Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
firebat
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 8:38 am

Guaranteed Bandwidth plus simple queues?

Fri Jan 26, 2007 8:46 am

I'm using simple queues to police/BW limit my customers connections. I have a couple of customers that I want to give guaranteed bandwidth to when they are online (say 100K guaranteed). When they aren't using it, other folks should be able to use it. These customers already have simple queues of their own. What's the best way to implement the guaranteed BW for these customers?
 
pedja
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 684
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 5:37 am

Fri Jan 26, 2007 11:23 am

Just set limit-at in simple queue to guaranted speed.
 
firebat
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 8:38 am

Fri Jan 26, 2007 11:40 am

I'm oversubscribing so in times of congestion, I need guaranteed bandwidth for the two users.
 
firebat
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 8:38 am

Sat Jan 27, 2007 5:06 am

Anyone?
 
User avatar
mneumark
Member
Member
Posts: 375
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 7:20 am
Location: Escalon, CA
Contact:

Sat Jan 27, 2007 8:21 am

Set their queue Priority
 
firebat
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 8:38 am

Sat Jan 27, 2007 9:09 am

If I set their queue priority, they will have priority for the entire BW allocated. I want to give them 100K only guaranteed, not their entire allocated.
 
User avatar
mneumark
Member
Member
Posts: 375
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 7:20 am
Location: Escalon, CA
Contact:

Sat Jan 27, 2007 9:16 am

You can set limit at and max at in the queue to exactly what you want to assign. And if the traffic is limited then also set priority.
 
firebat
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 8:38 am

Sat Jan 27, 2007 9:28 am

I have the customer set as follows:

800k/512K Max limit
1M/512K Burst limit
512k/512K Burst threshold

So if I set limit-at 10 100K/100K and bump the priority of the queue, this should work, correct? limit-at is CIR according to the manual (bad wording if that is the case).

If I increase the priority of this queue, will this customer get priority for data transfer higher than CIR? What happens if I leave the priority at the same level as the rest of the clients except have a CIR?
 
User avatar
mneumark
Member
Member
Posts: 375
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 7:20 am
Location: Escalon, CA
Contact:

Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:19 am

limit-at = CIR
max-at = MIR

You can try setting only CIR and see how that goes. It should be ok without the priority. The only time you might want to bump that customer up in priority is if you bandwidth is really limited and you want to guarantee traffic.
If I increase the priority of this queue, will this customer get priority for data transfer higher than CIR?
If your worried about this set both CIR and MIR. If you move the customer up in priority it will give them what ever you specify as MIR to the max speed and guarantee them limit at speeds.[/quote]
 
firebat
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 8:38 am

Sat Jan 27, 2007 11:03 am

Thanks :D

I was thinking if I bumped the priority of the premium customer with the same setting I noted above, if that customer was downloading at 800K of a total of 1.2Mb of throughput and other customers are trying to download at 600-700K, the premium customer would get 800K as he has a higher priority. Is that correct?
 
User avatar
mneumark
Member
Member
Posts: 375
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 7:20 am
Location: Escalon, CA
Contact:

Sun Jan 28, 2007 9:14 am

Correct unless there were other customers with higher priority. Also keep in mind, if you use queue trees. Depending on the type of traffic this could also effect the amount of throughput.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ilja, MSN [Bot], naxos and 112 guests