Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
ropeba
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 220
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 4:13 pm

downgrade form 2.9.38 to 2.9.35

Mon Jan 08, 2007 10:30 pm

hi,

how will I do downgrade form 2.9.38 version to 2.9.35 version.
board is placed on mountain so i need that board t o work after downgrade. I dont want that board stop working after downgrade becouse that mountine is wery far from my place.

by the way, sometimes two boards wit 2.9.38 are simply stop answering on ping on 5 minutes and after that they continue to answer and them they are stop again, etc... During that 5 minutes pause, trafixc via router is ok, there is no stoping bandwidth. That's confuseing my network monitor system wich keeps reporting that those two routers are not working, but they are working, just dont answering on ping. Those 2 routers are having 2.9.38 version and all other are 2.9.35 and that's reason why I wont to do downgrade.

Did anyone have similar problem?

thanks
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Re: downgrade form 2.9.38 to 2.9.35

Tue Jan 09, 2007 1:13 am

hi,

how will I do downgrade form 2.9.38 version to 2.9.35 version.
board is placed on mountain so i need that board t o work after downgrade. I dont want that board stop working after downgrade becouse that mountine is wery far from my place.

by the way, sometimes two boards wit 2.9.38 are simply stop answering on ping on 5 minutes and after that they continue to answer and them they are stop again, etc... During that 5 minutes pause, trafixc via router is ok, there is no stoping bandwidth. That's confuseing my network monitor system wich keeps reporting that those two routers are not working, but they are working, just dont answering on ping. Those 2 routers are having 2.9.38 version and all other are 2.9.35 and that's reason why I wont to do downgrade.

Did anyone have similar problem?

thanks
---
Hai again .. :wink:
I hope you are fine and happy with mikrotik's, as far as i used since v2....38 much stable and why you will downgrade.
try to disable for 'system wacthdog', or 'repointing' the antenna.
last 6 months ago i had like your problem, but now is working fine. and maybe next week i will try upgrade to v...39, normally we upgrade all our RB by remote over forest and mountain too and far..far..far way
i used mikrotik as ap2ap and stations, our centralized AAA service for dynamic line and hotspot.

regards
Hasbullah.com
---
 
ropeba
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 220
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 4:13 pm

Tue Jan 09, 2007 10:54 am

I dont think that you understand what I'm trying to tell.. RB is working fine, users are connected and they surfing fine, but RB dont aswer to me on ping nor I can connect on him via winbox, telnet, webbox...In one h he is responding on ping about 5 minutes in about 4-5 sessions..
Look pic below and you'll see that he's just sometimes responding on ping.

Image
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Tue Jan 09, 2007 11:00 am

I have seen this too..

I'm sorry I cannot answer your question tho.

What if you tried .2.9.39?
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Tue Jan 09, 2007 11:07 am

Do you have ds-nat rules on those 2 routers?

I am having this trouble but only with the ones with firewall rules.

If you have firewall rules can you trust to disable them and see if i fixes?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24337
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Tue Jan 09, 2007 11:08 am

this can't be a RouterOS problem ... make a supout.rif file on 2.9.39 at the moment when there is no ping, send it to support
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Tue Jan 09, 2007 11:14 am

I think when you cant ping you can't winbox either.

I used to have input rules on my gateway blocking access to it.
after upgrade to 38 it woul dnot ping out even but only sometimes, strange
I just disabled the rule and forgot about it.

Are you sure no firewall stuff was played with between 35 and 38 somewhere?
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Tue Jan 09, 2007 11:16 am

On more thing

when ping stops I can still mac-telnet in but cannot ping in.

Is this the same as you?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24337
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Tue Jan 09, 2007 11:22 am

of course to make the supout.rif file you will have to connect over serial console, or direcly with monitor-keyboard.
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Tue Jan 09, 2007 11:26 am

errr, its in a rootenna...

I am testing theory now, if I am correct I'll duplicate it on the bench and create file for you.

I'll check the manual on how to create that file from console and report back.

Just thinking, I could create the file via mac-telnet?

Thanks
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24337
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Tue Jan 09, 2007 11:28 am

yes you could of course.
/system sup-out 
from mac-telnet, console or any other way.
 
ropeba
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 220
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 4:13 pm

Tue Jan 09, 2007 11:31 am

On more thing

when ping stops I can still mac-telnet in but cannot ping in.

Is this the same as you?
yes, that's right.. He answering on ping but can mac-telnet.. I don't have any rules on RB, it's just station wds on wich are placed 2 interfaces in bridge
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Tue Jan 09, 2007 11:33 am

OK, well it's not fw then :-(

But at least we have found a common problem (that can't be routeros) (Joking Normis)

Ive got Mikrotik dude on the case, it will email me when no ping and I will make the file

P.S I'm running 39 now

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 87 guests