Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Faceless
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 4:03 pm
Location: Ukraine
Contact:

Routing help

Thu Apr 05, 2018 8:45 pm

Can be this scheme done by replacing specifig route such as 192.168.0.0/24 and others for 0.0.0.0/0.The reason is if new subnet will be added on one of the SXT there will be route 0.0.0.0/0 for new subnet https://ibb.co/gwpFCH scheme image
 
cgaspar
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2016 9:29 pm

Re: Routing help

Thu Apr 05, 2018 10:11 pm

I'm not sure what exactly you want to do, but basically if you set the specific route for both devices, any IP/Host that is not directly connected, what means is not on the addres table, the router will try to reach using the other router.

Example:

== R1 IP Address ==

192.168.10.1/24
192.168.15.1/24

== R2 IP Address =

192.168.20.1/24
192.168.21.1/24

- If R1 try to look for IP 192.168.15.250 (192.168.15.0/24 network) it wont look for the default route.
- If R1 look for 192.168.20.56 (192.168.20.0/24 network) it will look for the default route gateway and everything will work fine
- If R1 look for 192.168.12.22 (192.168.12.0/24 network) it will look for the default route gateway even the R2 router has no such IP on his route table. It will cause a routing loop, since none of the devices have such IP

OBS: In addition, you had to be carefull to never use the same networks on both routers.

After all, if you want to both sides see each other, you could change it all on one single network or a layer-2 network. I don't advice you to have those default routes

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 58 guests