Community discussions

 
ivicask
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 226
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 2:40 pm
Location: Croatia, Zagreb

Proxy causes 100% load on only 30mbit bandwidth?

Sun Apr 08, 2018 5:14 pm

I have one RB911G connected to another wifi as client, and i just want to use it as proxy server so i can add it to my Dropbox or Mozila settings so i can surf over other net.

Moment i run speedtest CPU gets lucked down to 100% and cant pass more than 30mbit, while im having 50mbit speed.The cache is set to NONE! and its running as passtrought.
There are zero firewall rules or anything else, just client bridge and proxy enabled!

Dont understand that mikrotik cant Proxy passtrought more than 30mbit on traffic??I tried this on few other boards, SX2, HAP AC, same thing, cant pass more than 40mbit over proxy without any caching

Is this some kinda of bug, because i cant belive it?
 
inteq
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 8:15 pm

Re: Proxy causes 100% load on only 30mbit bandwidth?

Sat Feb 09, 2019 7:32 pm

So to not start another thread on the same topic, I am also seeing this behavior, but with caching, on a RB1100AHx4.
I download a file with wget via https to cache it in the 1st place.
I download the same file via http and the speed is limited to max 40 MBps. CPU on MT is ~25% during the download.
The cache is on the included 60 GB M.2 SATA SSD.
I had the same issue on an IPFire router and the problem was the kernel. Once a new kernel was released for IPFire, the proxy was able to deliver wire speed downloads at a reduced CPU usage.
The problem is: On IPFire I could replace the kernel. No so much on MT.
Would love a fix for this.
proxy.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests