Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
ligos
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 12:53 pm

Feature Request: validation on Remove

Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:58 am

I'd like to request you add validation against the remove function across RouterOS.
So that, idiots like myself won't accidentally remove important objects in their router.

My concrete scenario: an RB2011UiAS router used in my home with a "main LAN bridge" interface and 90% of physical ports attached to it.
I was intending to click on Torch to do some diagnostics, but instead clicked Remove.
This effectively deleted my LAN and prevented me from reconnecting to the router (and also caused mild panic).

I don't think an "are you sure" confirmation is the right way to go, as people just click though without reading them.

Instead, force users to remove dependencies before an object is removable.
In my particular scenario, if I really wanted to remove my "main LAN bridge" I'd need to first unbind all IP addresses and DHCP server from the interface, and then remove all ports from it.

I understand every object in RouterOS would require different rules, but perhaps prioritise things which have more serious consequences (eg: removing things that the current Winbox connection depends on).

Possible alternative: an undo stack (although that wouldn't have helped in my scenario).

And a tale of woe if anyone is interested: https://blog.ligos.net/2018-02-18/Mikro ... utton.html

Thanks in advance.
Murray
 
User avatar
LucZWFM
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 10:47 pm
Location: Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands

Re: Feature Request: validation on Remove

Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:54 pm

I'd like to request you add validation against the remove function across RouterOS.
So that, idiots like myself won't accidentally remove important objects in their router.

You can use safe mode for that...
Volunteer Techie @ZuidWest FM / ZuidWest TV, Stichting Repeater Bergen op Zoom & WRLP CB Repeater
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24366
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Feature Request: validation on Remove

Mon Feb 19, 2018 1:02 pm

Yes, make it a habit to always turn on SafeMode when you connect to a device.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
LucZWFM
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 10:47 pm
Location: Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands

Re: Feature Request: validation on Remove

Mon Feb 19, 2018 1:28 pm

Yes, make it a habit to always turn on SafeMode when you connect to a device.

I have learned the hard way... But still I have to force myself to use it...
Volunteer Techie @ZuidWest FM / ZuidWest TV, Stichting Repeater Bergen op Zoom & WRLP CB Repeater
 
User avatar
LucZWFM
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 10:47 pm
Location: Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands

Re: Feature Request: validation on Remove

Mon Feb 19, 2018 1:29 pm

There also is the undo feature b.t.w....
Volunteer Techie @ZuidWest FM / ZuidWest TV, Stichting Repeater Bergen op Zoom & WRLP CB Repeater
 
sid5632
Member
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 6:05 pm

Re: Feature Request: validation on Remove

Mon Feb 19, 2018 3:12 pm

Yes, make it a habit to always turn on SafeMode when you connect to a device.
Perhaps it would be better if safe mode defaulted to On instead of Off then?
 
User avatar
LucZWFM
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 10:47 pm
Location: Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands

Re: Feature Request: validation on Remove

Mon Feb 19, 2018 3:31 pm

Yes, make it a habit to always turn on SafeMode when you connect to a device.
Perhaps it would be better if safe mode defaulted to On instead of Off then?

Not sure if every admin will like that, so I would leave it to the admin wether he wants to enable it or not.
Volunteer Techie @ZuidWest FM / ZuidWest TV, Stichting Repeater Bergen op Zoom & WRLP CB Repeater
 
sid5632
Member
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 6:05 pm

Re: Feature Request: validation on Remove

Mon Feb 19, 2018 4:15 pm

Yes, make it a habit to always turn on SafeMode when you connect to a device.
Perhaps it would be better if safe mode defaulted to On instead of Off then?

Not sure if every admin will like that, so I would leave it to the admin wether he wants to enable it or not.
It could be a Winbox option.
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4997
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: Feature Request: validation on Remove

Mon Feb 19, 2018 6:13 pm

I'd hate if it would be forced, I like living on the edge (don't take me too seriously). :) But global WinBox option to enable Safe Mode automatically upon connection to router sounds like a good idea.
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply. Not intended as incentive for masochists.
 
ligos
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 12:53 pm

Re: Feature Request: validation on Remove

Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:07 pm

Safe mode? First I've heard of it.

But fantastic! I just deleted an interface and exited Winbox and the "magic undo" worked.
Fat finger solved!

Change to feature request - option in Winbox to have safe mode on / off when you login. And let you save that against your managed addresses / devices.
That puts the setting firmly in the hands of the admin / user - I can default it on for my (configured and working) router until I need to make changes.
And can have it off when I'm configuring a new device.

Murray
 
User avatar
ziegenberg
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 11:14 am
Location: Vienna
Contact:

Re: Feature Request: validation on Remove

Tue Feb 20, 2018 1:50 pm

Hi Murray,
Change to feature request - option in Winbox to have safe mode on / off when you login. And let you save that against your managed addresses / devices.
That puts the setting firmly in the hands of the admin / user - I can default it on for my (configured and working) router until I need to make changes.
And can have it off when I'm configuring a new device.
The wiki explains it very well.

You can always enable it. And if you want to make the changes permanent, you just exit safe mode in the same session and the changes are permanent.

B E W A R E:
If too many changes are made while in safe mode, and there's no room in history to hold them all (currently history keeps up to 100 most recent actions), then session is automatically put out of the safe mode, no changes are automatically undone.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: astara, franklin44377 and 80 guests