you Azendale! Please tell me your experiences, then.
Thank you!
 
Azendale
newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 8:49 pm

Re: CCR1072-1G-8S+ PPPoE and bandwidth

Wed Feb 14, 2018 8:13 pm

So far, the 9 core CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+ that we are using is serving about 825 clients and 300 Mbps at the moment (that will get higher later in the day), with about 15% CPU usage reported.

The profile tool reports that PPP itself is using .5-2%, queueing ~3%, firewall 2-4%, networking ~4%, on each core. (It looks to spread between the cores pretty good, I'm not seeing single threaded issues where one core maxes out.)

Let me know if you end up needing any guidance with the Mikrotik radius client setup.

(You will want to use the Mikrotik-Rate-Limit attribute in the responses from your radius server to limit bandwidth with PPPoE sessions.)
 
p3rad0x
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 603
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 5:42 pm
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Re: CCR1072-1G-8S+ PPPoE and bandwidth

Thu Feb 15, 2018 10:29 am

Good day,

Check out this link from stubarea51.net

http://www.stubarea51.net/2015/10/23/mi ... nd-queues/
There you go then you touched something ;-) : it only takes a change in wind direction to screw with your nat :-)
 
micsupeti
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 8:12 pm

Re: CCR1072-1G-8S+ PPPoE and bandwidth

Thu Feb 15, 2018 5:16 pm

Dear Azendale,

Thank you for your information. It is very good information.

Hello p3rad0x,
I read the Stubarea51's post. But I think the test was a no-load test. But thank you the web link.

Thank you everything!!!
 
Azendale
newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 8:49 pm

Re: CCR1072-1G-8S+ PPPoE and bandwidth

Sat Feb 17, 2018 6:02 am

Just took a peek at a more peak time (see what I did there :).

~25% CPU utilization at around 830 clients and 550 Mbps. This is on the 9 core CCR as mentioned above.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 85 guests