Page 1 of 1

Windows Free Radius Server?

Posted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 8:12 am
by firebat
What are folks using for a windows based free radius server? I'd appreciate any suggestions that work well with Mikrotik.

Posted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 8:17 am
by janisk
i would not sound arrogant but - windows ans security???

if you cannot find one then install wmvare virtual server - set there linux and install simple linux radius server.

Posted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 8:30 am
by firebat
Yeah I know...but we have and existing windows server that can handle the load so we don't want to invest in another server for linux (have to factor in power, UPS, etc, costs also).

freeradius has an windows version. I haven't tried it and was going to ask here first.

Posted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 9:55 am
by janisk
i clearly understand that, thats why i suggested if you cannot find any free RADIUS implementation you can use VIRTUAL server from vmware and install there linux and freeRADIUS.

vmware now is free of use if unless you want support.

that could be a solution for you.

and now back to ROS and RB :)

Posted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 10:12 am
by firebat
Thanks :)

Can you run router OS in a VM? :D

Posted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 12:13 pm
by savage
There's also Microsoft IAS (Internet Authentication Services) which is Microsoft's idea of Radius... Never used it though, don't intend on using it either...

Yes, the whole idea of VMWare is to run Virtual OSes on a Host OS...