Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
900mhzdude
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 8:49 pm

Line by line config restore from 6.34 to 6.42 firmware

Wed Aug 08, 2018 6:26 pm

our in use cloud core is running 6.34testing firmware

I have been tasked restoring its config to a backup cloud core router we have same Make/Model but running the latest 6.42 firmware

did not do a full backup as I was told it would copy MAC of the old router

tried export and import config, also tried compact both error our

now I'm trying a line be line copy and getting errors like this command is wrong

rx-flow-control=on tx-flow-control=on

saying control=on the = is in red
have many more errors like this


I'm a bit of a noob any help greatly apricated

Thanks,
 
User avatar
Steveocee
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1115
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Line by line config restore from 6.34 to 6.42 firmware

Wed Aug 08, 2018 6:32 pm

Flow control is not present in the newer firmware hence not being able to apply it.
Steve "Steveocee" Carter
PC Gamer, Airsofter, MikroTik Nerd
My Website - My MikroTik Tutorials
 
900mhzdude
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 8:49 pm

Re: Line by line config restore from 6.34 to 6.42 firmware

Wed Aug 08, 2018 6:44 pm

Thanks!

This is the next line not working

set [ find default-name=ether4 ] advertise=100M-full,1000M-full comment=\
"Database Server" master-port=ether1-Group1-Master name=ether4-Group1
 
900mhzdude
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 8:49 pm

Re: Line by line config restore from 6.34 to 6.42 firmware

Wed Aug 08, 2018 6:56 pm

is there an application that will check config text for compatibilty?
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6243
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Line by line config restore from 6.34 to 6.42 firmware

Wed Aug 08, 2018 7:06 pm

Not that I know of. You should connect to the new CCR by MAC address, erase the config and
paste the exported old config in small sections. When you encounter errors, paste the same
command again omitting the parameter that causes the error.
 
tippenring
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2014 8:54 pm
Location: St Louis MO
Contact:

Re: Line by line config restore from 6.34 to 6.42 firmware

Wed Aug 08, 2018 7:12 pm

I think you're working way to hard at this.
/interface ethernet

set [ find default-name=ether1 ] advertise=10M-half,10M-full,100M-half,100M-full,1000M-half,1000M-full arp=enabled arp-timeout=auto auto-negotiation=yes bandwidth=unlimited/unlimited disabled=no full-duplex=yes l2mtu=4074 loop-protect=on loop-protect-disable-time=5m loop-protect-send-interval=5s mac-address=E4:8D:8C:0A:05:5D mtu=4074 name=ether1 orig-mac-address=E4:8D:8C:0A:05:5D rx-flow-control=off speed=100Mbps tx-flow-control=off

set [ find default-name=ether2 ] advertise=10M-half,10M-full,100M-half,100M-full,1000M-half,1000M-full arp=enabled arp-timeout=auto auto-negotiation=yes bandwidth=unlimited/unlimited disabled=no full-duplex=yes l2mtu=4074 loop-protect=on loop-protect-disable-time=5m loop-protect-send-interval=5s mac-address=E4:8D:8C:0A:05:5E mtu=4074 name=ether2 orig-mac-address=E4:8D:8C:0A:05:5E rx-flow-control=off speed=100Mbps tx-flow-control=off
See the "mac-address=" stuff in the above example?
Search for that in your favorite text editor, then remove that part of the command. I think you'll only find it in the "interface ethernet" and "interface bridge" sections.
 
900mhzdude
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 8:49 pm

Re: Line by line config restore from 6.34 to 6.42 firmware

Wed Aug 08, 2018 8:37 pm

there are not any MAC Addresses in my export rsc file so not really sure what you're talking about... sorry

here is more of the config maybe it will make more sense, thanks. (Note where you see "Edit" is me removing the name of the company and the Fiber Company)


/interface bridge
add arp=proxy-arp name=Bridge protocol-mode=none
add name=NullBridge
/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether1 ] advertise=100M-full,1000M-full arp=proxy-arp \
comment="airFiber to Peek Field" name=ether1-Group1-Master \
rx-flow-control=on tx-flow-control=on
set [ find default-name=ether2 ] advertise=100M-full,1000M-full comment=\
"Edit Network" master-port=ether1-Group1-Master name=ether2-Group1
set [ find default-name=ether3 ] advertise=100M-full,1000M-full comment=\
"Edit Network" master-port=ether1-Group1-Master name=ether3-Group1 \
rx-flow-control=on tx-flow-control=on
set [ find default-name=ether4 ] advertise=100M-full,1000M-full comment=\
"Edit Network" master-port=ether1-Group1-Master name=ether4-Group1
set [ find default-name=ether5 ] arp=proxy-arp
set [ find default-name=ether6 ] arp=proxy-arp
set [ find default-name=ether7 ] advertise=1000M-full arp=proxy-arp comment=\
"Conection to Edit" name=ether7-WAN speed=1Gbps
set [ find default-name=ether8 ] advertise=100M-full,1000M-full arp=proxy-arp \
auto-negotiation=no speed=1Gbps
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6243
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Line by line config restore from 6.34 to 6.42 firmware

