Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Need a consultant for BGP setup

Tue Jan 16, 2007 11:45 am

Hello

I just got assigned my own /22 yay!

I have a primary provider and a backup.
Both said they will advertise these for me.

Normally I'd bungle my way around till I got it, but being I'll be connecting to my 2 upstreams bgp routers I better not :-)

I seen the consultant page but can't pick one.
I'd rather use someone that hangs out in the forum anyway.

If someone is interested that very good with this (like only use one as a backup etc) can you please email me rhys at speedweb.com.au

I am located in Australia, please give a rough price.

Thanks Heaps

:-)
 
User avatar
bjohns
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 4:11 am
Location: Sippy Downs, Australia
Contact:

Tue Jan 16, 2007 12:48 pm

As much as I would like to play around with such a network, BGP isn't my main area.

How on earth did you score a /22 in Australia?!?!? Did you ram-raid a university data facility or something?

How much did the AS set you back, if you don't mind me asking?
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Tue Jan 16, 2007 12:55 pm

 
dainen
newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 12:33 pm
Location: Byron Bay, Australia
Contact:

Wed Jan 17, 2007 2:48 am

If you don't mind me asking, what type of connection are you using?
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Wed Jan 17, 2007 2:53 am

12Meg/640k Shdsl for port 80
4Meg/4Meg Shdsl for evverything else :-)
If you don't mind me asking, what type of connection are you using?
How much did the AS set you back, if you don't mind me asking?
I'm an open book Guys, No problems at all :-)
 
valens
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 246
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 5:42 pm
Location: INDONESIA
Contact:

Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:44 am

Hi,

From your bandwidth usage, I suggest :

1. You advertise 1 /24 to the HTTP provider, and you make a good proxy server to handle all http request. And set this as transparant.

2. You advertise the other /24 to the other provider. All client should use these IP, not the proxy block IP.

3. You can also advertise /22 to both providers. This is for back up, if one provider got problem, you can use the other provider.
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:57 am

Hello

Thanks

I for got to say.
dont worry about the http link, thats fine.

Its only the 4Meg/4Meg that BGP is to run on.
This wil fall over to a 512k/512k adsl connection

Thanks ;-)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Maximusfnz, Maximusytu, sindy and 189 guests