Page 1 of 1

Need a consultant for BGP setup

Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 11:45 am
by Equis
Hello

I just got assigned my own /22 yay!

I have a primary provider and a backup.
Both said they will advertise these for me.

Normally I'd bungle my way around till I got it, but being I'll be connecting to my 2 upstreams bgp routers I better not :-)

I seen the consultant page but can't pick one.
I'd rather use someone that hangs out in the forum anyway.

If someone is interested that very good with this (like only use one as a backup etc) can you please email me rhys at speedweb.com.au

I am located in Australia, please give a rough price.

Thanks Heaps

:-)

Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 12:48 pm
by bjohns
As much as I would like to play around with such a network, BGP isn't my main area.

How on earth did you score a /22 in Australia?!?!? Did you ram-raid a university data facility or something?

How much did the AS set you back, if you don't mind me asking?

Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 12:55 pm
by Equis

Posted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 2:48 am
by dainen
If you don't mind me asking, what type of connection are you using?

Posted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 2:53 am
by Equis
12Meg/640k Shdsl for port 80
4Meg/4Meg Shdsl for evverything else :-)
If you don't mind me asking, what type of connection are you using?
How much did the AS set you back, if you don't mind me asking?
I'm an open book Guys, No problems at all :-)

Posted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:44 am
by valens
Hi,

From your bandwidth usage, I suggest :

1. You advertise 1 /24 to the HTTP provider, and you make a good proxy server to handle all http request. And set this as transparant.

2. You advertise the other /24 to the other provider. All client should use these IP, not the proxy block IP.

3. You can also advertise /22 to both providers. This is for back up, if one provider got problem, you can use the other provider.

Posted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:57 am
by Equis
Hello

Thanks

I for got to say.
dont worry about the http link, thats fine.

Its only the 4Meg/4Meg that BGP is to run on.
This wil fall over to a 512k/512k adsl connection

Thanks ;-)