Community discussions

 
heavyd
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 12:32 pm

Stale PPPoE

Thu Jul 26, 2018 10:03 am

Hi

Anybody else getting stale pppoe connections ?

V6.40.8
CCR1009
+- 1200 ppp connections
MPLS/VPLS

It happens on random vpls tunnels and random clients.
pppoe-out needs to be disabled and enabled again to reconnect
Happens with Mikrotik ( all version ) and Ubiquiti antenna's client side
Once it happens to a certain client it will continue to happen to the same client ( have enabled watchdog on clients antenna now )

Already submitted a ticket to Mikrotik Ticket#2018072322002421
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
krunical
just joined
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 10:57 am
Location: South Africa

Re: Stale PPPoE

Mon Aug 06, 2018 8:27 pm

Hey Heavyd

I have the exact same problem in the exact same way you have described it. im seeing it on CCR 1036ś as well.

Did you find a fix?
Theres no place like 127.0.0.1
BTC: 1BTPtqpfcjEXSpxDi7fgGsfo5et21TTYiq
 
User avatar
krunical
just joined
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 10:57 am
Location: South Africa

Re: Stale PPPoE

Wed Aug 08, 2018 3:46 pm

I have changed the config to have the radio dial (not ideal) as a temp fix for my real problem client while I dig arround for the cause of this issue.



Sent from my CLT-L29 using Tapatalk

Theres no place like 127.0.0.1
BTC: 1BTPtqpfcjEXSpxDi7fgGsfo5et21TTYiq
 
User avatar
IPANetEngineer
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1053
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:46 am
Location: Jackson, MS, USA
Contact:

Re: Stale PPPoE

Wed Aug 08, 2018 4:27 pm

What's your CPU load look like?

CHR does a pretty good job of terminating PPPoE...you might consider a design like this for HA and scaling.

http://www.stubarea51.net/2018/04/23/pp ... atorsbras/

Image
Global - MikroTik Support & Consulting - English | Francais | Español | Portuguese +1 855-645-7684
https://iparchitechs.com/services/mikro ... l-support/ mikrotiksupport@iparchitechs.com
 
User avatar
krunical
just joined
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 10:57 am
Location: South Africa

Re: Stale PPPoE

Thu Aug 09, 2018 8:34 am

What's your CPU load look like?

CHR does a pretty good job of terminating PPPoE...you might consider a design like this for HA and scaling.

http://www.stubarea51.net/2018/04/23/pp ... atorsbras/

Image
CPU load at one of the sites is 1%

Other sites varies. Can't see issue on this.

Sent from my CLT-L29 using Tapatalk

Theres no place like 127.0.0.1
BTC: 1BTPtqpfcjEXSpxDi7fgGsfo5et21TTYiq
 
User avatar
krunical
just joined
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 10:57 am
Location: South Africa

Re: Stale PPPoE

Mon Aug 13, 2018 10:05 pm

Has anyone else been experiencing this issue?

I still have been unable to pin down the cause.

Sent from my CLT-L29 using Tapatalk

Theres no place like 127.0.0.1
BTC: 1BTPtqpfcjEXSpxDi7fgGsfo5et21TTYiq

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 116 guests