Community discussions

 
User avatar
nichky
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 2:35 pm

PWR-Line AP

Thu May 03, 2018 9:38 am

I just want to get two of them i was surprised when the MikroTik staff on MUM in USA said that can communities each other via ELECTRICITY.

Can i get more information how esaclu it works or if you have web link where can i get more information abouth that will be appreciate

Thanks
Last edited by nichky on Thu May 03, 2018 9:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
Nikola Shuminoski
Network Engineer
E-Mail: nikola.suminoski@outlook.com
MikroTik Consultan
MTCRE l MTCWE

!) Safe Mode is your friend;
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23998
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: PWR-Line AP

Thu May 03, 2018 9:39 am

The device is not yet for sale. More information will be coming in a few months.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2482
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: PWR-Line AP

Thu May 03, 2018 4:06 pm

I can only guess, but my guess is that it will be using power-line communication standard for one of it's interfaces. If done correctly, it will be compatible to other similar products to mix in same network.
BR,
Metod
 
Trisc
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 11:24 pm
Location: Glos, UK

Re: PWR-Line AP

Fri May 04, 2018 11:45 am

Normis, will it have interchangeable plugs - 2 pin, 3 pin European/UK/US etc?
 
Wyz4k
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 187
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2009 10:23 am

Re: PWR-Line AP

Tue May 22, 2018 5:05 am

I also hope this has interchangeable plugs.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23998
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: PWR-Line AP

Tue May 22, 2018 2:16 pm

No, but there will be different models for different regions.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Bjesomar
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 10:18 am

Re: PWR-Line AP

Thu Jun 14, 2018 4:20 pm

Hi, do you know what wireless specs will this device have? How many chains on which bands?
 
ntblade
newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 2:47 pm

Re: PWR-Line AP

Thu Jul 26, 2018 6:33 pm

Hi all,
Any news when these will be available?
 
epjvdpalen
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 03, 2018 2:01 pm

Re: PWR-Line AP

Thu Aug 02, 2018 3:16 pm

The device is not yet for sale. More information will be coming in a few months.
Any update on this, Normis? Looking forward to this device!
And.... 'a few Months' have passed already now... :-)
 
hutsch
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 1:45 pm

Re: PWR-Line AP

Sat Sep 08, 2018 4:57 pm

... another month passed and no news on this "PWR-Line AP".

Hey Mikrotik staff. C'mon, post some news!

Hutsch
 
whatever
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 9:29 pm

Re: PWR-Line AP

Sun Sep 09, 2018 11:33 am

Hi, do you know what wireless specs will this device have? How many chains on which bands?
2.4Ghz b/g/n, dual chain. See https://fccid.io/TV7PL64112ND
 
Simono
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 9:41 am

Re: PWR-Line AP

Wed Oct 24, 2018 7:47 pm

When this device will be possible to buy?
 
ntblade
newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 2:47 pm

Re: PWR-Line AP

Wed Oct 31, 2018 7:10 pm

Any availability update please?
 
muetzekoeln
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2018 2:34 pm

Re: PWR-Line AP

Thu Nov 01, 2018 12:59 pm

Well, it would make sense if it would use G.hn for power-line communications and 5 GHz WiFi. So you could place one in each room and not having too much interference, especially when the device will have low gain antennas (less disturbance from other WiFi signals).
 
muetzekoeln
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2018 2:34 pm

Re: PWR-Line AP

Mon Nov 05, 2018 12:52 pm

It would also be nice to have a power supply (24V/48V DC) with builtin power-line communications bridge. So to connect any MT device (Router, Switch, AP, ...) to this network. It would have two connectors: DC out and Ethernet. Just swap the orginal power supply against this new one and connect the additional LAN port to your MT device.
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2482
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: PWR-Line AP

Mon Nov 05, 2018 6:26 pm

It would also be nice to have a power supply (24V/48V DC) with builtin power-line communications bridge. So to connect any MT device (Router, Switch, AP, ...) to this network. It would have two connectors: DC out and Ethernet. Just swap the orginal power supply against this new one and connect the additional LAN port to your MT device.
Single connector - ethernet. And have selectable PoE: either 48V 802.3af or 24V passive ...
BR,
Metod
 
ntblade
newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 2:47 pm

Re: PWR-Line AP

Mon Nov 05, 2018 6:30 pm

The recent posts seem like feature requests but still no news if these actually exist!
 
Pea
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 11:07 pm
Location: Czech

Re: PWR-Line AP

Sat Dec 01, 2018 1:35 am

According to this shop PL7411-2nD will come 12.12.2018:
https://www.wifihw.cz/default.asp?cls=s ... stiid=4329

Product code: PL7411-2nD
CPU: QCA9533
CPU: nominal frequency 650 MHz
PLC chipset: AR7420
Size of RAM: 64 MB
Memory: 16 MB Flash
10/100 Ethernet ports: 1
Wireless Built-in: 2.4 GHz 802.11b/g/n, dual-chain
Antenna gain: 1.5 dBi
Antenna beam width: 360°
Wireless chip model: QCA9533
Supported input voltage: 100 V - 240 V
Dimensions: 50 x 68 x 33mm
Operating temperature: -20°C .. +60°C
ROS license level: 4
Operating system: RouterOS
Max power consumption: 7 W
Power plug type: EU type (C)
 
ntblade
newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 2:47 pm

Re: PWR-Line AP

Mon Dec 03, 2018 5:53 pm

Thanks for that!
 
Simono
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 9:41 am

Re: PWR-Line AP

Mon Dec 03, 2018 6:11 pm

Waiting for devices with Power Line from Mikrotik.
 
