Community discussions

 
mcisar
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 5:51 pm

IPV6 to remote site over IPV4 VPN

Wed Oct 24, 2018 5:27 am

Hoping someone can give me some hints in the right direction.

We have a Mikrotik at our main office and another at a branch office. The two sites are connected via a VPN... all is working well. We've recently upgraded the internet connection at the main branch and now have native IPV4 and IPV6 connectivity at that location... the branch office has IPV4 with IPV6 connectivity through HE tunnelbroker.

Since we now have native IPV6 at the main office (we have a /48) it makes sense to split off a subnet (/56 or /64) from that and feed it to the branch office over the VPN (and get rid of the tunnelbroker account).

And that's where I hit the limit of my knowledge :-) How do I squish the IPV6 subnet through the IPV4 VPN and unfold it neatly at the other end?

Thanks much!
Mike
 
User avatar
xvo
Member
Member
Posts: 321
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 1:12 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: IPV6 to remote site over IPV4 VPN

Wed Oct 24, 2018 2:41 pm

What type of VPN?
 
mcisar
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 5:51 pm

Re: IPV6 to remote site over IPV4 VPN

Fri Dec 14, 2018 6:48 am

Sorry for the long delay, have been out sick so I'm just catching back up.

I believe the VPN as currently set up is L2TP

Mike
 
mcisar
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 5:51 pm

Re: IPV6 to remote site over IPV4 VPN

Thu Jan 10, 2019 8:27 am

Just wanted to bump this.

I have been playing around on and off as I have time but still have not figured out how to get this configured.

Cheers!
 
User avatar
Anumrak
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 948
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 2:53 pm

Re: IPV6 to remote site over IPV4 VPN

Thu Jan 10, 2019 11:38 am

Just wanted to bump this.

I have been playing around on and off as I have time but still have not figured out how to get this configured.

Cheers!
It's all about simple routing. Set /126 or /64 net between offices through the tunnel from /48 prefix for example. Then, through that small ptp prefix you can route /56 prefixes to other side. On other side set a route to prefixes on the first side. It is static routing :)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 33 guests