Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

src and dest address

Fri Jan 12, 2007 1:39 am

Hello

When ros talks about src , dst and target what do they mean?

I would say the target would be the IP's of customer

is src the one who requesed the data (cust) or the webserver that sends it? (making the cust the dest)

Also, if you don't put a target address does it assume everything?

Also, with pcq can you tick both src address and dst address? or will that only limit the speed between any 2 IP pairs?

Thanks
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6621
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:45 am

src-address is source address of the packet (sender), destination address is destination address of the packet (receiver).

If you asking about simple queues 'target-address' is the address of the router client, dst-address is the address of the remote server, if you need to limit bandwidth for the specific server.

PCQ queues has pcq-clasifier option, if you clasify packets by 'src-address' then all packets with different source address will be grouped into different subqueues (it allows you to limit upload traffic), vice versa for 'dst-address' clasifier.
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:56 pm

Thanks :-)

So for a normal download src-adreess would be a webserver and dst-addtress would be customer?

Thanks
 
User avatar
bjohns
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 4:11 am
Location: Sippy Downs, Australia
Contact:

Sat Jan 13, 2007 2:43 am

Thanks :-)

So for a normal download src-adreess would be a webserver and dst-addtress would be customer?

Thanks
That depends on what chain etc. Eg:

Input chain - dst-address = router
Output chain - dst-address = web
Forward chain - dst-addres = hosts/web
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Sat Jan 13, 2007 3:46 am

With the pcq-clasifier option, can you have both src & dst in the same one?

Just use th eone for upload and download?

Thanks
 
User avatar
bjohns
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 4:11 am
Location: Sippy Downs, Australia
Contact:

Sat Jan 13, 2007 8:18 am

With the pcq-clasifier option, can you have both src & dst in the same one?

Just use th eone for upload and download?

Thanks
One in each. If you did both in one then it would be per each and every connection (or sets with same src/dst) - good if you want to set a maximum 'per connection' limit but otherwise not useful for 'per host' limits.
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Sat Jan 13, 2007 8:40 am

Thanks heaps for that, thats exactly what I was after.

:-)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mbovenka, MSN [Bot], Zoolander06 and 156 guests