Community discussions

 
Znuff
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 2:42 am
Contact:

Blocking non-authed PPPoE clients from the network?

Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:56 am

I'm thinking of switching the whole network to use PPPoE, but one thing is not clear to me: how do I stop the clients from just configuring their network address manually and accesing the internet? I'm kind of new to PPPoE
 
Syonyk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 6:32 pm
Location: Coralville, IA
Contact:

Sat Feb 24, 2007 6:54 am

Simple. You don't put any IP addresses or services on the PPPoE interface.

ether1 goes to your network, has your IPs, has the PPPoE IP space routed to it.

ether2 points to the clients. It has one service running on it: a PPPoE server. No IP addresses, nothing.

If someone doesn't authenticate with PPPoE, they have nothing to communicate with, and can't get access.

-=Russ=-
 
abab_rafiq
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:47 pm
Location: Dhaka

Sat Feb 24, 2007 7:09 am

As Example Let you have a router with 2 Ethernet. One is for WAN connectivity and other is for LAN. You just put your WAN address in your WAN interface and make the pppoe server in LAN. You need not to configure any manual IP address in your LAN interface. Then make profile where local address work as gateway of your network [you want to assign to your client]. and masquedare full network with your WAN interface.

That's all..

Rafiq...
http://forum.linux.org.bd
 
Znuff
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 2:42 am
Contact:

Sat Feb 24, 2007 7:39 am

Will queues still work?

I'm using this setup:
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/How_to_ap ... as_traffic

and I'd not sure if this will work after I switch my clients to PPPoE, and also, will transparent proxy work?
 
User avatar
navibaghdad
newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 5:38 pm

Mon Feb 26, 2007 11:55 pm

The same question I have on will transparent proxy work? and if I want to redirect all the trafic to port 8080 that web-proxy work on it how can I make it work ?
 
Znuff
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 2:42 am
Contact:

Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:40 pm

transparent proxy works ok, there's no issue with that :-)
 
noam_chom
newbie
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 5:55 am

Re: Blocking non-authed PPPoE clients from the network?

Thu Jul 19, 2007 12:46 am

Turn on a hotspot and don't enter any user to use a hotspot. This will block any attempt to use your resources if the users are not logged on your pppoe server.
 
AmauNet
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 12:36 am

Re: Blocking non-authed PPPoE clients from the network?

Sun Jul 29, 2007 12:45 am

Can i use an IP address that must be in pppoe rage ... or better we have an Mikrotik that is configured to be used only with ppoe and i have a user and pass on my comp windows xp ...when i see the details of my network card after connecting the ppoe i see only the client ip address and server ip address , no gateway and no subnet mask ..can i use those ip for any other comp but configured manually :
for exp :
Client Address : 10.10.21.5
Server Address : 10.10.30.3

How can i use those details to connect another comp and access the internet but configured manually the network card..
Sorry for my bad english

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 107 guests