Community discussions

 
rpingar
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 541
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 2:46 pm
Location: Italy

when new beta? When wireless QoS?

Sun Feb 18, 2007 10:16 am

it is long time since last beta5 when the new beta will be released?

Also I would like to hear some official word about wireless QoS from MT.

Regards
Rosario
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5942
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Sun Feb 18, 2007 11:10 pm

wireless QoS ?? I don't get it. You can do QoS on wireless interfaces even in 2.9.xx
 
rpingar
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 541
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 2:46 pm
Location: Italy

Sun Feb 18, 2007 11:43 pm

802.11e or WMM is anough?
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Mon Feb 19, 2007 8:47 am

patience please, patience
 
rpingar
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 541
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 2:46 pm
Location: Italy

Mon Feb 19, 2007 9:09 am

what means patence?

are you going to put it into 3.x?

something more detailed is welcome.

regards
ros
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Mon Feb 19, 2007 9:46 am

some things where broken in Beta5

and QoS is already in RouterOS

patience is needed to wait for beta6
 
rpingar
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 541
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 2:46 pm
Location: Italy

Mon Feb 19, 2007 9:49 am

and QoS is already in RouterOS

May you explain little bit further this statement, in what way wmm or 802.11e is alredy implemented in routeros?

Thanks
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3425
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:53 am

WMM is not implemented in the RouterOS yet.
 
rpingar
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 541
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 2:46 pm
Location: Italy

Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:58 am

are you planning to add it?

will it be in 3.0????

regards
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24266
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:08 am

please clarify the importance of WMM, have you done any tests that prove it to be necessary?
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3425
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:14 am

are you planning to add it?

will it be in 3.0????

regards
Yes, we are planning to add it in the v3.0.
 
rpingar
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 541
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 2:46 pm
Location: Italy

Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:24 am

it seems to be very important for the following reason:
1. should be imporve teh latency of a wireless connection compared to non voip;
2. on the same wireless connection should give more priority to voip traffic compared to non voip;
3. great imporvment compared to csma/ca access
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Mon Feb 19, 2007 3:37 pm

indeed these are the benefits

thumbs up, waiting for new feature to test :roll:
 
phendry
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:42 pm

Tue May 08, 2007 12:13 am

At present we use traffic marking and queue trees to deliver reliable QoS however this does require knowing what throughput a wireless link is capable of or else queuing doesn't kick in in time. This has a couple of disadvantages in that you always have to assume the link is capable of slightly less than it really is and it never takes into account fade from poor weather. As WMM is more a feature of the Atheros chipset and therefore done at a lower level is it safe to assume that WMM Priority 6,7 will always get serviced first regardless of bandwidth available on the link?
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Tue May 08, 2007 9:29 am

WMM is already implemented in RouterOS and is available in 3.0beta7
 
User avatar
NathanA
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 801
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 9:01 am

Tue May 08, 2007 10:19 am

WMM is already implemented in RouterOS and is available in 3.0beta7
janisk, apparently you misunderstood phentry's question. He was not asking for WMM support; I'm sure he knows it is already implemented in 3.0beta7.

He was asking a specific question about WMM's benefits (especially vs. using queues to prioritize across a wireless link) and how it works. And, given what precious little I myself have managed to garner about WMM, his question seemed rather insightful and intelligently-phrased. I, too, would like to know the answer to this question.

-- Nathan
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6616
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Tue May 08, 2007 11:13 am

phendry,NathanA I'm not sure you have read this article, but probably it would help for WMM basics,
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/WMM
 
phendry
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:42 pm

Tue May 08, 2007 11:55 am

phendry,NathanA I'm not sure you have read this article, but probably it would help for WMM basics,
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/WMM
I read that article a while back but it does not answer the question. Do you understand my question or should I rephrase? Interesting that Nathan understands what I'm questioning ;)
 
rpingar
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 541
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 2:46 pm
Location: Italy

Tue May 08, 2007 12:11 pm

I understand too.

Nstream and WMM are integrating?

Regrads
Ros
 
User avatar
NathanA
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 801
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 9:01 am

Tue May 08, 2007 12:17 pm

I read that article a while back but it does not answer the question. Do you understand my question or should I rephrase?
Actually, to me from reading that article it does indeed sound like "the higher the priority number, the sooner it will be serviced" is a safe assumption to make.

It's also quite neat that the WMM priority can be influenced by the ToS/DS(CP) field in the IP header. Way cool.

-- Nathan
 
phendry
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:42 pm

Tue May 08, 2007 12:31 pm

Actually, to me from reading that article it does indeed sound like "the higher the priority number, the sooner it will be serviced" is a safe assumption to make.
In my experience I've found it best not to assume. Although the last centence in the wiki page says "WMM traffic over wireless link will discriminate regular traffic in the air" it doesn't say if "all" priority 6,7 packets will be serviced and only when there are none will priority 4,5 be serviced.

If this is the way it works then it means we can get rid of queueing on the AP and just have queues at the CPE (for customers chosen bandwidth) and at the core (to implement contention).
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6616
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Tue May 08, 2007 1:28 pm

phendty,
WMM is the way to accomplish QoS over wirelesss, it does not improve throughput of links, it just treats different packets differently.
WMM provides matchers, that will be used only if other devices on the network could manage them properly.

Priority 6,7 will be proccessed firstly for outgoing packets, only if you will have WMM enabled link.
 
phendry
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:42 pm

Wed May 23, 2007 2:11 pm

Priority 6,7 will be proccessed firstly for outgoing packets, only if you will have WMM enabled link.
Will WMM still work on an AP that has both WMM enabled and none WMM enabled clients? Obviously the none WMM clients won't get prioritised but will traffic to the WMM enabled clients still get prioritised?
 
User avatar
dbostrom
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 4:45 pm

Wed May 23, 2007 5:44 pm

WMM is sort of pointless without any attack on the hidden node problem. Hopefully we'll soon see a partial (RTS, what 802.11 specifies, other than the sadly, universally unimplemented 802.11 PCF) solution pop up in an upcoming beta. Even if RTS/CTS is not a perfect solution, it's a big help...
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3425
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Wed May 23, 2007 10:02 pm

"Better" access category for packet does not necessarily mean that it will be
sent over the air before all other packets with "worse" access category.
WMM works by executing DCF method for medium access with different settings for
each access category (EDCF), which basically means that "better" access
category has higher probability of getting access to medium - WMM enabled
station can be considered to be 4 stations, one per access category, and the
ones with "better" access category use settings that make them more likely to
get chance to transmit (by using shorter backoff timeouts) when all are
contending for medium. Details can be studied in 802.11e and WMM specification.
 
phendry
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:42 pm

Wed May 23, 2007 11:38 pm

Uldis, do all clients on the AP need to support WMM for it to be active on the ap? Also, if WMM and Nstreme are being run on the same PTM are there any conflicts with both protocols trying to control the traffic or do they enhance each other?
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re:

Thu Aug 30, 2007 4:02 am

Uldis, do all clients on the AP need to support WMM for it to be active on the ap? Also, if WMM and Nstreme are being run on the same PTM are there any conflicts with both protocols trying to control the traffic or do they enhance each other?

As a reader with high interest in this treath I'm dissapointed that the thread 'bleeds' dead and some of the raised questions aren't answered yet.
Does this mean we readers have to start trying and test to find out ourselves?

Is the answer to your last question found or did you just forget about the issue... :?
 
phendry
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:42 pm

Re: when new beta? When wireless QoS?

Fri Aug 31, 2007 10:51 pm

Never received any response :(
 
User avatar
ghmorris
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 284
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:14 pm
Location: Minden, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: when new beta? When wireless QoS?

Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:52 pm

I would really like to see HCCA used. This would give us a big leg up on the competition, particularly if you have HCCA compatible APs and clients!!

Handling QoS at the Atheros level is going to be absolutely necessary if you want to do double or triple play networks. We have a fair bit of experience getting voice to run properly and WMM is another weapon to use in this fight, but the more advanced version would be even better.

George
 
phendry
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:42 pm

Re: Re:

Wed Oct 10, 2007 5:00 pm

Uldis, do all clients on the AP need to support WMM for it to be active on the ap? Also, if WMM and Nstreme are being run on the same PTM are there any conflicts with both protocols trying to control the traffic or do they enhance each other?

As a reader with high interest in this treath I'm dissapointed that the thread 'bleeds' dead and some of the raised questions aren't answered yet.
Does this mean we readers have to start trying and test to find out ourselves?

Is the answer to your last question found or did you just forget about the issue... :?
Answers received http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php ... 737#p90737

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 112 guests