User avatar
pcunite
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 945
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 5:13 am
Location: USA

Re: PWR-Line AP

Wed Dec 12, 2018 3:47 am

Can I use this without the Wifi feature? I only want to use it as a virtual ethernet cable. So, one near the router, and one near the PC. Then plug in a short cat5 cable out of the second unit to the PC.
 
Pea
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 11:07 pm
Location: Czech

Re: PWR-Line AP

Wed Dec 12, 2018 8:23 am

There will be RouterOS so many possibilities for setup are expected. It should be possible to simply disable wifi interface if not needed.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23998
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: PWR-Line AP

Wed Dec 12, 2018 9:58 am

Can I use this without the Wifi feature? I only want to use it as a virtual ethernet cable. So, one near the router, and one near the PC. Then plug in a short cat5 cable out of the second unit to the PC.
yes
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
ntblade
newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 2:47 pm

Re: PWR-Line AP

Wed Dec 12, 2018 3:42 pm

We just need a release date! ;)
 
allstarcomps
newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 10:36 pm
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: PWR-Line AP

Thu Dec 13, 2018 8:57 am

Can the APs be controlled by capsman? That would be nice, quick setup.

Wish it was dual band and had POE out.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23998
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: PWR-Line AP

Thu Dec 13, 2018 10:12 am

Like any MikroTik wifi AP, yes, they can be controlled by CAPsMAN
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
alexjhart
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 191
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:03 pm

Re: PWR-Line AP

Thu Dec 20, 2018 8:38 am

Is this sold just as single unit, or a pair?
-----
Alex Hart

The Brothers WISP
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23998
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: PWR-Line AP

Thu Dec 20, 2018 9:03 am

Sold single, so you can purchase any number of them, depending on what you plan to build.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
jonthorpe
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 3:25 am

Re: PWR-Line AP

Mon Dec 24, 2018 8:45 am

Any chance of there being a model with the Australia/New Zealand IEC Plug Type I will be available any time soon?
 
User avatar
ringlet
newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 9:24 pm
Location: Gdynia, Poland
Contact:

Re: PWR-Line AP

Sun Jan 06, 2019 10:37 pm

why only Ethernet port 10/100? which routerOS supports PWR-Line ? is there any manual ?
 
tangram
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2016 9:55 pm

Re: PWR-Line AP

Mon Jan 07, 2019 12:41 pm

Sold single, so you can purchase any number of them, depending on what you plan to build.
Hi Normis,

I've previously used the ones that work in pairs, but don't really understand how do these connect to each other.
If you have 5 you'd be able to add 3 of them in a bridge and 2 in another or ... ?
There's special ROS menu to manage this ?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23998
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: PWR-Line AP

Mon Jan 07, 2019 12:47 pm

You sync the new device with the sync button. Then all the PWR Line units get added to one bridge. Here is more info:
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:I ... e/PWR_Line
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
LBNL
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 1:15 pm

Re: PWR-Line AP

Fri Jan 25, 2019 5:05 pm

I've just contacted one of my distributors regarding availability and delivery in the UK. I was told that this product won't be coming to the UK as Mikrotik have no interest in marketing this product in the UK.

Can someone from Mikrotik please confirm if this is the case? I've repeatedly asked for a delivery date on this thread with no reply.

Thanks
 
deanMKD1
Member
Member
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2014 12:06 am
Location: Macedonia
Contact:

Re: PWR-Line AP

Fri Jan 25, 2019 10:52 pm

Waithing this device with 1Gbps LAN Ethernet Connection.
 
User avatar
pcunite
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 945
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 5:13 am
Location: USA

Re: PWR-Line AP

Sat Jan 26, 2019 12:49 am

I was told that this product won't be coming to the UK as MikroTik have no interest in marketing this product in the UK.

Can you hook it up to a short cable convertor, naturally suitable for your environment?
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2482
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: PWR-Line AP

Sat Jan 26, 2019 3:17 pm

I was told that this product won't be coming to the UK as MikroTik have no interest in marketing this product in the UK.

Can you hook it up to a short cable convertor, naturally suitable for your environment?

Probably it woukd be better to use a rigid plug adapter so that RB device stays nicely upright.

Plus, my experience is that extension cord, using braided wires (lo allow flexibility), really hurts PLC performance. Not sure how plug adapters perform though.
BR,
Metod
 
GuJack20
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 315
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:44 pm
Location: Tirana
Contact:

Re: PWR-Line AP

Sun Jan 27, 2019 8:36 am

I got the chance to test and use them. I didnt expect much though, since power line communication is an old standard, BUT i’m surprised

You can leave them in default and they connect with each other, and you can clear the config and experiment.

https://youtu.be/T7Lzh8zO88w

Will put them in CAPsMAN etc. with these devices you have all the routerOS features, without the need for ethernet cables. 😄😄☺️
--Do you remember that guy who gave up? Neither does anybody else!
 
kos
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 11:51 am

Re: PWR-Line AP

Tue Jan 29, 2019 1:46 pm

Is there a way to prioritize HomePlug AV control packets?
 
ebreyit
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:44 am
Location: Shropshire, United Kingdom

Re: PWR-Line AP

Tue Jan 29, 2019 6:28 pm

I've just contacted one of my distributors regarding availability and delivery in the UK. I was told that this product won't be coming to the UK as Mikrotik have no interest in marketing this product in the UK.

Can someone from Mikrotik please confirm if this is the case? I've repeatedly asked for a delivery date on this thread with no reply.

Thanks
+1 I would also be interested to know if there will be a UK option
Can you hook it up to a short cable convertor, naturally suitable for your environment?
Different countries/regions have different frequencies that Powerline kit can run on, or notches may also be cut out depending on local regulations etc. Running one with a band plan from a different country might be sub optimal or cause interference.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HomePlug

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 48 guests