Wed Aug 08, 2018 8:41 pm

BTW, you said "line by line" but that is not the proper way to do it.
You should copy sections of multiple lines.
At least when a line ends with \ you should copy and paste the following line with it.
The line "rx-flow-control=on tx-flow-control=on" is not an independent line by itself but it belongs to the two lines above it.
 
tippenring
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2014 8:54 pm
Location: St Louis MO
Contact:

Re: Line by line config restore from 6.34 to 6.42 firmware

Wed Aug 08, 2018 9:28 pm

there are not any MAC Addresses in my export rsc file so not really sure what you're talking about... sorry
If there are no MAC addresses, then restore the whole config to your backup router and test.

I personally prefer to either SSH or open a terminal in Winbox and paste a config by hand. That way errors are displayed and I can correct them.
 
User avatar
Steveocee
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1115
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Line by line config restore from 6.34 to 6.42 firmware

Wed Aug 08, 2018 10:08 pm

Thanks!

This is the next line not working

set [ find default-name=ether4 ] advertise=100M-full,1000M-full comment=\
"Database Server" master-port=ether1-Group1-Master name=ether4-Group1
6.41 did away with master-slave configuration and introduced hardware offload to a software bridge.
Steve "Steveocee" Carter
PC Gamer, Airsofter, MikroTik Nerd
My Website - My MikroTik Tutorials
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6243
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Line by line config restore from 6.34 to 6.42 firmware

Wed Aug 08, 2018 10:16 pm

Is this a complex config?
If not, you might be quicker by just manually configuring everything while having the printed export as a reminder to see what has to be done.

You could also check if the new CCR can run 6.40 firmware (see in System->Resources what is the factory software, is it 6.40 or lower?)
If so, you could downgrade to 6.40.8 and it will probably load your export without further issue, then you can upgrade again to 6.42.6 and
it will automatically convert to the newer method.
 
User avatar
Steveocee
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1115
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Line by line config restore from 6.34 to 6.42 firmware

Wed Aug 08, 2018 11:59 pm

You could also check if the new CCR can run 6.40 firmware (see in System->Resources what is the factory software, is it 6.40 or lower?)
If so, you could downgrade to 6.40.8 and it will probably load your export without further issue, then you can upgrade again to 6.42.6 and
it will automatically convert to the newer method.
That is probably the best advice in this thread.
Steve "Steveocee" Carter
PC Gamer, Airsofter, MikroTik Nerd
My Website - My MikroTik Tutorials
 
900mhzdude
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 8:49 pm

Re: Line by line config restore from 6.34 to 6.42 firmware

Tue Aug 14, 2018 10:52 pm

OK, I Downgraded to 6.40.8 per recommendation,


if I try import file="backup.rsc"
I get command error

if I paste the full-text config into the terminal at once it reboots the Router and takes none of the config


I pasted the first half of config and then the second half from the text file and it seemed to take

But There is a lot of config missing still



is there anyway to take full config from a Mikrotik and move it to an identical Backup model?
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6243
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Line by line config restore from 6.34 to 6.42 firmware

Tue Aug 14, 2018 11:02 pm

Is this a complex config? How long is it?
 
900mhzdude
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 8:49 pm

Re: Line by line config restore from 6.34 to 6.42 firmware

Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:48 pm

Config is 12537 lines long

yes the config is a bit complicated as it binds Public IP's to LAN IP's and I'm very new to Mikrotik

this is a Core router for a WISP so lots of little settings
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6243
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Line by line config restore from 6.34 to 6.42 firmware

Fri Aug 17, 2018 8:12 pm

Then at least try to restore it section by section.
 
900mhzdude
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 8:49 pm

Re: Line by line config restore from 6.34 to 6.42 firmware

Fri Aug 17, 2018 9:35 pm

I did do that but it seems that some of the config is still missing like export did not actually export the full config hoping I'm missing something

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: eworm, honzam, MSN [Bot], seriosha, skylark, Vafi and 68 guests