Community discussions

 
mooks
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 1:21 pm

Sizing for 200+ Clients and 300MBit Uplink

Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:01 pm

Hello Mikrotik-Fellows,

I need your help for sizing of a two networks in the same house.

Network 1:
Uplink1: 300MBit/s download 30MBit/s upload. + LTE for backup, connected over ethernet
3 VLANs
One VLAN is used for VoIP, QoS needed, guess a Limiter of the other VLANs should be enough
Probably one IPSec, hardly any traffic
No special firewall rules
200 Clients

Network2:
Uplink2: 300MBit/s download 30MBit/s upload. + same LTE for backup, connected over Ethernet
5 VLANs
At the moment no QoS needed, Probably Limit for each VLAN in future
No Special firewall rules
200+ Clients

Of course I could implement everything in on one Routerboard, but for better failsafe i would like to use two Router. (I would configure on both devices all VLANs and if one of them goes down i would switch the uplink between Switch and Router manually)

At the moment I would guess two RB1100AHx4 would be sufficient?
I've also found this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=140626&hilit=RB1100AHx4
In their sizing 500+ Clients were requested, but only 100mbps, that's why I'm not sure.

The next stronger Router, if I'm right, would be the CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+PC.
I guess two CCR1009 would be enough, however it costs also a lot more.

What do you think, would two RB1100AHx4 be enough?

BR,
Mooks
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1704
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: Sizing for 200+ Clients and 300MBit Uplink  [SOLVED]

Mon Oct 22, 2018 10:51 pm

i think 2 rb1100ahx4 are OK

if you dont mind the dual redundant power supply you can go for 2 x rb4011 and save 200 US

rb4011 uses same cpu and RAM of rb1100ahx4

rb4011 have 512mb of nand vs 128mb of rb1100ahx4
 
User avatar
vecernik87
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 642
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 8:19 am

Re: Sizing for 200+ Clients and 300MBit Uplink

Mon Oct 22, 2018 11:49 pm

Just a correction of post above:
* If you dont mind missing the dual redundant power supply AND missing -48V support AND missing RS232 AND missing microSD slot AND missing beeper AND missing Bypass group AND 2 ports less in total

On the other hand, RB4011 will definitely do better job if you need SFP cage (Either for uplink or for switch with 10Gbit DAC as backbone)

(I am not saying what is better - every device has its purpose. But if A is said, B should be said as well.)
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1704
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: Sizing for 200+ Clients and 300MBit Uplink

Tue Oct 23, 2018 12:15 am

Just a correction of post above:
* If you dont mind missing the dual redundant power supply AND missing -48V support AND missing RS232 AND missing microSD slot AND missing beeper AND missing Bypass group AND 2 ports less in total

On the other hand, RB4011 will definitely do better job if you need SFP cage (Either for uplink or for switch with 10Gbit DAC as backbone)

(I am not saying what is better - every device has its purpose. But if A is said, B should be said as well.)
:wink:
 
mooks
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 1:21 pm

Re: Sizing for 200+ Clients and 300MBit Uplink

Tue Oct 23, 2018 12:57 am

Thank you so much for your detailed response!

Well all the extra features of the RB4011 aren't needed or can't be used :D

However, the RB4011 is about 100€ cheaper than the RB1100AHx4, so I'll go with two RB4011 :)

The most important thing for me is that the Router shouldn't limit the 300MBit Uplinks.
Currently I'm using one Router from another company resulting in huge troubles with the QoS of VOIP-VLAN, the main goal should be to improve the stability and performance.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 34 guests