Community discussions

 
jbird
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 11:29 pm

Bridges getting deleted

Mon Aug 13, 2018 9:59 pm

I've had several routers on which the bridges have gotten deleted somehow. Each time, the router had a bridge with Ethernet and WLAN ports on it. Users would report loss of connectivity, and when I logged into the router, the bridge was gone. The ports showed to be configured for a nonexistent bridge with a name consisting of an asterisk and a number - for example, "*8." The IP address that was assigned to the bridge also gets assigned to bridge *8. Bridge *8 doesn't really exist on the router, but the ports and IP address get assigned to bridge *8. When I create a new bridge and change the bridge interface for each port from *8 to the new bridge, and assign the IP address to the new bridge, users regain connectivity. What would cause bridges to get deleted, and cause ports and IP address reassigned to *8?
 
jwier92
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2018 12:59 am

Re: Bridges getting deleted

Tue Aug 14, 2018 4:22 am

You have applied all updates?

What is the hardware and RouterOS version?
 
jbird
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 11:29 pm

Re: Bridges getting deleted

Sun Aug 19, 2018 6:28 pm

It is 6.42.6.
 
User avatar
k6ccc
Member
Member
Posts: 479
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 12:01 am
Location: Glendora, CA, USA (near Los Angeles)

Re: Bridges getting deleted

Sun Aug 19, 2018 7:14 pm

What hardware?
RB750Gr3, RB750r2, CRS326-24G-2S (in SwitchOS), CSS326-24G-2S, CSS106-5G-1S, RB260GS
Not sure if I beat them in submission, or they beat me into submission


Jim
 
jbird
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 11:29 pm

Re: Bridges getting deleted

Thu Aug 23, 2018 10:53 pm

I've seen it on hAP and RB751.
 
nescafe2002
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 622
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 12:46 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Bridges getting deleted

Thu Aug 23, 2018 11:27 pm

Related topic (yet unresolved): viewtopic.php?f=2&t=138323
 
User avatar
Jotne
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1303
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2016 11:17 am
Location: jo.overland at gmail.com

Re: Bridges getting deleted

Thu Aug 23, 2018 11:52 pm

Using new VLAN Bridge ROS >=6.41, you only need one Bridge to solve everything.
Se bottom of my post here:
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=138232
 
How to use Splunk to monitor your MikroTik Router

MikroTik->Splunk
 
 
mducharme
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 799
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 6:45 pm

Re: Bridges getting deleted

Fri Aug 24, 2018 12:16 am

I've seen it on hAP and RB751.
Depending on router configuration, I have seen cases where the auto conversion of the bridge does not work properly from pre-6.41. If the bridges disappeared on upgrade from versions below 6.41 then it might be due to this.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 10 guests