Community discussions

 
iammecn
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 4:19 pm

How to display full time in the winbox log

Thu Aug 02, 2018 6:51 am

I want to see full time.
TIM截图20180802114953.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
Jotne
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1290
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2016 11:17 am
Location: jo.overland at gmail.com

Re: How to display full time in the winbox log

Thu Aug 02, 2018 1:22 pm

For me it looks correctly. It may be that you have increased your system fonts.

You could send all your log to a Syslog server like Splunk. Then you could see all information and also graph it,
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=137338&sid=fadfcd5e ... d81c10c831
 
How to use Splunk to monitor your MikroTik Router

MikroTik->Splunk
 
 
sid5632
Member
Member
Posts: 349
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 6:05 pm

Re: How to display full time in the winbox log

Thu Aug 02, 2018 1:46 pm

For me it looks correctly. It may be that you have increased your system fonts.
Who cares?
The point is that it should work correctly regardless of the system font. And why isn't it resizeable, like everything else?
 
User avatar
Jotne
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1290
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2016 11:17 am
Location: jo.overland at gmail.com

Re: How to display full time in the winbox log

Thu Aug 02, 2018 6:27 pm

Who cares?
That was some rude response. I was just trying to help out. To find the source of your problem.

If it is the system font that makes the problem, create a support case at MiktroTik.
 
How to use Splunk to monitor your MikroTik Router

MikroTik->Splunk
 
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5700
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: How to display full time in the winbox log

Thu Aug 02, 2018 9:06 pm

The font isn't resizable. It probably should be, but you will have to live with what it is, for now.
I experienced such a problem when running winbox under Linux using wine on a system with nice font smoothing, but you'll
have to disable that for winbox or you will run into a lot of problems. So now my wine/winbox has the oldfashioned font.
 
User avatar
pukkita
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 2982
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:09 am
Location: Spain

Re: How to display full time in the winbox log

Thu Aug 02, 2018 10:10 pm

sid5632, no rudeness, even your gratuitous one, is allowed here.

You're Warned.
Simplicity is the Ultimate Sophistication - Da Vinci
Getting the most out of this forum
 
sid5632
Member
Member
Posts: 349
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 6:05 pm

Re: How to display full time in the winbox log

Fri Aug 03, 2018 1:04 am

You're Warned.
How rude of you to threaten me. And who are you anyway?
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4527
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: How to display full time in the winbox log

Fri Aug 03, 2018 1:17 am

And who are you anyway?
Global moderator in stealth mode (not green as usual). I'd be careful. ;)
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24132
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: How to display full time in the winbox log

Fri Aug 03, 2018 12:46 pm

It's a known issue that some windows behave this way with non standard size fonts, including HiDP fonts. A workaround is to open "new terminal" and type "/log print". We do know this issue exists and will work on some solution.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5700
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: How to display full time in the winbox log

Fri Aug 03, 2018 1:15 pm

It would be nice when something is done about the font setting in general.
Now that I have a new monitor with higher resolution, the font gets very small.
Of course it is nice to have more entries on the screen, but scaling the whole thing (like a modern browser can) would be nice.

Before too much work is spent on winbox, please also consider to port the whole thing (look and feel and functionality) into webfig,
as that would solve problems like this automatically.
 
iammecn
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 4:19 pm

Re: How to display full time in the winbox log

Mon Aug 06, 2018 6:19 am

I am using the Simplified Chinese system. I can't change the font of the whole system for this application, and all other software is not available.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5700
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: How to display full time in the winbox log

Mon Aug 06, 2018 10:21 am

While I was debugging my problem under Linux/Wine I was searching and asking for the name of the font that
winbox uses so I could maybe replace only that font, but nothing came about.
It would be best when the used font would be settable somehow, so you could add the correct font to the
system and select it.
But, this application appears to be of the old style that does not work with scaling etc. We have a couple of
such applications at work and they are a nuisance when having modern displays (high res) and/or some users
with limited eyesight. Fortunately most applications move to the cloud and use a web browser, and web browsers
are much more advanced in scaling.
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4527
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: How to display full time in the winbox log

Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:41 pm

We do know this issue exists and will work on some solution.
It seems to me that all what's needed it to take the date string, measure width for current font (I remember there was some Windows API function for it) and adjust column width accordingly. Do it once when WinBox starts and problem solved for any possible font.
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5700
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: How to display full time in the winbox log

Mon Aug 06, 2018 4:50 pm

We do know this issue exists and will work on some solution.
It seems to me that all what's needed it to take the date string, measure width for current font (I remember there was some Windows API function for it) and adjust column width accordingly. Do it once when WinBox starts and problem solved for any possible font.
No, it is just a special case of a problem occurring all over the place, and the length of the formatted string depends on the actual content.
It is extra annoying in this case because the user cannot change the column width in the log display (fix that!) but it also occurs in dialogs where it is not a column.
The whole user interface does not scale.
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4527
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: How to display full time in the winbox log

Mon Aug 06, 2018 5:00 pm

Ok, sorry, I thought it was just this column. The text there is predictable and measuring e.g. "May/30/2018 23:59:59" would be enough.
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 60 guests