Community discussions

 
User avatar
Jotne
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1310
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2016 11:17 am
Location: jo.overland at gmail.com

Quick set manual does not include "Basic AP"

Mon Apr 23, 2018 8:20 pm

Can someone update the Quick set manual here:
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Quickset
and include "Basic AP" mode

"HomeAP" is also some misleading.
I would assume that Router OS was setup as Switch, with Wifi and no Router and no FW, just an AP (or is this Basic AP????)
But this is the normal basic setup of a Router board with port 1 as routing and switch + AP.
 
How to use Splunk to monitor your MikroTik Router

MikroTik->Splunk
 
 
2frogs
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 540
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:38 am

Re: Quick set manual does not include "Basic AP"

Tue Apr 24, 2018 4:26 am

Not sure why you think "HomeAP" is misleading. It sets up the router for Home use...

WispAP is all Interfaces Bridged (like Switch) with AP.. you would use this to add a second AP to a HomeAP!

BasicAP seems to only let you change the Wifi Password, it show the SSID, if it has Internet Connectivity, and if there is an Update. Not sure what more information you need.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24277
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Quick set manual does not include "Basic AP"

Tue Apr 24, 2018 8:53 am

Like the above poster said, "Home AP" sets the router for basic home use. Why do you assume something about switches?
Basic AP is identical to Home AP, except it doesn't allow you to set possibly confusing settings (it leaves them as default in Home AP).

Basic AP is not in the manual, because it is a new feature, and there are no devices that have it as Factory default.
No answer to your question? How to write posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 65 guests